We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Park Inn
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$336
US$172
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
599
355
66
33
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
599
355
66
33
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontlifeguard stationunderground parkingpartial view roomcontinental breakfastcrystal pierpool and hot tubhomeless peopleperfect locationwithin walking distancebeach towelshear the wavesboogie boardsyogurthard boiled eggsthird floorwaffle maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
775 - 780 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed 3 nites in Jan.2012, Booked 3 rooms.Rooms need new carpeting and baseboard trim.The property is clean and the underground parking is great.Seem to be consistant homeless people,but did not seem to be concerning issue for safety.For quiet sleep do not book room near Fire House Bar. Breakfast is good,could change it up every day or so. Front desk is helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

You’ll be happy to hear in the month of February, every room on the property is getting new carpet and baseboards! We’re looking into the repetitive breakfast situation – until then check with our staff for plentiful local recommendations! Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Booked 2 rooms, 4 nights, with another couple. Love this place!! Close to everything, super friendly staff. Breakfast is good, but agree a change every other day would be nice. This is 2nd time back, and will definitely be back soon. Breakfast & wifi included, $10 parking. Seems they are always doing maintenance, painting, etc., which shows they care. Sunsets are beautiful as well as the ocean view.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burg415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

We appreciate the positive feedback! While we look into different ways to switch up the breakfast from time to time, make sure you stop by the front desk and ask for recommendations on the wide variety of restaurants within walking distance that also serve breakfast. We often have menus and even discounts/coupons for the local eateries! Thank you for choosing the Ocean Park Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Park Inn Jan 2012 and really enjoyed it. We were there for leisure and really enjoyed everything it offered. The pool and hot tub were clean. The rooms were what we expected, clean and average sized. Breakfast was good with DIY waffles as well as the usual continental foods. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was a lot cheaper than the other places around, only $10/night. Overall it was what we were looking for. Great place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for the kind review! We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our amenities. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff work very hard to keep our property extremely clean – in fact, my head engineer works on the pool every day, proudly claiming it as one of the cleanest in San Diego! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Overall a good hotel.A few things to watch out for.
The insulation between the floors is not good.If you're lucky to get a third floor room avoid the ones facing the main street(three rowdy bars facing the rooms).They charge more for ocean view rooms.
Breakfast is adequate but was the exact same for the four days we were there.
The hotel is clean but certain areas look a little worn.
The rooms have a fridge,microwave and a safe.The safe did not work a couple of times but it was taken care of within two minutes.
The beach and surrounding area is quite nice.There are several homeless people in the area but it still seems safe with the usual precautions.
If you want a hot shower I think you have to take it very early after that it's lukewarm.Parking is $10.00 /day.If you're going for a couple of days you could find spots on the street but be careful to read the signs well.
The mattresses in our room were very soft.If you have a sensitive back and need a firm mattress you would have to ask if they have some.
There's a big supermarket across the street which closes at 1:00 am.
Be sure to visit the La Jolla cove for incredible views.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vidtrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall. Although we do have some rooms that can experience more noise than others, we’ve recently installed sound-reducing windows in these rooms and we are working on new programs with our restaurant neighbors to ensure their music remains at reasonable levels. Both actions are a direct result of customer feedback and our continuous renovations of the property.

We will be looking into the hot water situation – we apologize it was not functioning properly during your stay. Because parking space is at such a premium in the Pacific Beach area, we (along with the other properties in the area) do charge for parking. However, you’ll be happy to know our fee is among the lowest in town – others can get as high as $35 per night!

Thank you for your feedback, as it is a valuable tool in our never-ending effort to make the Ocean Park Inn an even better property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very enjoyable. Rooms large and clean and great view. Staff extremely accomodating especially Sachin. Also Alexandria always had a pleasant smile when greeting us. Will stay there next year. Didn't rate "excellent" only because there's always room for improvement and don't want hotel to rest on its laurels.

Michael and Bonnie L

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Michael and Bonnie: We’re very pleased to hear our staff members made your stay more enjoyable! And don’t worry; although our guests come to relax, the staff never rests! We are always trying to expand our services and improve our amenities. Look for these changes the next time you arrive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews