We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Stay-Thank You!”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #30 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed 7 nights and had a fantastic time. This place is customer-service oriented. Many of the employees greet you by name. This hotel is very clean, breakfast area well-stocked, free internet, fridge & microwave in every room, and literally steps to the beach. Pool & spa are clean & area is great for people watching. The best value for the location; so much you can do just walking everywhere. Thank you all again!

Room Tip: Any room with a view, even partial is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burg415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for becoming such a regular guest of ours! We do hope you continue to stay often - I would highly recommend becoming a fan of our Facebook page for last-minute deals and promotions! As a side note: I don't think there is a better place to "people watch" in all of San Diego, especially if you have a room overlooking the boardwalk! Thank you again for the extremely kind review, we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband was having surgery and we wanted to stay on the beach while he recovered. Since he needed to stay in the room all day and night, the right hotel was crucial. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and we couldn't have been happier!!! We were there in October, had a room in the front with a balcony on the second floor to view the boardwalk and ocean. The hotel's location is convenient to pretty much everything - whether a major grocery store chain one block behind it, or all the restaurants, and amenities of staying on the beach right at your fingertips.
The room was clean and comfortable. We were extremely happy with the price, especially after shopping around first.
But best of all, the staff was exceptional! Very personal and caring. Felt as if we had been staying there for years. We expect to be back in San Diego a few more times. This hotel would be our choice of where to stay - and don't feel the need to check out any other place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

We are thrilled to know we provided the perfect recovery hotel for your husband! You're absolutely correct - once you've parked the car, everything you could ever need is within walking distance. Customer service is extremely important to us, so we are all elated to know we could make your trip that much more enjoyable. For your next stay, make sure you're signed up for our monthly newsletter to receive special returning guest discounts! Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The Ocean Park Inn is great. The photos on their website do not do the place justice. We stayed for 3 nights in January and booked through the website. They had a very reasonable "January Special" that made this trip very affordable. You literally could park your car and never use it until you are ready to leave, there are so many restaurants in the area within walking distance. The rooms, bathrooms, patio, pool area and common areas were spotless. The views were fabulous. We took advantage of the continental breakfast and found it filling. Every staff member we encountered could not have been nicer. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 115 and 127, these units are on the first floor and their patios were adjoining wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestotravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

We're so pleased you had such a great stay! You're right, the pictures on our website are a tad outdated - we're waiting to finish the rest of our updates this winter before uploading new ones. We are also thrilled you noticed how much effort our staff puts into the hotel, whether it's our housekeeping staff or our guest service agents. Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I selected this hotel online because of the location on the beach-front, the included wi-fi, included continental breakfast, the price and because of the online reviews. I stayed three nights in January 2013 in room #227. (see photos) I appreciated a free room upgrade because I mentioned it was my birthday during my booking.

I found everything was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I found the room quiet during my stay and close enough to the ocean to hear the ocean waves which was nice. The location was perfect for my stay right on the board-walk, with lots of restaurant and pub options all around and also many bike rental options. Ask receptions for bike rental suggestions and coupons.

The bus to downtown is #30 one block away from the hotel and costs $1.25 one way.
A taxi to or from the airport costs around $30 or choose a shuttle bus at the airport costing $20.

The breakfast had the usual continental options on paper plates with plastic utensils.

The jacuzzi was nice and warm with very strong jets.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for the review, and once again, a happy birthday! We're glad you got to enjoy the area, and that you took advantage of our many local coupons for bike rentals and restaurants. Please think of us again the next time it gets too chilly up in Canada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The location is very good except that it is next to a very noisy nightclub. However, you are right on the beach which is very nice. It is convenient to CVS and Ralphs as well as numerous restaurants. Had we been on one of the upper floors, we might have enjoyed it more. the rooms were average but very clean and the beds were comfortable. The desk staff was super nice which we appreciated. We did not use the pool or hot tub .

Room Tip: You do not want to be in the front and the upper floors are probably nicer.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank mizlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The Ocean Park Inn has strategically positioned itself to offer the most value in Pacific Beach. Our rates are extremely competitive with our competition, and you will not find another property in the area that offers the same number of complimentary or affordable amenities.

We are happy to hear you seem to have enjoyed your stay. If you choose to stay with us again, we offer 10 different room types, some of which are guaranteed to be upstairs, so make sure you book through our website to see your full range of options. I would also recommend signing up for our monthly newsletter, which often includes specials to stretch your value with us even further!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Timing is everything and we've couldn't have asked for better weather the week of 1/20/13. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and kind. We upgraded our room in order to get a view right on the boardwalk. Great room for a family of 4 (girls ages, 15 and 12). The people watching and sunsets outside our balcony couldn't be beat. My only complaint was; the wifi was spotty at times in our corner room. The staff informed me that they upgraded their system in January but I believe this is continuing issue. The pool and hot tube were at a nice temp and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

We're happy to hear you and the family had such a wonderful stay John! Our two queen ocean front rooms are perfect for families like yours with the extra space and the perfect location for watching sunsets or passing dolphins. You're absolutely correct, since you've written this review we have discovered and rectified another issue with our WiFi. I can say with 100% certainty it is now up and running smoothly, and faster than most hotels will offer! It has been an adventure trying to figure it all out. I apologize the WiFi hindered your family vacation with us - you will not have that problem again. Thank you for the review, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay. It was a perfect 4 day get away for my husband and I. The staff was great with greeting you and asking if you needed anything. They upgraded us for free from a $99 special that would be in the back to the front ground level ocean view. It was so nice sitting out on the patio and watching the ocean. Of course that made us very happy. We went a week ago so it was in off season and the hotel was fairly empty. It is true that you can hear everything in your room from your neighbors. We had some fairly loud girls next to us but it was not awful. We did not need to call the front desk because they handled it on their own. Breakfast each morning was perfect. The rooms were clean. The location is perfect. Beds are very comfortable. As I get older this one is important to me. It was a great stay and worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for the review Patty! We're happy to hear you took advantage of one of our specials - make sure you're signed up for our newsletter to receive them via email once a month as well! We do our best to keep our mattresses comfortable for our guests - but as you can imagine, with so many different preferences, it can be a challenge! Hopefully you'll be glad to know we have no plans in the near future to change the style of our mattresses, so your stays should be comfortable for years to come. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 279 in San Diego
1,000 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#146 of 279 in San Diego
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 279 in San Diego
704 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#134 of 279 in San Diego
220 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £111 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing