We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not convinced”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I am an avid Trip Advisor reader. I never stay anywhere, business or personal without checking Trip Advisor first. My first experience with this hotel came a week before my actual stay. I wrote a review on it, but it mysteriously disappeared. Please beware of their children vs adult policy. The reservation tab on the front page of their website does not have a designation of children (12 and under) vs adults (13 and over). This was misleading when I made my reservation (yes, I am guilty as are millions of others for not reading the T&C's as thouroughly as I should have) and I presumed they my children (17) where still in fact children. Therefore, I was charged an additional $180 ($30 per person per day) for the kids. I did not even receive my original 15% discount on this $180. So what I thought was a good deal for Mission Beach, really cost me over $200 more. I made a point to sign up for their newsletter just to get the discount that was offered.

That said, the actual hotel is fine, the hallways are outdated and the bathrooms need to be freshened. The biggest issue is that the hotel is located between 2 very loud and crowded bars. Music and yelling going on until at least 2 am on weekends. It is also located very near to the public beach restrooms, which seems to be the gathering place of many transients. None of them bothered us, but it can be a little concerning and people should always be alert and aware of whats going on around them.

All in all, it was okay, I'm going back to SD in a few weeks. I think I'm going to try one of the other hotels on the boardwalk before I can truly determine which one is best. What I do know is I got a better rate for a larger room at the one I just booked. When the time comes, I will let you know how it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azsoftballmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

We apologize our reservation system was misleading about the extra adults. We have looked into this issue in the past, and at the time, the third party reservation management company could not offer us a solution. Thanks to your feedback, we will revisit this issue ASAP.

You'll be happy to know in the next few months our upgrades will continue with new lighting throughout the property (including those hallways!), and eventually the bathrooms are scheduled to be remodeled as well.

We do hope you give us another chance in the future! We can guarantee there is not another property in the area that offers the same complimentary amenities we do. To receive special rates and packages for next time, sign up for our newsletter.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    335
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
314
431
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great spot. Lovely views. Employees where very nice. Hotel was clean. Bathrooms ready for remodel. Steps from the sand and sea. Near by grocery, drug store restaurants surfboard rental etc. It was a bit pricy but we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sykes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for the review and compliments! You'll be happy to know the bathrooms are scheduled for a renovation as part of a multi-year upgrades project, which we're all very excited about! Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

First, what makes this place have such high ratings is the staff. They are great. Very helpful and friendly. They take a family run approach to running this hotel and it shows. The location of the hotel is great. It is just back from the beach and for that you pay a pretty hefty premium (we paid over $300/night with taxes). Is it worth it? Depends on your point of view. You can undoubtedly find cheaper and better accommodations in SD away from the beach. But when you factor in the free breakfast and parking, you probably come close to what you pay here.

To be clear, this is not a fancy hotel. It is an Inn. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on your point of view, SD has not allowed high rise development near the beach so the choices for hotels are few and the few that are there can charge a premium.

As mentioned, the location is great. It is right on Pacific Beach and yes there were a few characters around the property but we never really felt threatened although some of the areas looked a little sketchy.

The property itself was nice and clean. The room was clean although it is showing it's age a bit. Our room was on the second floor on top of the laundry room and came with the unexpected benefit of vibration when the laundry machines were used in the morning. Hey, in some hotels you have to pay extra for that. It was annoying at times but it was a gentle wake up call.

The pool area is small but it was never overcrowded. Our one beef about the pool was the tiny towels they give guests to use. They look like old room towels that are too worn to be used in the rooms. The other beef is with respect to the chairs and beach toys they have for guests. These are essentially items left behind by other guests and most are broken and in most cases not really usable. If the hotel is going to advertise that it has these for guests, then they should maintain them.

There have been some people that complain about the breakfast. Come on folks. There are juices, milk, coffee (not that great), cereal, waffles that you make from scratch, pastries, bagels, etc. What more do you want? Our only complaint about the breakfast is that if you are not there by 10am, you are out of luck. Maybe consider shutting it down at 10:30.

Our biggest complaint is not about the hotel itself but the beach. It was terrible. Seaweed everywhere. Mounds of it everywhere. Ruined our entire beach vacation. We were looking forward to experiencing the SoCal beaches and were extremely disappointed that they were not maintained. We asked why and were told the City had run out of money to clean the beaches. Really? I would think this would be something you would find funds for since it is what attracts most of your visitors.

Our other issue is with the lack of big restaurants in the area. There are lots of local, small places but if you like the big chain restaurants, you have to get in your car and drive away from PB, which we did almost every night.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Park but next time we will probably find a place farther from the beach and save some money.

Room Tip: Don't get the room above the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! In many cases, you took the words right out of my mouth!

You're absolutely correct, as with most beach towns around the world, you will pay more to be on the beach in San Diego. You're also correct in mentioning that highrises (and thus indirectly chain hotels) are not allowed on San Diego beaches, making areas like Pacific Beach truly unique with privately owned, small, boutique hotels and motels. When you take into account our competition's amenities, location, rates, etc. you do realize that the Ocean Park Inn is very well positioned in our little beach market.

We are currently addressing the beach toys/chairs issue, and later breakfast hours will be discussed at our next manager's meeting. Thank you for those comments.

Regarding the seaweed on the beach - unfortunately there isn't much to say beyond what you touched on. San Diego is currently going through a unique political situation where the tourism industry and local government are in disagreement with what is required to successfully and continuously make San Diego a tourist destination.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. If you do choose to stay on the beach again, check out our Facebook page for special deals and packages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location. You are paying for the location (and it just may be worth it), but dont expect to find an interior that has been updated in many decades. The facade appears to have undergone a recent face-lift, but the interior is dingy, out of date and run down. We visited in February and the heater in the room didn't work. The fan came on, but never got warm. We piled on blankets and didn't bother saying anything because we weren't spending much time in our room. When I let them know at check out so they could get it repaired it before the next guests arrived I was stunned by how rude they were. What had I done?! The spots in the underground parking are too small for even mid-sized sedans. Again: great location, but some problems.

Helpful?
Thank IronBlosam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. You'll be happy to know we are continuously upgrading the property and are currently in the middle of a multi-year plan. We've already renovated the pool area and lobby, installed new carpets throughout the hotel, painted all the walls, bought new furniture, etc. Later this spring you'll see brand new lighting throughout the hotel in addition to new window treatments and bedding!

We're very sorry to hear about the heater not working properly. In January, we installed new energy saving thermostat systems in all of our rooms, and unfortunately it look a little while to iron out some of the kinks. We always recommend, however, letting us know as soon as possible if you run into any issues on the property as our maintenance staff is always willing to help! Our sincerest apologies for the chilly stay!

Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here while visiting friends in the Pacific Beach area and downtown San Diego.
Like many other reviewers have said, its a plain hotel, clean room, comfortable bed, OK breakfast choice (cereal, fruit, waffles, toast tea, coffee), nice hot tub/pool right on the ocean. This location is what makes this hotel stand out! You are right in the heart of Pacific Beach, directly on the ocean, next to all the bars/restaurants, boardwalk, parking garage ($10/day).
It's definitely not the Ritz Carlton but great price and location for Pacific Beach.
When you are visiting PB you are rarely inside. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are best and rooms on the south side are much louder (right next to 3 bars).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for the review Catherine. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. You're absolutely correct, our location is unbeatable right in the heart of Pacific Beach and greater San Diego County. For next time, you should sign up for our newsletter to receive special returning guest discounts! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel with my wife for two days. After a long drive from Las Vegas, hiking in Joshua tree we were really ready to get some nice beach side stay.
I booked this hotel through internet just an hour prior to our arrival. We came very late at night, but the guy at reception was very friendly and helpful and even gave us a nice upgrade!!!

Everything was as advertised.

Very happy ! :)

P.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Sounds like you had quite a vacation! We're glad you chose to spend some time with us on the beach, and we're happy to hear our staff was accommodating. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation in the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Super clean super nice accommodations. It is just a hotel room, but it is all about location! The balcony is small but there is nothing between you and the beach except sand! Nice breakfast is comped in the morning and it's all you need. We did a mini pub crawl and we had a blast we could walk everywhere and a Starbucks across the street !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sguidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for the review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
878 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 279 in San Diego
741 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing