We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful ocean view great stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean view great stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. Amazing view from our 3 rd floor room facing the ocean. Sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep. Just steps a few from the boardwalk. The staff could not do enough for us. Made great suggestions for restaurants, gave us a coupon for bike rental when we mentioned biking. Breakfast was perfect just enough to choose from. We stayed in room 313
And for some reason the WI Fi did not work unless we were on the balcony. The view from this room was amazing right in the middle facing the ocean. We are Looking forward to staying here
Again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for an ocean view. Also very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're all very happy to hear the staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    331
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
309
426
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I bought a 2 night deal on livingsocial back in January 2012- Went with my boyfriend and we had a great time! Location is right on the boardwalk and beach, convienent to everything in Pacific Beach. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms (mainly the bathrooms) were a little outdated but still nice and very clean. We had a ground level room, I imagine the higher leveled rooms have a better view but we still loved sitting on our private patio watching the sunset. For a livingsocial deal- 2 nights for $250 this was a great buy. If you're paying full price, i'd still recommend it but remember you're paying for the beach front location rather than the quality of the hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you took advantage of that LivingSocial deal...stay tuned for similar deals online in the future. Another great way to find specials is by signing up for our newsletter! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have just completed perhaps our 7th stay at the Ocean Park Inn, and we cannot wait to return. If you love wonderful sunsets, great walking on the boardwalk or beach, and helpful staff, this is the place for you. We love booking an ocean front room so we can go to sleep and wake up with the sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lox56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
We are so glad you have become such loyal guests of ours! Thank you for becoming part of the OPI family, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We enjoyed the four nights we spent at the Ocean Park--a family trip over spring break. We enjoyed being on the beach and found the location to be convenient for visiting San Diego, La Jolla, and the environs. We wish we had booked earlier to get a beach side room, rather than a partial view.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review! We are all happy to hear the entire family enjoyed their time in San Diego. When you start planning your next family vacation to the Ocean Park Inn, book early as we have very few 2 Queen Ocean Front rooms! We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel was fine. More expensive than the quality suggests but you are paying for the beach side location. I was surprised when I went out at night how loud the adjacent bars are, but luckily in our beach side room with the door wide open we couldn't hear the bars at all. The front desk staff is very friendly. The free breakfast is less than impressive. Pool and hot tub are great.

Room Tip: Ground level beach side is money. Higher floors for better views. There is a glass wall between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You're absolutely right, the prices for rooms on the beach will always be higher than those inland. We closely monitor the other properties in the area to ensure our rates remain competitive, and keep in mind we offer the most complimentary amenities out of any property in town!

We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast - we are offering as many options as possible for a "continental breakfast" with fresh pastries, cereal, two waffle machines, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, and coffee and juices. Next time, we'd be more than happy to point you to any number of restaurants in the area that serve wonderful full breakfasts!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
232 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little cursed by its location. First, the firehouse bar next door is wicked loud. Thumping beats till late at night. The public restroom and lifeguard station next door is a magnet for homeless folks. While none were outwardly threatening, I did find myself on edge walking around with my wife and young daughter.

The outside if the hotel is fresh and recent. Pool area, enclosed by wind breaks, along with lawn chairs is quite nice. Continental breakfast was good as well.

The inside of rooms are deeply in need of a redo. Certainly circa 1976 with pink toilets, small tile counters, pink tub, cheap doors, etc. While nothing was 'wrong' with the room, it's in need of an update. I likely would not go back.

I found the areas seemed a little cleaner north of the crystal pier around the Tower 23 hotel and Jordan restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorX69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! You're absolutely right, some of our neighbors can be a bit noisy in the evenings and on weekends. The good news, however, is we have very few rooms that directly face these restaurants and we have multiple measures and procedures in place to keep the noise reasonable.

Unfortunately, similarly to most small beach towns up and down the coast of California, there is a small transient population. The SDPD does a fantastic job of monitoring their activity in the area, and we very rarely have any issues at or near our property.

We're happy you noticed some of our recently renovations and updates, and you'll also be pleased to know we are not finished with the process. In addition to the newly renovated lobby, breakfast area, pool area, the new carpet and paint throughout the hotel, and the new furniture both inside and out, we will soon be updated our window and bedding treatments, lighting throughout the hotel, and our bathrooms.

We do hope you give us another shot in the future! Thank you for staying with us, and again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Most of these reviews are right on target with this Inn. I personally researched the area pretty well before making our selection of The Ocean Park Inn. We spent a week with our 2 children 6 and 4 year olds. The staff was amazing. The room was exactly what we asked for. We knew about the noise from the clubs on the SW end of the Inn as this has been probably the most discussed complaint. Believe me the staff is well aware and I am sure they are doing what they can to address this issue. I just requested a room away from the SW end of the noise, this worked out great. The greatest asset to this Inn is the location, right on the beach and close to all the sites of Mission Beach. My only disappointment was the lack of a business center. We needed to print several tickets and boarding passes and this was somewhat of a challenge with my IPad as I emailed them to the front desk for printing. That being said the staff was AWSOME and very helpful with this and even gave me a lesson in how to use a IPad. The breakfast was great and a great value, as this was included. Thanks Again for the great stay. The pride of this little Inn is obvious in the staff they have. They work very hard to make people feel welcome and supported.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review Eric! We are so happy to hear the property and area were everything you expected for your family vacation! Although the front desk staff is always willing to help print boarding passes and tickets to local attractions, we are in the process of looking into alternatives (such as adding a touch-screen monitor in the lobby for printing, local attractions, and maps) to make the process easier for guests. Thank you for the feedback and for all the great comments about the staff - we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing