We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel; needs renovating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Veigne, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; needs renovating”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It was our 1st time in San Diego. Didn't know where to stay. Probably downtown would have been better (with hindsight) for transportation convenience. Taxi's cost around 40 USD to downtown but the number 30 bus leaves 50 meters from the hotel and has good connections to downtown and many other places so it wasn't too bad. Hotel bed very comfortable; king size bath and shower as well (we took a suite). Free breakfast buffet was good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There are many local restaurants but most are fast food and "drinking" places serving some food. We did however eat a couple of times at a place called "Fat Fish". Strange name but a nice atmosphere and good food located only 100 yards from the hotel. All in all, we were pleased with the visit and the hotel although the price was on the high side.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for the great feedback, David! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in Pacific Beach. Next time, be sure to stop by the front desk for some discount coupons for taxi's and other local restaurants. Thanks again and we’ll see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    330
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
307
426
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent 4 nights at this hotel, let's start with the bad, there is none, hotel is very clean. Well maintained and staff is very friendly and helpful. The morning brunch is really good, they have a person there at all times to be certain every item is stocked and to clean up after us. Hotel is located on boardwalk at mission beach, a great location, nice heated pool kind of small but who cares your next to the ocean. Hotel is also close to multiple restaurants and bars, pay the extra ten bucks for underground parking, you can park close by for less but it's really convenient, what's an extra five bucks on vacation. I rated at 4 but it's really a 4-1/2 . I believe it's the best hotel in area.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms by elevator as vending machines are also at this Arabs and could be a bit noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Excellent review, Steve! Thank you for taking the time to highlight many of the great amenities we offer. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the OPI and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Centrally located to a lot of attractions. Right on the boardwalk with amazing views. Friendly helpful staff. Clean well appointed rooms. Overall a great place to stay. The rates are reasonable. Local restaurants are very good and in one case phenomenal. The restaurants were recommended by hotel staff. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikrLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback! It sounds like you really took full advantage of what Pacific Beach has to offer. There are always more restaurants in the area to try, so next time be sure to stop by the front desk again for more recommendations and coupons! See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived later in the evening and had no problem with getting settled in our room. So convenient to eating establishments. We just went accross the lobby to one of San Diego's fine restaurant's not associated with the Inn although recommended. Your staff was so helpful and we just loved your security guard Daniel who made us feel very secure. The ocean view from our room was the best. Thank you for such a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the review, Barbara! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding our staff members! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I took my husband to ocean park inn for his 60th birthday. Im so glad I picked this hotel to stay at. The rooms were nice and the View was beautiful. We had an ocean front room and we had the best time. The location was perfect. Lots of restaurants and shopping walking distance from the hotel. The parking was easy underground and worth 10$ a night. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a great room with an ocean view. We cant wait to come back in the summer time. LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Awesome review, Laurie! We are very glad to hear that your husband's birthday was a success, and we're honored to have been a part of it. We look forward to seeing you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Nice but not lavish or fancy hotel. Great location facing the ocean with lots of restaurants & coffee shops nearby. Rooms are fairly basic but clean. The entire hotel is well thought out and appears to be managed very well. The underground parking is worth the additional $10 per day as street parking in the area is nearly impossible. We'll stay here next time we go to Pacific Beach.

Room Tip: Second or third floor ocean-facing rooms are great. The water is close by and you can hear the wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AZRickO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Rick! Be sure you check out our Facebook page to stay updated on hotel happenings and special deals for your next trip to Pacific Beach. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I usually stay at the Hyatt but thought we would try The Ocean Park Inn. We're so glad we did. The location is great. We felt it was a great value for the money. The staff was very friendly and even upgraded us to a better view. The parking was reasonable along with free Internet, mini refrigerator, microwave and a wonderful continental breakfast. Our King bed room was spacious and supplied with lots of clean towels...didn't have to ask for anything. We definitely will be coming back...it was perfect for us!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to highlight all the wonderful amenities we offer. We take a great deal of pride in offering the most "bang for you buck" in Pacific Beach, so we're happy you enjoyed your time with us. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
647 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
819 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#20 of 279 in San Diego
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing