We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay, gets better each time”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #28 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Third stay, gets better each time”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Third floor room overlooking the ocean, great location and the most accommodating staff. Our third visit nice to see all the upgrades to the rooms. Many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. See you next March!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpchaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the review, and for being such a loyal guest of ours! We are glad to hear you had another enjoyable vacation with us and we look forward to seeing you again in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    332
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
310
429
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Park Inn from February 19-21 and were very happy there. Patrick checked us in and was helpful telling us about the area. The [large] room had recently been remodeled and was very clean, and we had some chairs with comfy cushions on our patio. There's a great buffet breakfast every day with lots of extra seating (we sat and looked at San Diego brochures/maps one morning, and we also saw business people meeting there). There are quite a few restaurants nearby (some on the street and some along the beach), and access to the beach is very easy but secure. On our last night there we took advantage of the hot tub by the pool, which felt great. We were also happy that the car was in a locked garage at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nbb350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words about both our staff and our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our recent room renovations, as well as some of our amenities. Between the many excellent restaurants, shopping, and of course the beach, there is never a shortage of things to do while in Pacific Beach! Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We've stayed at the Ocean Park Inn usually each Feb or Mar, for a week or more. The staff is cordial and helpful - the hotel is always clean... a delightful place to enjoy the San Diego beach and area restaurants. Convenient to park in lower level.
We look forward to staying next year!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for the awesome review Mike! We are glad to hear that you had another enjoyable vacation with us, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The rooms are old, the hotel is old. If this wasn't on the ocean this would be a $70 / night hotel. That being said the hotel is on the ocean with nice views, and the staff was friendly and very nice. I give it 2 stars because of the size and quality of the room for the price.

Room Tip: If a hotel on the ocean is a must then I would consider this BUT you will way overpay for the qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MattGRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Matt.

We're disappointed you don't like all of the renovations and updates we've done over the last few years. Our most recent upgrade, brand new bathrooms in each guestroom, has received high praise from a large majority of our guests. The new bathrooms are in addition to the renovated lobby and pool areas, new furniture on the patios and by the pool, light fixtures throughout the hotel, an upgraded continental breakfast, new carpet and paint throughout the hotel, and many other additions.

The process of updated the property is continuous, as we continue to improve our amenities to ensure we offer the best value in Pacific Beach. If you have further suggestions as to how we could have improved your stay and/or our amenities, we would love to hear from you. Guest feedback is valued highly, and it is often taken into consideration when mapping out the future of the property.

We very much appreciate the compliments about our staff, and we do hope you enjoyed your time in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The OPI is not a luxury hotel, but it is one of my all-time favorites. We have stayed twice in the past two years, and can't say enough good things about it. The location is absolutely perfect- right on the beach and walking distance to almost anywhere in Pacific or Mission Beach. Both times we have booked partial ocean view rooms, which look out on the pool and actually seem to be full ocean views. The rooms themselves are clean and relatively modern, with fridges and small balconies (and amazing views). The free breakfast is not exactly gourmet, but is generous and includes fruit, yogurt, cereal, and a waffle bar.

We found the staff to be quite friendly and helpful. The hairdryer in our room stopped working as I was getting ready for a wedding- I panicked, but the maintenance man came within 10 minutes to replace it, which I very much appreciated.

Overall, I can't recommend this place enough if you are looking for a reasonably priced and centrally located beach hotel. I've stayed in a few other hotels in the area, but none come close to the OPI.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms that overlook the pool are really full ocean views. The rooms with balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Fantastic review Olivia! We are thrilled to hear you once again enjoyed your stay with us, and we’re honored to be your go-to property for your visits to PB. Make sure you’re friends with us on Facebook to read about local events, see some beautiful pictures, and maybe even use a special for your next trip out! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We recently spent 5 days at the hotel. We thought the location was perfect with easy access to the beach, the constant sound of the surf, the sunsets, the pier, the boardwalk, etc. The underground parking is handy and reasonably priced. The room and bath were attractive, clean, and up to date. The heated pool and hot tub are in good shape in a very nice courtyard and appear very handicapped accessible.The staff were helpful and friendly including coming up with an early check in. There's lots to do in the area and the necessary shops are in walking distance including a large appealing grocery store and an adequate Starbucks (nothing special). We enjoyed the many good restaurants in the area. The continental breakfast is bare-bones--we skipped it for the most part. Wi-Fi is spotty so I used my own mobile hotspot. See the additional note about room location. We would definitely come back again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 313 (partial ocean view king) was a great location. There's a full view of the ocean with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcg507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Excellent review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to highlight some of the amenities and activities in and around the property. You’ll be happy to note that we are currently working on alternatives to boost our WiFi strength throughout the hotel. Thanks again for the feedback, and be sure to sign up for our newsletter to receive specials for your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel is situated right on Pacific Beach and in a great location for good sunsets and boardwalk strolls. It's a great price if you are trying to save money, but be sure to pack your own supplies since the amenities are pretty slim. My daughter and I were able to rent a DVD player from the hotel and grab some Redbox movies from the Ralph's across the street for evening entertainment since the TV channels were pretty paltry. The pool is nicely heated, though the wind sneaks up over the glass walls during the day. Overall, the hotel was clean and certainly suited our needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyMacTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback, Lindsey! We're happy to hear the property suited your needs, and we do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing