We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed b4 shall stay again.”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #28 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Stayed b4 shall stay again.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Alexandra and staff are the best. Did all they could to make our stay very enjoyable. They kept the homeless persons away from the guests. The breakfast was great and we arrived early to hotel, they didn't have our rooms ready but they accomidated our 8 guests with support and lettingnuse all facilities necessary.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plinio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny G, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Plinio, thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we appreciate the kind words about our staff. Our rooms are guaranteed to be ready for check in by 3 pm and our guests are welcome to arrive early to park their car and relax by the pool or beach while they wait for the room to be ready. Thanks again for the review! And we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    335
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
314
431
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent a week here for a family reunion (we had 7 hotel rooms between us including ocean view and family suites) and couldn't have asked for a better location or arrangement. The hotel served as "home base" for our families from CA, NM, WA and England. The recent bathroom renovations were much appreciated and the rooms were nice. You can't get closer to the beach and boardwalk. The family suites were spacious with kitchens that were perfect for those with small kids. There are tons of restaurants and shops, and the best part was a super Ralph's grocery plus a CVS pharmacy right across the street (and of course a Starbuck's). They provide beach towels and the pool area is just terrific for being "at the beach" when you just don't want the sand. On the way out to the beach, you can grab a beach chair or boogie board that other guests have left which the hotel leaves for others to use - a great little benefit if you don't want to buy all that stuff and haul it home! A nice "heavy" continental breakfast is included (hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, etc.). I was worried at first that the property was going to be a bit old and tired but I was happily surprised. and the staff were terrific. There is only one elevator but I never had to wait for more than a minute. And the underground parking is a great benefit since parking in the area can be a challenge (note - it is NOT free, it is $10 per night, and the spaces are really small so don't bring a big vehicle!). The beds were just about the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, a bit on the soft side. I would highly recommend this hotel - just large enough to be a hotel but the perfect size to have a few amenities and a staff who really cares!

Room Tip: All rooms have at least some view of the ocean so you really can't go wrong! We were on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwsllc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny G, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with an excellent review! We are elated to hear that your whole family enjoyed their time at the OPI. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to mention some of the amenities we offer such as the complimentary breakfast, affordable underground parking and complimentary beach equipment. Thank you for using us as your home base and we hope to see everyone back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

You honestly couldn't ask for a more helpful, nicer staff! We ended up wanting to stay an extra day, our room was already booked for the extra night, so they helped us move into an ocean front room. I love the location of this hotel, easily located to restaurants and bars, right on the boardwalk and you walk right out to the beach. Close to the pier if you want to fish. We really loved our stay here & very comfortable for our family! The extra boogie boards and sand buckets and shovels for the kids to borrow, The pool and spa, I could go on for a while. We have reservations for another hotel for labor day weekend, and i'm getting ready to see if this hotel has availability so we can switch. We really loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Lucinda, Thank you so much for the great feedback! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and we are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We are in a great location so there is never a shortage of things to do for families or for anyone traveling on their own. We do still have some rooms available for Labor Day weekend! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I chose this hotel based on it's terrific location and nice photos online. I paid $450 (higher than average) per night thinking I would get a great experience with my daughter and friends, but it turned out that the poor customer service will detour me from ever staying at this hotel again. The staff was not friendly, informative or accommodating. The room was average, nothing special; however, I did enjoy the partial view on the balcony. I will not list all the poor customer service events that took place, but all of them in combination is why my rating is low. I will talk about the two most bothersome to me. Our room was not cleaned the second day that we stayed. After spending the entire day at the beach, my daughter was just stepping into the shower as the maids knocked on the door at 5:30 pm to clean our room. She asked them to come back later. They didn't come back later and when I called down to the front desk to find out what happened and if we could get some fresh towels, there were no apologies for them not coming to clean until 5:30 pm just blame put on us for sending them away. We had a late check out scheduled for 12 noon on our last day. We left early in the morning for the beach and when we returned to the hotel at 11:15 am to shower and pack, all of our keys had been deactivated. I had to go to the front desk for access and again no apologies for inconveniencing us just an answer of "that is how our keys work even if you have a late check out, they automatically deactivate at 11 am". I asked why no one told me that when we scheduled the late check out and she said again, "that is just how our keys work". These types of incidences happened over and over again. My experience and rating would be much different if the staff just used their manners and applied good customer service to their daily routine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Dawn. As we believe customer service is one of our fortes here at the Ocean Park Inn, we find it very disappointing to hear about your experiences with us. Our guest service agents have been trained to handle your situations correctly, so allow me to extend my personal apologies that the proper customer service was not exemplified during your stay. Rest assured, I will personally be addressing these issues with the staff and proper action will be taken.

To address your two main issues directly: our housekeeping staff is here servicing rooms for most of the day, often until 5:00 - 6:00 in the evening. If you declined service at 5:30, it should have been clearly stated that the housekeepers were departing, so any requests after their departure could have happily been fulfilled by the front desk and/or houseman staffs. I will personally bring this issue up with the head housekeeper.

Lastly, although the room keys do automatically expire at 11:00, this should have been made clear to you upon your request for a late checkout. I have already taken proper measures at the front desk to ensure this is no longer a problem.

We are all sorry to hear about your experience with us. We do hope the rest of your time in San Diego was relaxing and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently stayed at Ocean Park Inn and had a great experience. The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the cleaning staff. The location can't be beat.......wonderful places to eat and shop within a block of the hotel. The pool and hot tub were perfect temps and clean (amazing with all the beach traffic.) We could all sit on our balcony and people watch on the boardwalk or take in the ocean. My daughter borrowed the hotels boogie boards and learned to body surf which was so fun. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Get the partial or full ocean view.....it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Awesome review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We greatly appreciate the kind words about our staff. Our location is truly incredible, as we are centrally located to much of San Diego and within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and shops here in Pacific Beach. Be sure to sign up for our newsletter for special promotions for your next trip to San Diego! See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is in an excellent location with plenty of underground parking available. The hotel is pretty basic but has everything you need and a wonderful view of the ocean.
The main selling point is definitely the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaDawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback Anna! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in PB, and allow us to send our congratulations and best wishes to you and your spouse! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I visited Vegas and California this summer. When we arrived in San Diego we had booked into 'The diamond head inn' upon arrival we were very disappointed with this hotel so decided to walk up the boardwalk to try locate another hotel. We went into the ocean park inn on spec and spoke with Patrick on reception. We could nt have met a more accommodating person. He booked us into the ocean park for the rest of the week. We were not disappointed. All the staff were excellent. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic. No shortage of coffee, toast, bagels cereals, cheese, yogurt and fruit. Hotel room was very spacious and spotless. Lovely pool and spa. Felt very safe in this hotel. We have recommended it to all our friends. X

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3 rd floor with partial view and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Geraldine, thank you for the review - we are glad that we were able to help salvage your trip to San Diego! Thank you for the kind words about our staff, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#147 of 279 in San Diego
741 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Property: Ocean Park Inn
Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing