We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACEFUL!!!!!”
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The ocean view from the balcony is peaceful. I feel extremely safe and comfortable. All the imenities are great and I like the fact that I can park my car under ground where I know it is safe. I have been coming to your hotel for the past 14 years and I really enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra122114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Thank you for being such a loyal guest over the years and for such a kind review! See you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Park Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

I've been staying at the Ocean Park Inn when I travel to San Diego for at least 10 years, and it's as enjoyable now as ever. The recent renovations are great, the rooms are comfortable, & the views are spectacular. It's also steps away from some of the best food on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsinger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Thank you for such a positive review, and for being such a loyal guest at our hotel and on our Facebook page! We're looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We spent just two nights at the Ocean Park Inn - wish we could have stayed all week! The staff was great from the minute we entered the hotel. Lots of helpful info and very friendly. Loved the underground parking and the continental breakfast was wonderful. There was construction going on in the breakfast area but not a bother at all. It is a well-kept hotel and we could tell they really care about making it a great hotel. We will be anxious to see the final remodel job the next time we get to California. The location was just the best! Listened to the ocean waves from our room and loved the patio deck also. Loved the fact that it is totally a non-smoking hotel. We will definitely plan a return trip there!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dqdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2010

Thank you for such a fantastic review! The lobby and pool renovations should be done shortly, and I think we're all looking forward to seeing the finished product. The next time here, you will be able to relax in our expanded pool area, stare for hours at our huge salt water fish tank, enjoy our improved breakfast, or take advantage of our new conference room. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Walking distance of bars, restaurants, and shops. Hotel was doing some construction on the first floor during our stay. Did not hear a thing and it was quite contained. Pool was heated. Parking was not an issue. Park in their parking garage for a daily fee. Area around hotel consisted of a crowd in their mid 20's. Would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stejacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This was our second visit and I can't think of another place in San Diego I'd rather stay. The hotel and staff are great and the rooms are very nice. The location is the clincher. We could watch the ocean waves and the interesting sidewalk strollers from our balcony. It is next to the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants and drinking establisments. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

This is definitely the spot to be for people watching - we're glad you were able to take advantage of it!! Next time you stay with us, be sure to visit the front desk for discounts to many of the local restaurants and bars! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

hen we stay in a town, I always try to pick a hotel that will give us the most authentic experience of that town. The Ocean Park Inn, right on the beautiful Pacific Beach and boardwalk was PERFECT. They have JUST completed a great remodel of the entire place.

We stayed in a ground floor corner room with a "limited" ocean view for our first two nights. Although it was actually VERY limited, it was like a sensory deprivation room...REALLY quiet. The last night, Sunday, we upgraded to a third (top) floor ocean front room. We loved sitting on the balcony and sharing a bottle of wine watching the "parade" go by. At night, were able to leave the doors open and had fell asleep to the ocean sounds which muffled any of the other noises from the board walk below.

Now, the hotel is right next to the two most popular bar/restaurants in Pacific Beach. This area is so hopping all day and night that you will not find any street parking so we really appreciated the underground parking (for just $5 a day!). There WILL be noise, some bar hoping drunks and some polite homeless people around. If this distresses you, you probably should go up the street to LaJolla. But, if you want all of the fun and experience of San Diego at its best, Stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MArktheArch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

We're happy to hear you like the remodel! Next time you stay, you will be able to see our brand new 380+ gallon salt water fish tank that we are currently working on installing into the lobby! We're also thrilled to hear you enjoyed one of the Ocean Park Inn's most unique experiences - being able to sit or sleep in your room and hear the waves crash on the sand! We're looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We were so caught up in work and the holidays we decided to take a quick break and drive to San Diego to get away! As usual, the staff at Ocean Park was so welcoming! They always greet us by name and call once we are in our room to make sure everything is perfect.

The weather was great. This is actually one of the best times to visit San Diego. Whale watching was so much fun and the quick drive up to Carlsbad to go to the outlets got us focused on Christmas gifts! We sat outside on our balcony to enjoy the sunset and the boardwalk. It is not crowded at all this time of year. Kona's coffee is always a favorite as is Filipili's on Garnet. We alway go across the way to the Firehouse and have at least drinks, if not dinner.

We made it through Christmas, happy and relaxed and plan to make an early get away to Ocean Park every year at the same time. We miss you more and more every time we come home!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soltera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

We're glad you had a chance to explore the town and see some whales! Sorry you miss us so much - we do have a tendency to spoil our guests! We're looking forward to seeing you again this winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#9 of 278 in San Diego
939 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 278 in San Diego
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#133 of 278 in San Diego
218 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#138 of 278 in San Diego
376 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#220 of 278 in San Diego
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £107 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing