We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly and a lovely place”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So friendly and a lovely place”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. What a lovely Inn. The staff were iIncredibly helpful and friendly. They gave you a little welcome pack with toothpaste, shampoo and conditioner and some other bits. Breakfast was a really nice spread. Didnt use the swimming pool because we didn't have time but it looked nice. The room was very clean and perfect. We had no complaints about our stay. Perfect location for the transport. So we were able to visit downtown by foot and the city by public transport which was cheap and easy. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon stay here at the Old Town Inn. We are honored when guests mark special occasions by staying with us. Many of our honeymooners stay in our Jacuzzi suite, but it sounds like you tried a different room for your first stay at our hotel. It sounds like the room you chose worked out very well for you. Maybe for your 10th anniversary you can come back and celebrate in our Jacuzzi suite! Ten years from now, I’m sure you will find that our hotel has only gotten better, as we continually look for ways to improve, and as our management finds new ways to add additional value to what is already a great value. Thank you for your kind comments, and we hope to see you soon!

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    616
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
632
616
84
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here as we we're told on the phone they had half price coupons to the zoo.
We got there and they do not! They have 4 dollar off.... Yippee.

Rooms we're clean. But nothing special.
Breakfast was average. Except for the waffle station. That was so good!!!!!

Walking distance to told town. But if your alone could be scary. Very dim lit and walk though and underground tunnel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review; we appreciate you letting us know what you liked, and also what you disliked about your stay. It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us stand out from the rest, and why they rate us so highly. We are not a fancy hotel; we are 2 star rated, budget friendly hotel, here to provide our guests with an excellent standard of service, quality accommodations and amenities, clean rooms, and most importantly, all of these qualities at a good value. We may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but we do the very best with what we have.

I am sorry to hear that there was a misunderstanding about the discounted tickets we provide. We took this opportunity to review the discount ticket prices with all of our front desk staff, so that this does not happen again. I apologize for the mix-up. We do offer a small discount, and the ticket you would buy at the front desk includes a free bus tour and skyfari ride, along with a pass to the front of the line at the door.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel. I like to tell people that we are nowhere, but right next door to everywhere :- ) That being said, the vast majority of our guests feel comfortable coming and going from the hotel on foot or by car. One benefit of being in a more industrial setting than a typical commercial setting is that it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I will freely admit that it may not be what people are used to and if any guest feels uncomfortable, especially with small children, we would be the first to suggest they use their car or a taxi for transport. The tunnel you mentioned is primarily a shortcut for getting under the tracks – if you feel uncomfortable walking through at night it can be easily and safely bypassed.

Thank you again for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the waffles for breakfast, and our clean rooms. Again, we are not everyone’s cup of tea, but we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests. We do take great pride in making our guests’ stay an enjoyable experience.
We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
We Want to be Your Cup of Tea! Book Direct With Us!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Old Town Inn from October 7th- October 10th 2013. The location of the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in old town San Diego and a 10 minute drive to Balboa Park. The staff at Old Town Inn was incredibly friendly and had amazing recommendations for food and sight-seeing. The beds were very comfortable; the rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Your opinion is very important to all of the staff at the Old Town Inn. We want to provide accurate information to our guests, and we hope to have a small part in making your experience unforgettable. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistant service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-Diamond hotel is well located, friendly, and very clean. Our dedicated housekeeping staff works hard to keep our property as clean as possible so that our guests can get a good nights rest every night. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, and we would love for you to come back and stay with us on your next visit to San Diego.

Laura ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Old Town Inn is a great find and the staff along with cleanliness and No Smoking is great.
Gelda Cesar and The GM will make you feel at home.
It is not often you feel like the staff really cares and wants your stay to be very nice.
You will not go wrong with Old Town Inn.
My wife and I thank the staff for their hospitality.
Very clean, very neat.

Thanks! L J & Dani Bud

Room Tip: The old cottages are great for economic pocket book. The new rooms are really very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Dani,

Thank you for the awesome review about our beautiful hotel, and your compliment about our staff members on Tripadvisor. Your experience with us helps others know that we are willing to go the extra mile to exceed our guests expectations. Our staff members want to make our guests feel at home here at the Old Town Inn. This is the time of year when we frequently have a welcoming fire in the lobby fireplace in the evenings, and people comment that they feel like they just walked into someone's living room. Thank you for the compliment on the cleanliness of our rooms, we do receive many positive comments from guests about how well-kept our rooms are. Your comments and compliments on Tripadvisor give us a better understanding of how well we are achieving our customer service goals. Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and we hope to see you again soon.

Mike ~ Customer Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After a long road trip down Highway 1, this was the perfect place to rest. It was very close to the highway, not in a great location for walking many places, but perfect for highway travelers. The room was clean. The bathroom was great. Free wifi and breakfast. The beds are to-die-for comfortable. Plus it was very cute with its gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Old Town Inn. Our hotel is a great place to rest after a long drive. Most of our guests really love our pillowtop mattresses, and I’m glad to hear that you love them too. We are located on Pacific Highway, just a short drive to most of San Diego’s major attractions, and just a short 7-minute walk into Old Town. Old Town has beautiful historic buildings to visit, along with great restaurants, stores, and more.

We provide our guests with free wi-fi, and an excellent continental breakfast. The hotel’s lush landscaping around the pool gives the hotel the perfect touch to help you feel relaxed. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass along your compliments to all of our staff that work so hard every day to make sure that your stay with us is always a good experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Cesar ~ Customer Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here October 11th -13th 2013. Fantastic place, we had the jacuzzi suite, this room is fantastic for a couple! King bed, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, garden type shower and a huge open floor plan for a room.

The room was very clean, towels were soft, sheets were crisp. There was very little noise from outside! Heard the train horns a couple of times early on in the night but it was a distant muffled sound.

The price for the room was very good for the area, we priced up about ten different places and compared lots of the extra's. The Old Town Inn seemed to be so much above the rest of the hotels in this area.

The only thing that I could say and it's not even negative, back into your parking spot, they are tight and it's a small lot.

The hotel is clean, pool is nice and the staff is fantastic. Everything that you could want, this is our new place to stay everytime we go down to San Diego.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite if your a couple, it's quiet, secluded and can be romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edprovencal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Ed,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Jacuzzi suite. It looks like you didn’t have a chance to stay with us for very long, but I imagine even a short stay in our Jacuzzi suite doubles your relaxation time. I agree with you completely, that if you price other hotels in our area, value conscious customers usually find that our hotel offers more value for your money, especially if you’re traveling during a busy season. We are a short 7 minute walk into Old Town, and that short walk will typically save our guests anywhere between 20 to 80 dollars a night, and sometimes more, and that's just the difference in our room rates! Some hotels on the east edge of the Old Town State park charge as much as $35.00 per night for parking, here at the Old Town Inn, parking is free. Many hotels charge for internet access, here at the Old Town Inn, our wifi is free. As I tell guests on occasion, just about the only thing you pay extra for here at the Old Town Inn, is if you’d like to buy a bag of popcorn. We sell microwave popcorn and kettle corn at the front desk for only a dollar, and many of our guests buy a bag to go with one of our free DVD movie rentals. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Diego!

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Despite being fully booked, the friendly and helpful staff were able to rectify my reservation error as I had mistakenly booked for three person when we were four. A rollaway supplied quickly. Room good with enough room for four persons with luggage. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and in a pleasant dining room. Location is a 5 minute stroll to the Old Town which is interesting with touristy shops and plenty of eateries. The hotel is a short drive from Seaworld and an easy drive into the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolly-Bully63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing