We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We struggled finding a place to stay that was close to Sea World and the zoo. We were going between two hotels but after asking about them here on the forum we were swayed away from both hotels. We decided to go with Old Town Inn after looking at the reviews and we are glad we did. First of all the staff was kind, helpful, resourceful and willing to go up and above their job to make our stay a good one. We were greeted by Cesar with maps, and the best places to eat. The breakfast was good with lots of chooses such as waffles, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, toast, juice, and milk. The pool was clean and well kept. The laundry room was perfect for us since I needed to do laundry before going onto Carlsbad for another four days. The washer and dryer was clean and worked as it should. In fact, I expected to feed the dryer money more than once, but I didn't have to. The room was perfect for us, 3 adults and 2 children. The coffee pot didn't work well, but that's the only negative thing I can say. We had two tv's so the kids could watch what they wanted to. We had a kitchenette but didn't cook. The restaurants were near by just as the shopping was. There were no hidden charges and the place was priced well. I was surprised that the Old Town Inn wasn't mentioned in the 2013 Fodor's. As a last note, I would like to add that we went to Carlsbad for business the last 4 days of our trip and stayed in a plush and very beautiful resort that was substantially more money and in our opinion our stay at the Old Time Inn superseded them in many ways. Our room was more comfortable, the customer service was outstanding and there was no hidden costs everytime you turned around. Old Town Inn is top notch with us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Stephanie,

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our hotel to be a great value. Value conscious customers like yourself usually find that our hotel offers more value for your money, and there are no hidden fees. Having no hidden fees keeps things simple for our guests, and for us. Here at the Old Town Inn, parking is free, wifi is free, and our continental breakfast is complimentary. As I tell guests on occasion, just about the only thing you pay extra for here at the Old Town Inn, is if you’d like to buy a bag of popcorn. We sell microwave popcorn and kettle corn at the front desk for only a dollar, and many of our guests buy a bag to go with one of our free DVD movie rentals. We even got some special Halloween movies this year for our guests to enjoy, and I think we'll be getting some special movies for the upcoming holidays as well!

I’m sorry to hear that your coffeepot was not working well; any time you have an issue we encourage you to call the front desk so that we can fix the problem. All of the employees here work hard to keep the hotel running smoothly, so that your room is very clean, and everything in your room and on the property is working properly. Our washers and dryers are very reasonably priced, and they stay pretty busy, so our maintenance department tries to make sure they are always in good working order. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, we really do appreciate it, and we hope to see you again soon.

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked this accommodation purely on the basis of good reviews and it delivered. The room we had upstairs was spacious - clean and nicely appointed. The staff at the desk were really happy and helpful. Location - walking distance to the historic (old town) area, tourist (hop on hop off) trams and public transport. Continental breakfast was good - and the hotel offers computer and printer in the lobby. I would say it was the best place we stayed - real value for money in San Diego. If there was any downside - I would say you need a car to get there in the first place - as it is tucked away a little bit - but otherwise - it was great.

Room Tip: Drive there - it is a bit tucked away - but once there everything else is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback, and would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Tripadvisor is all about guest satisfaction, and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality, and have done their research.


While we are only a five-minute walk to the Old Town Transit Station, I know there are some guests that wish we had shuttle service from the airport. We are a fairly small hotel with only 73 rooms, and we are only a block and half away from the Old Town Transit Station, so our guests can either take public transportation, or pick up a taxi at the airport if they prefer not to rent a car.


I’m glad you found our rooms and our breakfast to be to your liking, and that you found our hotel to be a great value for your money. We do want to make sure our guests start their day off right with a good meal, and our staff does their best to keep our continental breakfast well stocked throughout the breakfast hours. We would be happy to welcome you back to stay with us on your next visit to San Diego. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we know you have other choices for hotels in San Diego, and we’re proud to you found us to be the best place you stayed on your 7-week vacation.


Laura ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Been to San Diego many times before. This time I thought I would chance a hotel I had not heard of before. BOY, what a pleasant surprise! Altho the area is commercial it is so close to Old Town and easy access to get every where else in San Diego. The room we had had 2 queens and 2 sinks (a plus). Parking was free. Free breakfast ( juice, toast/bagels/rolls, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, fruit, coffee, and waffles)- enough to get you going for sure. Area is so close to shopping ( i.e Ralphs, Target, etc.) also. Fast food near by (In/out, BK, Mickey D's etc.) Sea world less than 2 miles, 3 miles to Mission Bay. Public transportation across the street to get downtown if you don't want to drive yourself. The hotel is not a chain and that is reflected in the care of the place and the service rendered. I highly recommend anyone staying here, families, solo travelers, couples and friends. The pool is small but has about 20 lounge chairs and 4 tables around it with a bar-b -que available also. Laundry facilities (a plus). I will recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are going on a cruise and need a night before trip this would work ( Note that the walk into old town is about .5 mile) but there are delivery places available or take a quick cab). Last tip - Rosecrans runs into Pacific Hwy.. if you take a right and go 2 blocks you are at the hotel. If at Pacific Hwy you go straight you are @ Old Town.
If leaving hotel to find Target/Ralphs or get back to Rosecrans- take a right out of parking lot, rt on Smith- rt on Kurtz and you will be back to Rosecrans.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz87120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Liz,

Thank you for your kind and informative review. We know many travelers tend to always stay with their favorite chain hotel because they have a fairly good idea of what they will get, and we’re always glad to hear that someone decided to take a chance on us, and ended up loving our little independent hotel. As you mentioned, we are located in a commercial / industrial area, but just a short walk into Old Town. Sometimes we get asked, “why is the hotel called the “Old Town Inn,” when you’re not “in” Old Town?” It is true, we are just outside the border of what most people call Old Town, but the way I look at it, our hotel was started back in the 1940s, so we got first pick at the name! This weekend our guests will be visiting Old Town for the Dia de los Muertos festivities, but you certainly don’t need a special occasion to go enjoy all the great restaurants and shops over in Old Town. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed there to be close to the Marine Base, We were within a few miles. We got a military discount and parking was free. Hotel was great, clean and bright. Staff was wonderful. Most helpful hosts I have seen for quite a while. Adequate breakfast. Pool looked good, but we didn't try it. Lots of great restaurants in old town with in walking distance. Great room delivery also. We would liked to have been able to stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinjim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great review on Tripadvisor and for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn. We all greatly appreciate and support everything our men and women in uniform do for our country. A lot of families (like yours) choose to stay at our hotel to attend the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) graduations because we are one of the closest hotels to MCRD, and also one of the most affordable. We are also just a short walk into the Old Town San Diego State Historic Park, with all the best Mexican restaurants and shops, and a 5 minute walk to public transportation, which can take you wherever you need to go in San Diego.

We take great pride in our service and work to provide a fun getaway for our military families when visiting MCRD. We are surrounded by many fun things to do, from the beautiful beaches, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and lots of great shopping. Our awesome staff would be more than happy to help you plan your day the next time you stay with us at the Old Town Inn. Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn to be a stop on your trip to see your family member graduate from boot camp. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully you will be able to stay longer on your next visit to San Diego.

Mike ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Travelled to San Diego from the UK for a wedding and this hotel was recommended by the happy couple and we were not disappointed. The reception staff were excellent so helpful nothing was too much trouble. We were a party of four ladies and had two double rooms, there were two double beds in each of our rooms and they were so comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the buffet breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to come back and stay again, as the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a few kind words regarding our lovely boutique hotel in Old Town San Diego. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers who may be reviewing your comments to assist their decision making process, based on real reviews from other travelers were to stay while on vacation or business. We are a small family owned hotel, with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. Yes! Unfortunately we are the only Old Town Inn in California, on the other hand we do have a sister property in San Diego the “BEST WESTERN LAMPLIGHTER” It is located in the college area. Both of our establishments will be able to assist you with reservations and provide you with the same clean, inviting atmosphere, quality, affordability, and great customer service for your accommodation.
With that being said there is no doubt in our mind we would like to welcome you back as a return guest on your next trip to San Diego. I want personally thank you for your business and love to welcome you back with open doors as we love to do.


* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Near to the Old Town Transit - bus, Amtrak trains, Trolley, State Parks and local restaurants. Very helpful staff and abosolutely brilliant breakfasts. Clean rooms and resonable prices- would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Alan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn, and for the compliments about our staff and our continental breakfast. I agree, our breakfast is brilliant! Our guests have a wide variety of items to choose from, including waffles, bagels and cream cheese, assorted pastries and muffins, steel cut oatmeal, apples and oranges, fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, 3 kinds of cold cereal, orange juice, and coffee. We also provide free wi-fi, and DVD movies and board games our guests can check out for free.

The Old Town Inn is just a short walk from Old Town, and for any of our guests that would like to take public transit, the Old Town Transit Station is about a five minute walk from our hotel, right on the edge of the Old Town San Diego State Historic Park. Our hotel staff is always working hard to keep the hotel looking stunning. Our everyday goal is making the guests feel at home. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write such a great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Cesar ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

this place is across the street from old town San Diego. A market is walking distance. Also it's a nice little walk to old town or a one minute drive. We arrived there late one night and there was only one room left. The staff was the nicest I've even met. They gave us a great discount on the room and let us park in restricted area because it was by our room. They went way out of their way to make us feel welcome. They also had a large free dvd collection to choose from.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Edward,

I want to thank you for the compliments about our staff and our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to keep the hotel at it’s best. We work hard every day to keep the Old Town Inn impeccable. We always try to make our guests feel as comfortable as they would in their own home. We provide free wifi, a delicious continental breakfast, we let you borrow DVD movies and family board games for free. We also have books you can borrow, and if you like one, you can take it home with you. We are just a short walk into Old Town, and even closer to public transit. I think public transit works especially well for some foreign travelers that are not used to driving on the right-hand side of the road, and would rather skip the experience and just relax during their stay in San Diego. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon.

Cesar ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
For the Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,258 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing