We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Free Parking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #20 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
495 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Location and Free Parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is only a ten minute walk from Old Town. So you can park your car for free, walk to Old Town or the transit center where you can get a trolley, bus or train to anywhere in San Diego.
The staff extremely nice and helpful. They even let us keep our car there after we had checked out, while we went to take a trolley tour of San Diego.
The breakfast was very good and included in the room rate. The room itself was well designed. There was plenty of space between the beds and the desk, unlike some hotels where one person can't walk past the person sitting at the desk. There were two separate sinks which is also very useful. And the outlet on the base of the lamp was the best! All hotels should have this feature. Guests nowadays always need to plug something in, and shouldn't have to bend down on the floor looking for an outlet under the desk or near the bed.
It is also great to be able to park your car right outside of your room, for moving your luggage and for keeping an eye on it.
Wonderfully designed hotel! I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear FunshineRN, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor,and we are delighted that you made the best choice to stay with us. We do appreciate the positive comments regarding our team and amenities the Old Town Inn San Diego offer, at no extra cost to our guest. Yes, we are proud to offer our guest with plenty of free parking, delicious continental breakfast (make your own waffle, fresh coffee, oatmeal, fruits, cereal, orange juice, boiled eggs and milk). When other neighborhood hotels, charge for parking and breakfast we are able to provide an exceptional value at an AAA2-damond hotel, with a five star hotel service, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, comfort, inviting atmosphere all at an affordable price. The Old Town Inn is definitely in a unique area, for a hotel. One benefit of being in a more industrial setting than a typical commercial setting is that it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I admit it may not be what people are used to, but the majority of our guests enjoy the conveniences of our property-short walk to the transit center, walk to the historic Old Town, 2 miles from Sea World, 3 miles from the Zoo, 3 miles to beaches, and 2 miles to Downtown San Diego and the Convention Center.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Old Town Inn, it was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we would be more than happy to have you stay with us again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *


Yours in Hospitality,
Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    600
    132
    30
    20
See reviews for
609
596
82
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

When I was researching hotels in San Diego I found most charge for parking and don't offer continental breakfast. Old Town Inn was one of the exceptions, it has free parking and a great breakfast! It is located near train tracks which is usually a down side because of noise, but despite having an outside door we could not hear the train at all. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Location is great, only a few blocks from Old Town and a quick drive to all the major San Diego attractions. Oh and the price was unbeatable! Had a great stay and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funshineRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much, for giving your honest opinion and the time taken to review the Old Town Inn San Diego. I would like to thank you for bringing up the point of our free parking. Yes! We are one of the few hotels that offer free parking while other hotels in the neighborhood charge $15.00 to $40.00 dollars per night. Based on our location, I definitely agree it is in a unique area, with an industrial setting than a typical commercial setting, it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I admit it may not be what people are used to, but the majority of our guests enjoy the convenience of our property-short walk to the transit center, which you can take the public transportation all around San Diego and a 10 min walk to the historical Old Town. We tend to rate highly with guests, who want to get the most for their, dollar, value, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality and have done their research.

We hope on your next visit to San Diego as our returned guest, we would like you to take advantage of our movie DVD library collection and the heated pool. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Old Town Inn San Diego. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we would be more than happy to have you stay with us again.


* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Nice clean motel room, pleasant staff, good service. Would stay at again. Restaurant recommendations from staff were good. There was a free video/ DVD rental service which was very useful. The breakfast included in our room rate was excellent.

Room Tip: Nice clean motel. Very pleasant staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Doug R, Thank you for your glowing comments, the team really appreciates hearing about our guest positive experiences. We take great pride in providing a clean and inviting atmosphere for our guests. We are delighted to know,that you enjoyed your, stay at the Old Town Inn. I am happy that, you enjoyed our complimentary DVD rental, by the way our DVD collection includes a variety of movies, “comedy, family, horror, romantic and more”. Just stop by the lobby, chose your movie and get popcorn for a $1.00 make it a movie night in your room. If you are not in the mood for a movie you can enjoy reading a book in front of our fire place at the lobby. We are happy that you enjoyed our delicious complimentary continental breakfast, with freshly made oatmeal, orange juice, waffle, muffins, fruit, fresh coffee and more. The Old Town Inn team work very hard to provide quality, affordability, great customer service. To make our guest experience memorable, and on your next visit to San Diego try our heated pool, which is kept 80 degrees every day.

We are thankful for your feedback and for choosing the Old Town Inn San Diego for your accommodation.

*Book Direct with Us-For the Best Service, Selection and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Cesar Garcia | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Town Inn. The room was immaculate and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I even asked if they had other properties in California so I could book them, but unfortunately only in San Diego. No doubt in my mind, if I am ever in San Diego, we will be staying at Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a few kind words regarding our lovely boutique hotel in Old Town San Diego. We greatly appreciate you sharing with other travelers, who may be reviewing your comments to assist their decision making process, based on real reviews from other travelers were to stay while on vacation or business. We are a small family owned hotel, with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. Yes! Unfortunately we are the only Old Town Inn in California, on the other hand we do have a sister property in San Diego the “Best Western Lamplighter”. It is located in the college area. Both of our establishments will be able to assist you with reservations and provide you with the same clean, inviting atmosphere, quality, affordability, and great customer service for your accommodation. With that being said there is no doubt in our mind we would like to welcome you back as a return guest on your next trip to San Diego.
I want personally thank you for your business and love to welcome you back with open doors as we love to do.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The room was small, but comfortable (stayed in "bungalow"). The clerks were nice and accommodating. We were there for a Marine Corp. graduation so the location was great. We didn't spend much time in the room, but had no complaints while there. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tres814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for sharing your review with the trip advisor community. Congratulations on your new marine, and please thank him for serving our country. With our location being a short 5 min car ride to MCRD our location, as you mentioned was great. I’m glad to hear you found our front desk clerks friendly and accommodating throughout your stay. I believed you stayed in one of our “Economy” rooms, our original circa 1950 rooms. These rooms are the only original rooms in the hotel, and yes, they are older. Some of our guests think these rooms are small, however, others ask for them. The aptly named economy room is perfect for the budget conscious traveler, and is a good value.

On your next trip to San Diego, you may want to try out our Standard & deluxe rooms we have.
You could choose from rooms with kitchenette to full kitchen, or even go all out in our Jacuzzi suite. You can also check out our nice outdoor heated pool, we have a BBQ grill by the pool that you and your family can enjoy. On the cooler nights you can sit in our lounge lobby area and enjoy a cup of coffee by our fireplace. You can also check out our Free DVD collections we have available, along with board games.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future!

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Jacuzzi suite and loved it! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic! The Jacuzzi room had a fireplace and an amazing shower as well. The grounds are well maintained as well. We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write comments on TripAdvisor to share with other readers to review our Inn in Old Town San Diego. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Deluxe Jacuzzi Suite. As you mentioned it is fantastic, equipped with a king size bed, sofa sitting area, Jacuzzi tub, waterfall shower, fireplace etc. On your next visit you might want to check out our complimentary DVD collection we have available at the front desk. It's one of our many amenities we offer, at no charge to the guest, such as WI-FI, deluxe continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and plenty of parking plus more.

We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2- diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. Our housekeeping & maintenance crew works hard every day to keep our rooms and grounds fresh and uptight every day. I'm glad to hear we competed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations and comfort, all at an affordable price.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, we are thankful for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed at the Old Town Inn on several trips to San Diego and have always left happier than when we arrived. The reservation and check-in are easy, friendly and efficient and the room rates are reasonable, especially with our AAA discount. The rooms are clean and roomy. We enjoy the amenities which include free WiFi, a computer in the lobby, videos and games to borrow, a breakfast which is more than just processed carbohydrates, a swimming pool and barbecue grill, etc. On the rare occasion when we have needed assistance (directions, spare rollaway bed), the staff was helpful and made sure we had exactly what we needed. The woman who manages the breakfast area even remembered that my son liked a particular breakfast product and made sure she had it available for him! Although we are semi-local, we also enjoy the opportunity to meet visitors from other countries or other parts of the U.S. I love that it is so close to Old Town (I can enjoy a nice dinner with margaritas and walk back to the hotel) and convenient access to the trolley. We take the trolley to Qualcomm or PETCO Park and avoid the hassle of driving. Free parking and proximity to Sea World are also a plus. On our most recent visit, Old Town Inn was almost sold out and I panicked, as no other place comes close to my idea of a perfect place for our family to stay. Luckily, there was one more room at the Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenStellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow!! You have summed up our hotel in a nut shell. We thank you so very much for taking the time to review us in such a detailed way. It is a pleasure having you and your family as returning guests, and we are so glad to hear that you leave our hotel every time with a wonderful experience. We believe that it is the little things that count, and we as a hotel like to focus on these seemingly little things in order to provide our guests with the best possible stay. Whether it’s knowing what our guests want out of their stay (or their breakfast!), providing genuine hospitality to every guest, or finding the most comfortable mattresses and pillows for our beds, we always put our guests first.

We are a small hotel with an open-mind, and a true dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly, and very clean. We appreciate your loyalty to us, and we are so happy to be your number one choice in San Diego! It truly an honor to have our guest mention that they cannot stay at any other hotel besides ours.

I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you while almost on a sold out night. We appreciate the opportunity to serve your family and provide you with only the best hospitality. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location. We want our guests to be able to get around San Diego quickly and easily, whether it be a walk to old town, taking the trolley all around San Diego, or going to see a football or baseball game.

We can’t thank you enough for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate your feedback and loyalty. On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we thank you and hope to see you back here soon!
Thank You again!!!!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing