We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,024)
Filter reviews
2,024 results
Traveller rating
1,163
670
139
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,163
670
139
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseconomy roompacific highwaytransit centerhard boiled eggsdvd playercontinental breakfastsea worldmake your own wafflestrolley stationheated poolfamily suitewithin walking distancewaffle makergreat place to stayclean roomsqueen bednice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
854 - 859 of 2,024 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at The Old Town Inn in January 2014 and had three different rooms as we had three different families with us. It was a great experience! This is a bargain for the area and the staff is hard working and very friendly! Our request for rooms right next to each other was easily accommodated (we had asked ahead of time). FYI, the front desk offers discounted tickets to some of the local attractions, one being Sea World, which would have saved us some if we hadn't already bought them online before arriving. The front desk staff offers any suggestions and the hotel is in a nice location, very close to Old Town. When in San Diego, we would definitely stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Cazadores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind review, we truly appreciate your recommendation! We've had a great run of reviews lately, and we want to make sure our traveling friends understand who we are. We want to be honest about what makes us successful, and also about what you might not like. We are a friendly, AAA two diamond hotel, and like any hotel, we have pros and cons:

The Good -
• We rank highly in cleanliness.
• Lots of free amenities – WiFi, parking, breakfast, DVD players, free DVD rental library, coffee and tea service all day.
• We have beautifully landscaped grounds, and a tropical, relaxing pool area.
• Customer service and genuine hospitality are very important to us.
• Our rooms are comfortable, with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, and lots of comfy pillows.
• New flatscreen TV’s.
• Family owned and operated.
• Central and convenient location – 10 min walk to Old Town and Old Town Transit Center, 2 ½ miles from Sea World.

The Other Stuff -
• We are located in an industrial area, adjacent to Old Town State Park.
• We’re on a busy road, and some guests are sensitive to the noise.
• Some of our rooms are original, circa 1950, (our economy rooms). Some guests think these rooms are small, others love them.
• Our location is unique. I always say, “We’re nowhere, but right next door to everywhere.” (It’s true!)

We encourage our future guests to do their research. We want our guests to be satisfied. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we are rated highly by those who appreciate value, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality.

Yours in Hospitality,
John Lyon
Proud Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here our first night in California after flying in to San Diego. We were just going to be passing through on a drive up the Pacific Coast Highway. We picked this hotel because it was not expensive and the parking was free. Many of the hotels in the area charge for parking. The hotel was reasonably close to Old Town which was one area we wanted to visit. It was really attractive from the outside. We found it to be very charming in every way. The customer service was awesome. The staff was friendly and offered dining suggestions when we asked. The room was clean and comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The next morning, the complimentary breakfast was really good. We expected maybe danishes and coffee but it was a full breakfast on real china not paper plates. This was a great way to start off our vacation. If I ever get to go back to San Diego, I will stay at the Old Town Inn again and I highly recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast, free parking, and comfortable beds. After much deliberation, we chose the Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattresses for our beds because we know that comfort, quality, and a good night’s sleep are very important to our guests. I am happy to know that you had a good nights sleep and found the rooms comfortable and clean.

Our company culture is about cleanliness, genuine hospitality, value, and quality. I hope that you received all of these qualities that we strive to uphold for our guests. We thank you for your feedback and compliments; all feedback we receive helps us to understand what our guests want out of their stay. It is important to us to know what we can do to make our future guests’ stays just as comfortable and enjoyable as your own, and when you return, we want your stay to be just as good or better than last time!

Thank you for your recommendation! It was an honor to be of service to you and your friends, and we hope to see you again soon at the Old Town Inn.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed 3 days at this hotel after looking it up on TripAdvisor. Laura, who did the booking for me was so extremely kind and helpful that I felt she was a long time friend.The others were very friendly too. The location is nera perfect: close to DownTown on a main thoroughfare inthe Old Town district within walking distance of many shopping centers and great restauarants of all different ethnicities. Parking and internet is free and the dining room allows you to bring your own food and eat it there with some friends if you so wished, everything is ckean and neat and uncluttered.
The Landscaping is very nice with beautiful begonias and various shrubs and bushes giving the place a look somewhat that of an English cottage.
The breakfast was simple but good: Steel cut oatmeal cooked perfectly and all kinds of breads and fruits and juices. Bananas missing and no fresh omlettes.
The rooms are simple but quite large and the beds are very good: as good as any 5 star hotel. The comforters need to be thicker IMO though no one else felt like me. Also, except for a shampoo and soap nothing was provided.
Downtown is closeby and many restaurants can deliver take out.
We had a very comfortable and cozy, peaceful stay. Parking is free!

Room Tip: Very good value for the money and very nice and helpful staff: over and above what is normal. Very clean and comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakirak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Shakirak, Thank you so much for your honest feedback, it was my pleasure being able to assist you and your family with your reservations. I am delighted to know you and your family had a very pleasant experience with your stay, here at the Old Town Inn San Diego. Our main goal is to provide a 100 percent outstanding customer service. We are a small boutique hotel with a single minded, dedication with a consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, with friendly atmosphere clean rooms and surrounding grounds. Our hard working housekeeping staff takes great pride to make sure our rooms are clean and detailed to make our guest feel at home. Thank you for mentioning same of our complimentary amenities, we offer at the Old Town Inn, and on your next visit you and your family can take a swim in our heated pool, and have an enjoyable family barbecue meal by using the grill at the pool area.

It was a pleasure to read, all your family members enjoyed their stay and we would like to welcome you and your family back to our Inn on your next family reunion to San Diego Old Town

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I found this wonderful hotel when surfing the web for accommodations in San Diego. Having never been to the city, I was unfamiliar with the area and was a little hesitant about the location.

From the minute you arrive, you feel absolutely at home. The staff are amazing. Very welcoming and accommodating. The property is immaculately kept, as are the rooms. There is a variety of accommodation available, from the regular motel room to the small suites. Everything is up-to-date and comfortable. There is an outdoor pool and patio area, with a barbeque if you wish to use it. There is a lovely continental breakfast each day, included in your stay.

Turns out it is in a perfect location, right at Old Town San Diego. The highway exit is close by (but you don't hear a sound), as well as the Old Town Transit Centre (2 minute walk), which gives you access to the Pacific Surfliner/Amtrack, The Coaster Train, the San Diego Trolley (LRT train for the city), and numerous city Bus routes. Old Town is right on the door step, with the history as well as numerous restaurants.

The staff is what really makes your stay. I travel for a living, and I am very impressed with the level of professionalism and enthusiasm. Many of the 'so-called' high end hotels/resorts could learn much from these people. The reception staff should be receiving commission from the San Diego Department of Tourism! Anything you need to know, they have the answer, or will get it for you. They have compiled a mini-guide of the area and all the attractions, as well as driving, transit and walking information. Not many hotel concierges have as much knowledge. The breakfast and housekeeping staff also go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

We originally booked in for 1 night, but ended up staying 6 nights. On our next trip to San Diego, we plan to return to the Old Town Inn and would recommend it to everyone, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rollaboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review, the Old Town Inn San Diego, and for the honest feedback, about your experience at our Hotel. I am so glad you found the hotel unique, despite being hesitant about the location. Sometimes guest tend to find us somehow odd, because of our industrial location, surprisingly during their stay find it very convenient, of how close we are to the public transit, the historical Old Town, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, beaches, Downtown Gaslamp, shops and the friendly warm welcoming atmosphere, which make our guest feel at home.
On the other hand it was great, you found it easy to see what San Diego has to offer by taking the public transportation, I have to agree, with you it is an easy way to get around town, without having to deal with the hassle of finding parking, dealing with traffic and getting lost.
We do provide a guide handout which gives walking and driving directions step by step, while going around town, to assist you to get to your destination. On behalf of the front desk staff, thank you so much for the kind comments, about our customer service. We all are very happy here as a staff, nothing makes us more happy than going above and beyond in assisting our guest by providing them with the up most outstanding customer service. Our company culture is to provide, quality, affordability and great customer service to our guest. We value our guest and care about their concerns, opinions, and view of point. We therefore tank you, and if in need to come back to San Diego and wish to stay for more than a week, we sometimes do have weekly specials. We know, not everyone can see all of San Diego in just a few days. So on that note, we welcome you back with open doors, whenever headed back to San Diego, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you and your family at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I had a wonderful stay (2 Queen Bed/Refrig in room), for two (2) nights in Jan. 2014. I was well pleased, reasonable pricing, immaculate room, and nice "extras" i. e., Breakfast bar, computer/printer in hotel lobby to print next day boarding-pass. I highly recommend.

Sincerely,
Indiana Traveler

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TERRENCE Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate the time taken to review us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback and input really help so many with others who travel and review Trip Advisor. Most important, you enjoyed yourselves during your visit with us, at the Old Town Inn San Diego. Many of our guests have complemented us on how large and clean our rooms are and the extra complimentary amenities we offer. On your next visit try our heated pool, to relax and enjoy a nice swim, after that rent a movie DVD and popcorn for a $1.00 or a board game, to have a family time together. Yes! These and much more to do here at the Old Town Inn, and It’s our privilege to care for our visitors while visiting San Diego. Trip Advisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guest who wants to get the most for their dollar, value, cleanliness, and appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.
Thank you again for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor for others to read while exploring options to stay while visiting San Diego. We look forward, on your next visit, to San Diego in the near future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews