We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in San Diego”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very nice hotel, reasonable prices, staff was very friendly, breakfast bar was good, rooms were clean, very big and equipped, we got a kitchen room but never got to use the kitchen. Free parking internet, computer and printer are available at the lobby. We would stay there again if we get to San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the awesome review and compliments, with so many other comments similar to yours, really help others who travel and review Trip Advisor for reasonable value, cleanliness, friendly atmosphere and service. Most important, our entire staff strives to make our guests vacations complete and feel at home. Our guest enjoy their stay even more in our deluxe rooms with a kitchenettes, expanded bathrooms and we do provide dishes dinnerware for this rooms, upon request, specially for families, who want to cut cost for dinning out every day. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, try our beautiful Jacuzzi suite with contemporary décor, warm colors and comfortable space to unwind. We do offer so many free amenities at the Old Town Inn; you can relax around the poolside or enjoy the barbecue grill with friends, family for lunch or dinner gatherings. Enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in the lobby by the fire place and stay connected with wireless or use the computer at the lobby.

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation in Old Town San Diego, we do understand you have many choices when it comes to hotel stay in San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,904)
There are newer reviews for Old Town Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked completely blind but what a choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room clean and quiet. A good selection at breakfast. The buildings are set in pleasant grounds with a lovely warm pool. Washers and driers are available if needed.
The hotel is a comfortable stroll to a transport hub with trolley buses, buses and even the main line railway. Without a car we were able to travel into the main area of San Diego easily and cheaply. We caught the Silver Surfer to L.A. and a shuttle to LAX. A great way to travel without any hassle.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no fridge or micro wave. Best to check and state your requirements
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy091143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. Our company culture is based on cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations and comfort all an affordable price. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our free amenities. Thank you for mentioning our central location, we love that our guest can travel around San Diego conveniently and quickly. As you have mentioned, we are a short walk (2.5 blocks) to the main transit center where you can catch the trolley, bus, Amtrak, and also the coaster, which is very convenient for guests traveling without a vehicle. This may also avoid the hassle of driving and having to look for parking at any location you would wish to visit.

On your next visit you might want to check out, our complimentary DVD collection we have available at the front desk. It’s of our many amenities we offer, at no charge to the guest, such as WI-FI, deluxe continental breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and plenty of parking plus more.

It was a pleasure reading your review, and we greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have stayed at the Old Town Inn for several years on an annual trip to San Diego. Compared to other hotels of the same quality, this is a bargain for most travellers. It's a very friendly place with pleasant landscaping, a pool, good breakfast bar, and nice decor even though it's not in the middle of the touristy areas (though close to Old Town). It's extremely well kept, with a choice of several kinds of rooms, including a family suite.

Room Tip: "Deluxe" rooms are in the newer addition. Regular rooms are in the older part of the hote...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I have to admit, you had us a bit worried when we saw the three stars, but after we read your review and realized that you were happy with your stay, our feeling of worry turned into happiness. I am so glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you once more with the quality, friendliness, cleanliness and value that we strive to provide to every guest staying at the Old Town Inn.

We truly appreciate your compliments of our lush grounds, pleasant landscaping, relaxing pool area, and yummy breakfast bar. Everyone, from housekeeping to maintenance, to the front desk staff here at Old Town Inn, has worked hard to make these amenities available with the quality that you, our guests, deserve.

Thank you for continuing to stay at the Old Town Inn during your yearly trip to San Diego. We appreciate your loyalty, and we hope that we can make your stay a better one each and every time you return. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The Old Town Inn is clean, comfortable and has a great staff. This hotel is walking distance to Old Town and to the metro so for $8.00 you can jump on the metro (red Trolly ) and it takes you to all the spots all day long. I've used this hotel a few time and it's been great.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for being a loyal Old Town Inn customer. We appreciate you choosing us every time you visit San Diego and we are thrilled, to have you as a returned guest, I do agree the location being so close to Old Town and the metro, our guest find it easy, to commute around San Diego on public transportation system. We do appreciate the positive comments regarding our cleanliness and the outstanding staff service; we are thrilled to read the staff is always able to make your stay enjoyable.

The Old Town Inn staff really appreciates your support, and we look forward to see you next time you are in San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I come to SD regularly to visit family, and have been looking for a good hotel where I can stay in comfort without breaking the bank. This is it! The rooms are affordable, scrupulously clean, and well kept up. The hotel personnel are wonderful and go out of their way to help. Nice pool, pretty grounds, free parking, above average breakfast. I'm kicking myself for the $$ I have spent on impersonal hotels on SD's Hotel Row and for cramped quarters in PB.

As others have noted, the Inn is on Pacific Beach Highway and a bit of a walk to get to Old Town. The Inn may work best for you if you have a car available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IDK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. It’s an honor and privilege to take care of our guest here in the beautiful Old Town Inn. The staff is more than delighted to be your hosts every time you visit your family in San Diego. It’s unfortunate; you did not find us sooner, before you had spent so much of your money at the San Diego Hotel row chains. We are delighted to have you as a valued customer, and every time, you stay with us, you can enjoy our heated pool, all the incredible amenities we offer for free to our guest. Most important, we pride ourselves on cleanliness and great staff interaction, rates can always be helpful, when choosing accommodations in great location, value and service, that’s why so many choose the Old Town Inn for their destination for short or long term stay.

Please invite your friends and family as we’d enjoy, having more and more visitors from Seattle Washington. We hope that each time you visit, you will find something new to discover in Old Town San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

GREAT HOTEL! Small, manicured grounds, the staff is truly hospitable in every sense of the word. Free and great wifi, tons of free parking, flat screen tv's with "deluxe" cable, DVD PLAYER in the rooms and a library of videos in the lobby, truly within walking distance to Old Town, close to the mass transit station, great free breakfast--better than expected, clean rooms. Have been here 5 days and love this property and am posting this because, as cared for and as well staffed as this place is, I do NOT want to see it start to get bad reviews by travelers who did not do their homework! OK---this place is NOT going to make everyone happy. It is ON THE PACIFIC COAST HIGHWAY. Which is very industrial and utilitarian, a nice way of saying ugly, ok? To GET to Old Town you have to walk one block UP the PCH, cross the HWY, then walk under the freeway and across the mass transit station and a huge parking lot. Yes. There are a few HARMLESS homeless people in that walk, ok? But everything is well lit, super busy even at 10pm, and SAFE......additionally, this is NOT a 4 star hotel. It isn't. It is a SOLID 2-3 star. The grounds, again, are immaculate. The staff seems to LOVE their job. I asked for early check in and GOT IT and have done so with 5 stars and not had that granted. The rooms are small. The bedding is not deluxe. There are plastic cups in the room, not glasses and you GET complimentary mid-range toiletries but they are not replenished every day (should you use them or hoard them as souveniers as I do!). Some rooms have a fridge and micro, some do not SO ASK! The a/c-heat unit is updated but residential and small and not very effective either way (this is San Diego, doesn't really NEED to be but one night was cool and one day was a little warm and.....), there is no free airport shuttle and the rooms are small. Most all have NOTHING which could be called a "view" although the grounds themselves are very well landscaped and very well maintained. NOTHING in OLD TOWN has good access to any sort of convenience store for water, snacks, toiletries and actually although the walk TO any establishment from HERE would seem very URBAN, ahem, it is actually as close as any to these amenities. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY! BUT IF YOU ARE THINKING OF BOOKING YOU NEED TO REALIZE YOU HAVE AN UGLY-ISH URBAN (SAFE!) WALK to Old Town and this is CLEAN, UPGRADED/UPDATED, but not a 4 star! Do your homework. Bank the $30-50 you will save nightly over the Hacienda or the Fairfield and spend it in Old Town! Just understand the location is ugly, the property is great, and this is not a 4 star (nor really pretends to be).

Room Tip: There are NO VIEWS to speak of. There are 3 small buildings, one is 3 floor, 1 is 1 floor and 1 is 2...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ElPorteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis D, Assistant to Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for the great and candid review and for “getting us!” We struggle with this, we know who we are, but sometimes it’s hard to set the right expectations. You’re right, we are not a 4 star hotel, and we don’t pretend to be. We are a modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Many times I have heard guests say that our customer service is 4-star quality, in that, we tend to agree, we think our staff really is the best!

The Old Town Inn is in a light industrial area, we can’t do much about our location, but the benefit is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions. We like to joke that though we’re nowhere, we’re next door to everywhere!

I recently came back from my own vacation, at times we encountered some snags, but at the places where people gave their utmost to fix whatever problem we had, or went out of their way to show us their best, those snags were just minor inconveniences. When we came across great customer service, it reminded me of the people who I personally have the pleasure of working with. From our front desk staff, our housekeepers, our maintenance personnel, to our landscaper, every single team member goes out of their way to offer the best of themselves to our guests. Our positive reviews on TripAdvisor and other review sites are a reflection of our commitment to provide quality, affordability, and genuine hospitality to our guests.

Thank you again for your review!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Lis
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at The Old Town Inn in January 2014 and had three different rooms as we had three different families with us. It was a great experience! This is a bargain for the area and the staff is hard working and very friendly! Our request for rooms right next to each other was easily accommodated (we had asked ahead of time). FYI, the front desk offers discounted tickets to some of the local attractions, one being Sea World, which would have saved us some if we hadn't already bought them online before arriving. The front desk staff offers any suggestions and the hotel is in a nice location, very close to Old Town. When in San Diego, we would definitely stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Cazadores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind review, we truly appreciate your recommendation! We've had a great run of reviews lately, and we want to make sure our traveling friends understand who we are. We want to be honest about what makes us successful, and also about what you might not like. We are a friendly, AAA two diamond hotel, and like any hotel, we have pros and cons:

The Good -
• We rank highly in cleanliness.
• Lots of free amenities – WiFi, parking, breakfast, DVD players, free DVD rental library, coffee and tea service all day.
• We have beautifully landscaped grounds, and a tropical, relaxing pool area.
• Customer service and genuine hospitality are very important to us.
• Our rooms are comfortable, with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, and lots of comfy pillows.
• New flatscreen TV’s.
• Family owned and operated.
• Central and convenient location – 10 min walk to Old Town and Old Town Transit Center, 2 ½ miles from Sea World.

The Other Stuff -
• We are located in an industrial area, adjacent to Old Town State Park.
• We’re on a busy road, and some guests are sensitive to the noise.
• Some of our rooms are original, circa 1950, (our economy rooms). Some guests think these rooms are small, others love them.
• Our location is unique. I always say, “We’re nowhere, but right next door to everywhere.” (It’s true!)

We encourage our future guests to do their research. We want our guests to be satisfied. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we are rated highly by those who appreciate value, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality.

Yours in Hospitality,
John Lyon
Proud Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,225 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £78 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing