We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #10 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As we drove to the hotel, I didn't think I would like the location it was a bit seedy however as we pulled in it completely surprised me. It's a little tucked in hideaway not too big not too small just right. Check in was nice and easy very clean, people were nice.
Extended Continental breakfast was great kid friendly. No problem at all, the only thing I will say is that the desk didn't mention the $100 refundable deposit at check in. Other than that a very pleasant stay for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Cynthia P - Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review about our hotel, and how pleased you were with your visit here at the Old Town Inn. I’m happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised to find that we’re a clean, beautiful, and inviting hotel.

As you mentioned, our neighborhood is a little different, we are surrounded by a few larger industrial businesses, once you get past that, the majority of our guests realize how centrally located we are to most of San Diego’s major attractions. We get a lot of repeat guests due to our convenient location, our reasonable prices, our clean and comfortable rooms, and our consistent efforts to give the best service possible to all of our guests. We are a modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Every team member, from the owner, to the managers, to our housekeeping team, to our maintenance crew to our landscaper, we all take great pride in making sure our guests are taken care of.

In regards to the $100 refundable deposit, we only ask of this from our guests who are paying cash. It is to cover any incidentals that may come up. If there are none, then the complete deposit is given back upon check-out. If paying by credit card, a deposit is not required.

We are happy to know it was a great delight in your stay here at the Old Town Inn; I hope you and your family enjoyed a swim in our heated pool. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guests, if you return for another visit, be sure to book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites. Like some of our deluxe rooms that are equipped with mini-fridge and microwave or our rooms with kitchenettes.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,919 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, is truly in the middle of everything. Can find about any attraction within just about a 10 mile radius. Public transportation very close. Clean rooms, nice breakfast, and very friendly staff. :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. The Old Town Inn, team and the rest of other guests agree great location with easy access and close to all major attractions in San Diego. We are delighted to know your experience was enjoyable and you found the amenities to be a great fit for you.

The Old Town Inn is so perfect for those willing to adventure out and about San Diego, by public transportation, car or a 5 minute walk to the historical Old Town. We provide a free continental breakfast every morning from 6 am-10 am that includes waffles that you make yourself, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of cold cereal, bagels with the topping of butter and syrup, Danishes, muffins and croissants with the topping of butter, fresh fruit as well as cocktail fruit, wheat and white bread with the toppings of butter, jelly and peanut butter, instant oatmeal with the toppings of brown sugar, raisins, chocolate sprinkles and cinnamon powder. Free, fresh lemon water, decaf and regular coffee, tea and fruit until 11 pm every night in our lobby. Our lobby is open 24/7 if a guest has any questions, concerns or late check INS.

Thank you, again for your glowing comments, regarding our Inn in Old Town San Diego. You got to experience first-hand the value of knowing our staff members and our capabilities to offer “Great Customer Service”. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our deluxe rooms that have a bathtub with two queen beds also available with mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen or a room with a king size bed, sofa siting area, mini fridge and microwave. The Old Town Inn is a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value.

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your accommodations in San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent one night in San Diego to visit Old Town June 26 2014 (me/my husband/17 yr old daughter), I was a little hesitant to not stay in "downtown" Old Town but the Old Town Inn was a great place to stay. About a 10 minute walk to Old Town, as I questioned the receptionist about the walk especially after 11:00pm (our haunted tour) she advised us that it was safe and well lit, which it was! The room was clean, the bed and pillow were comfortable, coffee maker, hairdryer, and free breakfast in the morning (make your own waffles, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, muffins) it was great! We already recommended to family in the Laguna Niguel area and they already have it booked for a night when they visit Sea World. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarteeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your exceptional review, It's awesome to read such a positive comments from one of our valued guest. We are thrilled that at the end your choice to stay at the Old Town Inn made a distressing situation a little more bearable for you and your family. We are delighted to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and the staff members met all your expectations and found your experience worth five star.

We are happy to be able to offer complimentary breakfast, WFI, DVD rental, free parking and great value, were many of our competitors does not have this flexibility.

Thank you again, for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities and service the Old Town Inn San Diego provides. It is awesome, for your recommendation to your family in Laguna Niguel to stay with us on their next adventure to Sea World San Diego and we look forward to meet them soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! * 

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent 
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

July 9th 2014. Room 306. Just arrived two hours ago. Went for a swim after a long drive. Water very cloudy. Way too much chlorine in the pool. Our eyes are BLOOD RED and burning tonight. Room clean. Neighbors loud and banging on the floor. Loud voices coming through the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis D, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest – We test our chlorine levels every morning. When we read this review, we immediately tested our levels again and checked the log we keep daily to see the levels from the day before, everything tested within the levels that are required by city ordinance. We are very sorry for the problem you experienced, but from our testing, we couldn’t find anything wrong with our chlorine levels.

We do apologize for the noise you experienced from another guest. We suggest that if you experience undue commotion from another guest, please notify the front desk staff as we will contact the loud guests and politely ask that they bring the noise down.

We are thankful that you noticed our clean rooms. We believe our housekeeping staff is one of the best around. They are hardworking and dedicated.

We are an independent and modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We strive to please our patrons, when we do not meet our guests’ expectations, we take it very seriously. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Lis | Customer Service
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We usually stay with friends when we visit but their was "no room at the inn" for us this time. Another friend recommended Old Town Inn and I was glad I listened. The price was right and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in and out was quick and efficient and all questions and concerns were dealt with kindly and professionally. Being able to walk to Old Town and catch the trolley was great and not having to pay for parking at my hotel was even better! I was worried about noise from the airport but we never heard a single airplane. The breakfast buffet was delicious - food was fresh and there was a nice variety of food. We were in SD for five days for a wedding so it was nice to have access to the DVD and game library for some down time. The Old Town Inn will be our back up any time there is "no room at the inn" for us and will definitely be the place I recommend to others!

Room Tip: We stayed in the center building which is single story - we never heard a sound from the other resid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Marlene D, Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor, your comments help others to determine where to or not to stay, when you share; others listen and determine based on real reviews from other travelers where to stay while on business or on vacation.

In your case, we greatly appreciate your friend recommended you to stay with us at the Old Town Inn. You are absolutely correct; it’s all about the friendly and professional “front line staff members”, clean quiet comfortable room, location, free parking, great breakfast and good value, which makes all the difference.

It’s wonderful to read you had a pleasant stay here at the Old Town Inn San Diego and we hope you have the opportunity to return again into the near future when there is no room at your friends Inn.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very much enjoyed our stay. Trolley station very close and it made gettting around very easy, to where we wanted to go. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little crowded and crazy at times and a fridge in the room would have been nice. All in all we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for the great review, regarding the Old Town Inn. Our front desk team members appreciate your feedback. The front desk team and the rest of our guests agree great location with easy access and close to all major attractions in San Diego. We are delighted to know your experience was enjoyable and you found the amenities to be a great fit for you.

We greatly apologize; you did not get a room with a fridge, on your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website; like our deluxe rooms that have a bath tub with two queen beds also available with mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen or a room with a king size bed sofa sitting area mini fridge and microwave.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

WE decided to skip Disneyland this year, " moaning from the kids " One of the places my wife and I went to celebrate our 50th Anniversary in 2013 was Sea World San Diego. It's been years since we've been there and decided we would take our grand kids and great grand kids and parents. My oldest daughter is an educator and thought she had to be back in Tucson on a particular day, but she found out she did not have to. The reservations for 3 rooms and 2 nights there at Old town Inn were made in February for May 30 thru June 1st . I called Anna 2 days before we were expected to arrive to ask her if we could have accomodations for an extra night.
As she put it," let me wave my magic wand " NO PROBLEM !!! They always put out the red carpet for us and thats why so many travelers stay there and all there rooms are occupied. Fantastic atmosphere, breakfast, maids, rooms, staff, especially Anna and the manager Beatrice.
My wife loves it so much that she would take a drive to San Diego just to stay there.
The location is centrally located to everything, the trolley, Old Town, restaurants, shopping centers, etc.

Room Tip: When we have the grand children with us on some trips we stay in the Bungalow, just steps from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Louie C, Welcome back to the Old Town Inn San Diego, it is always great to have you and your wife as our guest, and to hear how we have been consistent in providing great service again and again. Thank you for mentioning two of our valued associates. The rest of the front desk team feels the same way. They are awesome! I am delighted that Anna and Beatriz were able to take care of your request for the additional night stay. They are very important to the great customer service we provide.

Thank you for your continued support and of course your business. I am so glad that you and your family decided to skip Disneyland and decided to take your, daughter and grand kids to Sea World. I hope you bought your Sea World tickets at the front desk, which we sale discounted to our guest, instead of paying the full price at the entrance.

Wow, that is awesome! To know how much your wife loves to stay with us at the Old Town Inn. It show how serious we are about customer service and how we take great pride in making sure that our guests are taken care of. I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us every time you are in San Diego and we were able to deliver again and again.

It was a great pleasure to have had you and your family as our guest again, and we look forward to see you soon again at the Old Town Inn lobby.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,261 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing