We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home-base”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great home-base”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for a resort-type vacation and are planning on spending a lot of time at the hotel, then the Old Town Inn is not what you are looking for. However, it is a wonderful home-base for exploring San Diego. Our room was clean and spacious and staff were very helpful when answering questions about sights and transportation around San Diego. The Old Town Inn was central and provided easy access to Old Town, public transportation, etc.... It is in an industrial area, but one inside the grounds, it is safe and comfortable. They offered the best breakfast that we had on our entire trip. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Brantfort- Thank you for the wonderful review, We are a modest, family-owned AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, we are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we are rated highly by those who appreciate value, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality.

We are happy to know it was a great delight in your stay here at the Old Town Inn from the clean, spacious room and the outstanding staff service. We have an amazing frond desk team that is ready to pour out, with all the information you need from directions, to restaurant recommendations, and things to see. I believe we have an answer to just about anything.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel. We like to tell people that we are nowhere, but right next door to everywhere! I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be well located to easily get to everything in San Diego. One of the best attractions, Historic Old Town State Park, is a quick 10 minute walk from the Old Town Inn!

I do concur with you; our breakfast is great, every morning from 6 am-10 am that includes waffles that you make yourself, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of cold cereal, bagels with the topping of butter and syrup, Danishes, muffins and croissants with the topping of butter, fresh fruit as well as cocktail fruit, wheat and white bread with the toppings of butter, jelly and peanut butter, instant oatmeal with the toppings of brown sugar, raisins, chocolate sprinkles and cinnamon powder. Free, fresh lemon water, decaf and regular coffee, tea and fruit until 11 pm every night in our lobby.

On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we strive to offer the best personal service four our guest. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

Thank you again, for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. 

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! * 

Yours in Hospitality, 

Mike M| Front Desk Agent 
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    626
    134
    31
    21
See reviews for
643
629
87
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We liked our stay here very much. The staff were friendly and the hotel is well managed. Very clean, nice pool, good value. Worth noting that the hotel isn't in down town San Diego. It is in the Old town, the clue being in the name ! We were happy with that though and it's easy via public transport or personal vehicle to reach the city centre (only a few minutes away). 4.5.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeyopi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest-Thank you for your great comments on Trip Advisor regarding the Old Town Inn San Diego. I’m delighted to know that your experience was enjoyable at the Old Town Inn.
The Old Town Inn is quite, clean and comfortable for our guest to relax and enjoy well-earned moments of peace, while basking at the pool in the sun in Sunny San Diego California. I do concur, with you it’s all about the friendliness and professionalism of the “front line staff members” which makes all the difference and the owners take great pride in taking care of the property.

Our great location and easy access to the historical Old Town, and all the major attractions, freeways make it easy for exploring and adventure around town.

We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our deluxe rooms that have a bathtub with two queen beds also available with mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen or a room with a king size bed, sofa sitting area, mini fridge and microwave. The Old Town Inn is a small family own hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was the cheapest inn we stayed in our 2 weeks in California, and it is considered the best by my 9 years old daughter who liked its homely environment and nice breakfast. I like the price, the quiet atmosphere and the proximity to both Seaworld and downtown. Would be even better if in-room safety box is provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest- Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am happy that the staff here at the Old Town Inn San Diego made you and your family stay enjoyable and the accommodations was clean and comfortable. It is awesome to know how much the little one loved and enjoyed, while the grown-ups had a blast, at the beautiful Old Town Inn San Diego. We believe in treating our guest like family and our staff does an amazing job in welcoming every guest and make them feel at home. I do concur, with your daughter, the breakfast is delicious, especially the waffles, Danishes, cereals, the heated pool, free DVD rentals and more for the little ones.

We’re always glad to hear that our guests find our hotel to be a great value for their money. We are an AAA two-diamond property with a focus on providing great service and value at competitive prices. As you mentioned, our prices are much lower than any hotel in California during your travel. Our prices are also very competitive compared to the hotels on the eastern edge of the Old Town State Park.

I’m glad to hear our location was convenient for you and your family. We are within walking distance to the Old Town Transit Center, where you can catch public transportation to go to so many attractions throughout San Diego such as the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Gaslamp Quarter and a lot more.

We do provide safe box at the front desk for free to our guest, if one is needed. Thank you again, for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Easy to find and situated close to the airport. Across the road from the rail system so very easy to travel into San Diego shopping and restaurant areas etc. Walking distance to the old town area. Large rooms and very clean, separate bathroom and another vanity dressing area which was very handy. We were on the ground floor under the stairs and the room was dark. Could sit around the pool and in the lounge area.Friendly and very helpful staff, would recommend especially for families as breakfast was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest-Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our Trip Advisor community. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. I am glad to hear we completed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations and comfort, all at an affordable price.

We are within 10 min or less driving distance of the Zoo, Sea world, Airport, Balboa Park and some of San Diego’s beautiful beaches. We are less than a 5 min walk distance of the historic Old Town, where they have good restaurants with amazing food and the Presidio Park Serra Museum.

Our pool area is the perfect get away spot with chairs to lounge on, tables to sit and chat with friends and our pool is heated 80 degrees. This is a fun and relaxing zone our guest love, with tropical flowers that alien the fence

On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we strive to offer the best personal service four our guest. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

It was a great pleasure to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to see you soon again at the Old Town Inn lobby.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Gilda P| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at this marvellous Inn on 2 occasions during a recent holiday to the USA. The hotel is ideally situated near the Old Town and the transport hub. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very well appointed and clean. The daily included breakfast was a great way to start the day. The gardens are very relaxing with a lovely pool area. We enjoyed our stay so much the first time, we rebooked to stay there during the second visit to San Diego. Upon returning, it was like coming home! We can thoroughly recommend the Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Craig C- Thank you for the great comments on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your feedback and compliments regarding your stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

It is great to see so many of our overseas guest returning to San Diego and we are delighted to know the Old Town Inn is always their first choice in San Diego when looking for clean comfortable accommodation, with great location in a friendly environment and who wants to get the most of their dollar and appreciate genuine hospitality when visiting USA. It is always, great to have you as our guest and to know we have been always consistent in providing great service again and again. Welcome back to the Old Town Inn, for your overseas adventure travel from Australia.

We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our deluxe rooms that have a bath tub with two Queen Beds also available with Mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen, or a room with a king size bed sofa sitting area mini fridge and microwave.

Welcome back to the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you again as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! * 

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent 
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After a hectic few weeks touring around it was so good to take it easy for week at this lovely Inn. All the staff there are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble for them from bedroom staff down to breakfast room staff. Rooms are very clean, and the continental breakfast is great. Pool is kept very clean and surrounding gardens beautifully kept.Thank you Anna for another delightful stay. We will be back !!! Oh and another tip no need for transport as opposite the Inn is the trolley bus, bus & train station, everything runs on time and is so cheap. Pity we did not have a service like that in England!!! A 5 star stay just a perfect end to our holidays.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fridges which is a must to keep chilled stuff in especially when weather is hot..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat-hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Pat-Hopper- Thank you again for another great review on Trip Advisor, it is always great to have you as our guest, and to know we have been always consistent in providing great service again and again. Welcome back to the Old Town Inn San Diego, we are delighted to know the Old Town Inn, is always your first choice in San Diego, when you visit USA.

We do concur with you as other guests; the Old Town Inn is very clean, quiet, with exceptional friendly staff. Thank you for mentioning Anna she is a great team player and a valuable asset to the Old Town Inn. Our complimentary breakfast, includes waffles that you make yourself, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of cold cereal, croissants, bagels, fresh fruit as well as cocktail fruit, jelly, peanut butter, fresh lemon water, coffee, tea, milk and more.

Our pool area is the perfect get away spot with chairs to lounge on, tables to sit and chat with friends and our pool is heated 80 degrees. A BBQ grill is also available we provide the essentials for the grill, and you provide the great food for your family and friends. This is a fun and relaxing zone our guest love’s, the tropical flowers that alien the fence and the heat of the sun that makes everything better.

The location; cannot be beat, we are not only in Old Town, but right next to the public transit station and many don’t realize how close we are to the rest of San Diego. A 10 short minute’s drive or a 20 minute trolley ride to Downtown, Sea World and San Diego Zoo, while being here at the historical Old Town where you can experience the best Mexican cuisine and the Old Town state historic Presidio Park.

We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our deluxe rooms that have a bathtub with two queen beds also available with mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen or a room with a king size bed, sofa sitting area, mini fridge and microwave. The Old Town Inn is a small family own hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value.

It is always great pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to see you again at the Old Town Inn lobby.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were travelling as a group of 10 so price means something. I'm sure there are nicer places to stay but not at this price point. We had 3 rooms and all were clean. Staff always said hello and smiled and it was obvious the actually care. Felt like a family run business. The pool was always spotless. Breakfast was a little basic but it was included so we weren't going to argue. We all got enough to eat with decent choices. Coffee is great though. You can walk to Old Town and we did. 10 min drive to SeaWorld as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the hotel. Worth the $50/night difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest, I am delighted to know you and your group of 10 enjoyed your stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

We were able to meet your expectations, with comfortable accommodations from the large clean rooms, at a good value and affordable price, friendly outstanding staff service, delicious deluxe breakfast, with so many options, from wholesome choices like fruits steel cut oatmeal, boiled eggs, muffins, coffee, juice, breads, pastries, make your own waffle, milk, cocktail fruits and more.

Yes, we are a modest, family-owned AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Every single member of our team, from the owner, to the managers, to our front desk staff, to our housekeeping team, to our maintenance crew to our landscaper believes in this mission.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,164 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing