We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #9 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

we chose to stay here based on reviews and location. trip advisor says it is the #1 hotel in the old town district of san diego.
my biggest gripe would be, it is not really in old town. it is within easy walking distance to old town, but it is not really there. it is on pacific highway in an industrial looking area. so much so that my wife was worried as we first drove up.
with that out of the way, the rooms were quiet and clean, the staff were friendly, and the free breakfast was decent.
it was a nice stay and within walking distance to old town, but if you are expecting to actually be in the old town area, you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: you could ask for a room located away from the highway. we did this and did not notice street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank babasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest- Thank you for giving us a try and depending on the previous, reviews on Trip Advisor. Trip Advisor is all; about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with who want to get the most for their dollar, value, cleanliness and who appreciate genuine hospitality, and have done their research. I’m sorry for the misunderstanding about our location. We do our best to familiarize our guests with our location on our website, including a lovely map showing our relation to the Old Town State Park and other major attractions, and we mention frequently in our TripAdvisor responses the nature of our location. I want to add that though, we are on Pacific Hwy. is a well-traveled road during daylight hours, we have found that the traffic does subside significantly after 6 p.m.

I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations after you felt hesitant about our location and the team made your stay enjoyable. Thank you for the positive comments regarding our cleanliness, breakfast as well our customer service.

We are a shot walk or drive-our great location makes us so convenient to all the attractions, events and sights you can visit. One of the best attractions, the historical Old Town State Park a 10 minute walk from the Old Town Inn.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn. On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms (we had 2) could not have been cleaner. The directions to local attractions were helpful. The breakfast- waffles, fruit, cereal, bagels, baked goods were more than adequate to tide on over until lunch. A car is needed to enjoy the area, as there are a lot of attractions, and eateries to choose from. We've stayed here before, and will likely do so again.

Parking is somewhat close. If you arrive too late, there might be a walk of a couple of blocks from street parking.

Room Tip: There are older 'classic' 1940's rooms, and newer, larger rooms, some with kitchenettes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jtricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear J tricks -Thank you for the wonderful review and mentioning our friendly staff team, clean rooms, amenities and breakfast. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. We have an amazing frond desk team that is ready to pour out, with all the information you need from directions, to restaurant recommendations, and things to see.

 I agree, our delicious deluxe breakfast, with so many options, from wholesome choices like fruits steel cut oatmeal, boiled eggs, muffins, coffee, juice, breads, pastries, make your own waffle, milk, cocktail fruits is more than adequate to start your day, special those on a budget.

The Old Town Inn is centrally located ,very close to public transportation, freeways, and the famous Old Town. We have a variety of restaurants that deliver to us, just in case you don't want to go out. If you do wish to go out, Old Town has many restaurants. We are located just a few minutes away from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and other attractions. We are sorry you had some troubles with parking, on the other note we never had a guest park on the street or a couple blocks from the hotel. On your next visit, let us know if you are having any issues with parking we would be more than happy to get you a space to park.

On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we strive to offer the best personal service four our guest. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. 

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! * 

Yours in Hospitality, 

Mike M| Front Desk Agent 
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were originally booked at a "chain" hotel figuring we would just be sleeping there and we could live in the cramped quarters for a few days. However, I stumbled across this one on the internet and saw the reviews and it was only like $130 more for the length of our stay (3 nights) to get a family suite. It was more than worth it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Place was spotless and with the family suite it made our stay that much more pleasant. It is at the back door of Old Town (you can walk), near stores, quick trip to the zoo. Yes, we did have plane noise as it is close to the airport but pretty much anywhere you stay in San Diego you're gonna get that. But in the room you barely hear it. People that work there are soooooo pleasant and helpful. I can't say enough about the place. Such a nice change from the chain places. Pool was small but more than adequate. Decor was great. Overall a nice place. If I get back to San Diego, I'd stay here.

Room Tip: If you're going with a family, the family suite is the only way to go. Sooo reasonable. The free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rnlose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, I do concur with you and it was the best choice you made to stay with us, for the best accommodation and value. Our spacious family suite is the size of one bed room apartment, which can accommodate up to 6 guests, with a separate bedroom, two queen-size beds. The living room and the kitchen area feature a comfortable sofa-bed with two sitting chairs, microwave, and two burner cook top and small refrigerator.

Thank you for the lovely compliments on our great hotel at the famous Old Town San Diego. Our great location and easy access to the historical Old Town, and all the major attractions, freeways make it easy for exploring and adventure around town. The Old Town Inn is, clean and comfortable for our guest to relax and enjoy well-earned moments of peace, while basking at the pool in the sun in Sunny San Diego California. I do concur, with you it’s all about the friendliness and professionalism of the “front line staff members” which makes all the difference, we take great pride in taking care of our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Check in was very good, quick. The staff member was very helpful and informative. Be warned, its probably the norm but if you are paying by cash they do take $100 for incidentals when checking in. When entering the room, it was ok. It was clean and quiet apart from the train. However, when I said it was clean I immediately noticed an ant on the wall. I didn't think too much of it, until probably 30 mins after settling into the room, there was a knock on the door. I was told by the housecleaner that someone was there to sort the ant problem in the room and wanted to leave some ant traps in the room to attract and kill them. Needless to say I was not impressed with this at all, as I said to the staff if they know they have an ant problem, dont book people into the room. Now I have to say I was really upset that they did this, and they did give me a bit of a story about why the pest controller was there. I am sorry but I didnt believe them for one moment, there had been an issue and the room was not fit to have paying guests in. To their credit they moved us to a higher floor at my request, but it soured the stay there.
To be honest everything else about the hotel was good, the pool was ok, breakfast ok, location to Old Town and transport into San Diego Downtown was also good. The ants spoiled it for me, I dont expect pest control to come knocking on holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, General Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on our staff and our location. We truly appreciate it. I am very sorry to hear, however, about the ant situation that you experienced recently in your hotel room.

Our goal is to make our guests’ stay a very enjoyable one and I am sorry that this was not the case for you. We understand that cleanliness is important to our guests and it is a top priority for us. As a result, we inspect our rooms constantly and we have a pest control service that comes out regularly to our hotel to help us prevent and combat any problems we may have.

As you mentioned, we did have our pest control company come out the day of your arrival. At the time, we were unaware that there were ants present in your particular room, but we wanted to be pro-active and treat all the rooms in the area where we knew there was an existing problem. Unfortunately, these pests travel in areas that are hard to see and keep track of, but we make every effort to remedy the situation as soon as we are aware no matter how challenging it may be.

We were happy to move you to a different room to make up for the inconvenience this caused you. As always, we strive to provide a great stay for each of our guests. We were disappointed that we were not able to accomplish that in this instance, despite our best effort.

You are a valued guest and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. When making your reservation, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we strive to offer the best personal service four our guest. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

*Book direct with us for best service, selection, and value!*


Yours in Hospitality,

Beatriz/General Manager
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is amazing! First of, the staff are amazing- gave very clear directions and a great welcome! Our hotel was great, with a couch, fridge, and microwave in it. We used the pool and it was perfect! We enjoyed the morning breakfast as well- continental and great! We walked to Old Town and only took about 10 minutes- LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WashingtonCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest-Thank you for the five stars review you gave us and the lovely compliments on our great hotel in Old Town San Diego. We are very proud to say our front desk team members are always willing to help out guest in any and all situations, because we believe in treating our guest like family and the staff does an amazing job in welcoming every guest and make them fell at home.

By your review, you stayed in one of our deluxe guestroom; those are our large rooms which feature one King-size bed or two Queen-size beds with microwave, small refrigerator and a comfortable sofa. Our pool area is the perfect get away spot to have fun and relax with tropical flowers, chairs, tables to sit and chat with friends or family members. By the way the pool is heated 80 degrees every day.

I do concur our breakfast is tasty, it includes waffles, steel cut oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereals, fruit salad, bagels, cream cheese, juice, milk, hot cocoa, water, tea, coffee and more.
We are a shot walk or drive-our great location makes us so convenient to all the attractions, events and sights you can visit. One of the best attractions, the historical Old Town State Park a 10 minute walk from the Old Town Inn.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn. On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Only thing we found was the loud cannons going off late in the evening was disturbing., but only for a few min. The hotel itself is very pretty. Wish they had a hot tub. Old town was so close we walked there.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deiadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Deiadre- Thank you for the time taken to review the Old Town Inn on TripAdvisor. We do apologize for the cannons you heard from our hotel, they were actually from Sea World the amusement park. In the summer Sea World does display a fire work show in the evening, from 9:30pm to 10pm as a closing show.

The Old Town Inn is less than 2.5 miles from Sea World. We greatly appreciate your compliments on our hotel. It is surrounded with beautiful gardens, very clean and a friendly atmosphere. Yes, we do not have a hot tub, however on your next visit try our heated pool, where you can relax, swim, chat with friends and try our BBQ grill at the pool area.

We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our King Jacuzzi suit. The Old Town is a small family owned hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We checked out yesterday morning. We stayed 3 nights in the hotel. We felt it was a perfect location. The front desk staff were very professional and accomodating. They had flyers with directions and phone numbers to anything we could have needed such as grocery stores, and pharmacies.

Just a short walk to Old Towne. Very convenient and a short drive to Seaworld and the Zoo.

Breakfast was perfect.

Very nice to have two sinks. We appreciated the note that said they would supplies us with any toiletries we may have forgotten.

Also appreciated were the coupons for appetizers at Cafe Coyote and the recommendation @ Pizza Bella. Delicious.

Great value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank disneynut57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest -Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time taken to review the Old Town Inn San Diego. We are a small hotel with a single minded dedication to consistent service quality, and value. We believe our AAA-2 diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean, our customer service is our #1 goal. I am glad our handouts, we provided to you were helpful and less complicated; we make it easy as possible for our guest to get around town and get familiar with the area. Such as our city maps along with our written instructions how to get to the popular attractions around San Diego. We do have our handouts for those traveling without a car. We are more than happy to make sure you arrive to your destinations without getting lost.

The Old Town inn is centrally located; guest as your selves finds our location to be a big Plus, of how to get around San Diego. We hope while visiting some of the attractions you took advantage of our discounted tickets that we sale at the front desk for SeaWorld, and Zoo Deluxe tickets. The recommendations for restaurants that we give to our guest to eat are some of our favorite foods. Living in San Diego all my life I sure do have some favorite’s restaurants to share with our guests. We all love good food so we believe we have good recommendations for just about any food you are in the mood for.

I like to welcome you back to stay with us in future visits to San Diego, we do always want you to keep us in mind and glad we made your stay comfortable as if you were home away from home.

*Book Direct with Us- For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality

Laura/Front Desk Agent

Old Town Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £79 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing