We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,131)
Filter reviews
2,131 results
Traveller rating
1,239
698
141
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,239
698
141
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews economy room pacific highway transit center hard boiled eggs dvd player continental breakfast sea world trolley station make your own waffles heated pool family suite clean rooms waffle maker within walking distance great place to stay nice breakfast queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,131 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2019

Great place, nice room, helpful staff. Heated pool. Location close to everything, safe and free parking. Fine coffee, breakfast needs little variety, but the food is delicious. Staff is very kind and friendly. Our family of 4 stayed in Old Town Inn 10 days in the room with kitchenette - great for family with children. Overall, great value for money.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidijagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear Lidijagg; Thank you for the five star review and for your great comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor! Sharing your experiences with others offers them the opportunity to review and better understand what they can hope for and expect from a hotel and its staff.

Thank you again for choosing the Old Town Inn San Diego. Our company culture is based on genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, affordability, comfort, and convenience. It sounds like that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with all the qualities we strive to uphold. On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Love this little Inn, I stay here one or two nights a month for the past three years. Love the staff, very friendly and helpful. A lot of the rooms are being rentivated love the new look.free parking, and free breakfast. Great value for San Diego and close to shopping and the freeways!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear Margie C, Thank you for the awesome five star review, and for your loyalty to the Old Town Inn San Diego, very much appreciated.Always encouraging to read that our property, location and team, were able to deliver once again; your gesture to stay with us every time you visit San Diego is one of the highest compliments that we hope to receive.

It is our goal to provide guests with a favorable experience and we are happy that we could comfortably accommodate you every time you visit San Diego. Our company culture is all about genuine hospitality, cleanliness, quality accommodations, and affordability. We are happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with all of these qualities every time you stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

Thank you again for your review. It was a pleasure to have you back as our guest every time you are in San Diego, we hope to see you again on your next travel to San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Stevie | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019

Rooms were clean and were a good value for the money. If you want to spend a lot more and be on the waterfront, you can, but this hotel was exactly what we were looking for within our budget. We did a lot of research and found that a lot of San Diego hotels charged for parking too, but this one didn't. Our family of 4 spent a week on vacation in San Diego and this hotel was ideal because it was within walking distance to Old Town and numerous restaurants we could walk to at night after touring the city, and also within walking distance to the transit center and the trolley- which we took on several occasions. The breakfast was very simple and got dull after a full week so we were sick of it by day 6, but it was filling and saved us some money. The front desk staff were wonderful. We didn't use the pool but it was available. The washers and dryers were a bit old but worked fine. I would recommend this hotel and would go here again.

Room tip: walls were a little thin so we could hear quite a bit of noise from the other guests, but tolerable.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian012019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

Dear BrianO12019: Thank you very much for the great review and the time taken to let us know about your stay at the Old Town Inn on TripAdvisor. It is an honor to read your comments and to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

The Old Town Inn San Diego is a small, independently owned hotel, we do strive to make every visit the best possible for our guests. Glad that you found our property clean, location, breakfast, great services all met your needs along with our staff. Our location really make up our great hotel located in our own Old town location. Easy access to all around San Diego either walking or diving. With so much to do and see in Historic Old Town, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We’re less than 3 miles to Sea World, about 3 miles to the airport and less than 10 minutes driving time to Balboa Park and the Zoo. Also, you can walk to the San Diego bus and trolley station, making it easy to get around town if you don’t have a car.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have had you and the family as our guest. On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Ookii | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

This is our new go-to San Diego lodging: clean, no-frills, good value, fine breakfast, plus the rare FREE parking. We’ve stayed in the basic room as well as the family suite which offers a kitchenette with an included tub of ooking and dining supplies. It’s not a fancy place, but handily competes with higher-priced places that tack on another $20 per day parking charge.

If I’m staying in San Diego and paying the tab, it’s Old Town Inn.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Momx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2019

Dear Momx10: Thank you for the great review and the great comments of what you experienced at the Old Town Inn and all around San Diego. The Old Town Inn San Diego is a small, independently owned hotel that prides itself on providing the best possible stay for each and every one of our guests.

It’s always wonderful to read when our guests feel they received a good value and a relaxing stay with us. We are proud to offer parking, internet, a large continental breakfast, and plenty of good movies to enjoy, all free of charge. We are always glad to read that our guests appreciate this value.

The Old Town Inn is all about providing the budget smart traveler with an affordable and memorable stay, and we appreciate your feedback. Again, thank you for giving us a try and On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

We had a perfect stay here! Staff was friendly and very helpful at check-in. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. All of the public areas (lobby, patio area, breakfast room) were attractive and welcoming, and the lush, well-maintained landscaping was impressive. The amenities were great, too: icy citrus-infused water, coffee and tea always available and a free library of DVD's to rent. We absolutely love the Old Town Inn, especially with the very reasonable price!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AmeliaM2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019


Dear AmeliaM2525: Thank you for the five star review and for taking the time to share with us your very positive experiences at the Old Town Inn San Diego. Also, for your kind recognition of our staff service, lobby area, clean room accommodations, and all the free amenities we offer, all are very much appreciated.

Great Staff willing to go above and beyond as necessary for our guests and visitors and the owner take great pride on the up keeping of the property our housekeeping staff do go above and beyond making sure the rooms and surrounding area are clean and our gardener does an amazing job keeping our grass and flowers looking vibrant for our guest to admire.

The Old Town Inn is a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for becoming a valued customer. On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews