We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price & location can't be beaten!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #9 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Very convenient location that's off the Pacific Highway & very easy to get to all the attractions. The trolley station is abt 5 mins walk away. It's also close to a few shopping malls if you need to get necessities & stuff.

AAA members get a preferential rate. Our room was spacious, very clean & comfy. Breakfast was fantastic. The kids loved making their own waffles. The hardboiled eggs were a great extra that normal continental breakfasts do not provide. The free internet was wonderful.

Front desk service staff were sooo helpful & friendly. They recommended the Las Americas Outlets at the border (apparently just opened) when we said we wanted to take a drive to the Tijuana border. So our drive became an extended shopping spree instead & it was time (& money) well spent. Haha.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Strabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2006

The Old Town Inn is located directly across the street from San Diego's Old Town State Park, including its trolley, bus and train transit hub. I was in town for a business meeting, and this hotel turned out to be an excellent choice!

The hotel is spread out over 3 buildings, each with 2-3 floors. Some of the rooms are currently being renovated, and orignally I was assigned to a room that was under construction. After returning to the desk, they immediately apologized and even gave me a complimentary upgrade to a better room class. The front desk staff was very polite and helpful.

Parking is free, but the hotel is located right on the Pacific Highway, so you can only enter and exit the property from the southbound direction. You have to go a couple of blocks and either turn onto a side street or pull a U-turn if you're heading north. It's basically just around the corner from "Hotel Circle", so if you're meeting other people who are staying there, it's less than a 5-minute drive. It's also a lot nicer than some Hotel Circle properties I've stayed in!

The hotel has free wireless Internet that was easily reachable from my room, though apparently not all rooms have a clear signal.

The price was unbeatable! About _half_ of what a franchise hotel near the airport or downtown was going for, and the quality was certainly comparable. Add in the free parking, and easy access to the trolley, and this hotel is just an unbelievable deal.

To be fair, it's definitely not a luxury property! The room was a little heavy on the deodorizer, the bed was a bit soft, and the shower could have been better. But it's clean, functional, and all-in-all one of the better experiences I've had with hotels in the San Diego area. None of its shortcomings were actually problems -- just some room for improvement.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Darlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2006

It was our first trip to San Diego. We wanted a place that was centrally located to the tourist attractions,the beach, and Old Town.
The Old Town Inn was the perfect hotel.
The great price, free internet access, and a excellent breakfast made this small hotel a big hit.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank imoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2006

The Old Town Inn is a good deal!
In searching for a hotel in San Diego in the $120-$150 range that recieved good TripAdvisor reviews, I found the Old Town Inn for under $90.00 a night. The reviews were very good and, in my experience, very accurate.
It is near enough to Old Town to walk, though you do have to walk under the freeway. My daughter and I were not uncomfortable making the walk in the evenings. May I recommend Cafe Guadalajara on Taylor St at the edge of Old Town.
We rented a car and the Old Town Inn is centrally located to the area points of interest with easy access to the freeway.
It was very clean throughout the property and has been well maintained. We used a deluxe room that was on the 3rd floor at the back of the property. There was some traffic and airport noise, but nothing the "fan only" on the AC couldn't mask.
The breakfast buffet was well-stocked with a waffle machine, bagels, sweet rolls, oatmeal, etc.
All in all, the Old Town Inn is a real bargain. If we ever return to San Diego, I will definitely stay at the Inn again.

Stayed: November 2006
6  Thank GreatTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2006

I've never left a review before, but my experience here requires it. I was dubious of the location...it was perfect. 2 blks walking distance to Old Town. Plus, it was right on Pacific...just minutes from downtown. Sergio, the nite clerk said, "Call in the morning and ask for Anna...she'll fix you up." He was right. She was a delight and ever so helpful in ways to numerous to mention, all with a great smile!
The breakfast was the best Continental I've had. Great variety.
The room was quite large, a nice efficiency, all utensils provided.
We had a concern one evening about loud talking and smoking on the balcony outside...a polite mention and it was discreetly handled.
1 mile from several retail centers with many specialty shops and restaurants. Try Barons for specialty foods and don't miss the Flea Market Fri.-Sun. at the Sports Arena nearby. It's a buck and has it all.
Ask for Anna, you won't regret it!

Stayed: November 2006
6  Thank NWmailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2006

I wanted to take my three teenage daughters to old town San Diego this October for a weekend of Haunted Tours and shopping. I wanted to stay "in Old Town", but didn't want to pay the price. I settled on the Old Town Inn, which was very reasonable, but I thought I would sacrifice with a long walk to Old Town, and a less than comfortable hotel. NOT TRUE! It was just a short walk to Old Town from the Hotel, and the continental breakfast they served was one of the best ones I've ever had. They even had a waffle station where you could make your own fresh waffles. Very friendly staff, clean and relatively modern rooms. Was a great buy if you want to save some money on your hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SheTimesThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

We stayed at the Old Town Inn during the second week of October, the Hotel is spotlessly clean with great amenities which include a swimming pool, laundry, free Internet access in the reception area and a decent size car park. The hotel is well placed for the tourist as the local transport links are about 3 minutes walk from the hotel, here you can catch a bus, train, taxi, street car or the modern local transport tram giving you a massive choice of easy to reach activities which include the Mexican border.
We stayed in one of the older rooms at the hotel which are situated next to the pool area, these rooms are compact, clean and adequately furnished, they are seconds from the pool, reception area and breakfast room. The staff at the hotel were friendly and more than helpful when assisting with any enquiries or advice on places to visit, you are also able to buy your zoo and sea-world tickets at a discount rate from the front desk.

This hotel is perfect for a vacation in San Diego and for the price an absolute steal....give it a try you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,317 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,054 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing