We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best buget place in san diego!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“best buget place in san diego!”
Reviewed 8 June 2007

this place was great. The staff was helpful. The old town is across the street. The pool was nice. Breakfast is okay.(it was free who cares!) Will always stay here when i go to san diego!rooms are simple but for the price you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — staff and the great price
  • Disliked — room were okay
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank candegurrl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    614
    133
    31
    20
See reviews for
627
608
83
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MelbourneAustralia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights from the 20th May. What a lovely Motel. So close to Old Town and the transit center, 5 minute walk accross road. Pool was beautiful and clean but unfortunately the weather wasnt warm enough for us to swim and I was most disappointed in that. Breakfast is excellent and yes, the waffles are lovely. Rooms are very clean and a good size, foyer is the same standard with free internet and coffee available in dining room 24/7 ( as well as having it in the rooms also). We had a fridge which is always handy but theres also ice machines at end of the walkway on each level. The staff were more than helpful, answering many of our questions about the area. There are shops around the corner ( about 1 mile )down Rosencranz st, but we drove as we like to explore further afield. We stayed in the newer renovated part and didnt hear any road noise at all. This is the best motel we stayed at in our 3 weeks in California. For the price we paid it was excellent value for money and we would recommend this to anyone.

Kate, Shaun and Ruby Lacey
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KateandShaunLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2007

I stayed at the Old Town Inn on May 20 when I needed to be in San Diego overnight and didn't wanna freeload on friends. I previously lived in San Diego for 8 years and know the city quite well, and had passed by the Old Town Inn many times without taking note of it.

My experience mirrored most of those reviewed on here. The property was very clean and well maintained. I also stayed in the older section, which I thought was perfectly adequate and reasonably priced. Although the Inn is located in a semi industrial area, it actually is very short drive to a large shopping area slightly to the west and north with plenty of sit down and fast food restaurants, drug stores, a supermarket, Target, Starbucks, Jamba Juice, etc.

It's a very good location for access to the downtown area and shelter island waterfront areas, more convenient than Mission Valley.

  • Liked — low price, cleanliness, convenient location
  • Disliked — noticeable disinfectant smell in the room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohansenRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

We stayed here after reading positive reviews and in general were quite pleased. We liked the older section with its minute room and shower, sort of had a 40s-50s vibe about it, and we asked for a room away from the highway so did not have issues with noise as some reviewers claimed. Top marks go to the always cheerful and cooperative staff; in fact, the owner should give them raises. Whatever they are making, it is not enough...their attitudes distinguish this motel from others in the same price range. Most impressive was the incredible cleanliness of everything, and it was obvious the cleaning staff took great pride in their work. Would make a few minor suggestions to the (responsive) owners, to upgrade the plain bar of soap and shampoo to a slightly higher brand, and to have the breakfast makers pay a little closer attention to the supply of food and utensils during the breakfast hours, perhaps checking every 10-15 minutes. But all in all, a good choice for budget accomodations in San Diego!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location on busy highway (although close to everything)
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kampalapals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leona Valley, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

We might be 'hotel snobs' , but we truly appreciate cleanliness and service. This hotel went above and beyond in both. Our rooms were very comfortable. The hotel was quiet, even on a sold-out Cinco de Mayo weekend. The location was perfect for visits to Old Town, Sea World and the zoo. We absolutely loved our time spent lounging by the pool and marveled at the lovely landscaping and clean surroundings. The breakfast was a big hit, and we had 4 highly discriminating teenagers with us! Great variety and freshness...also loved the waffles and hard-boiled eggs. Every staff person we encountered went out of their way to show us hospitality and friendliness. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Pool area, cleanliness, service
  • Disliked — small parking spaces
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank iluvmrkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

Pros -Reasonable rates, close to Old Town, decent location for home base if you rent a car.
Cons - Terrible traffic noise, the 'Expanded Continental Breakfast' was so-so.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vtflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

The hotel was excellent for the price.
Great breakfast no crowds and plenty to eat (loved the waffles,wanted to take the waffle maker home)
Excellent location just minutes walk from the transit centre giving access to all of San Diego
Cant recommend the transit system enough
As seniors we had a 1 hour trolley ride to the Mexican border for $1
would recommend the sdcommute.com web site for planning journeys
In addition to this you only need to turn left on Rosencrans (approhx 1/2 mile to be among all the fast food resteraunts and stores.
Norm and Aileen England

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank normjaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing