We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #9 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Wow...decided to try this hotel after reading the TripAdvisor reviews and it was wonderful. The staff here are probably the friendliest of any hotel I have ever visited! They provided lots of ideas for restaurants and directions to area attractions. The continental breakfast was very nice. In an ideal world, I would have added yogert and peanut butter (it was a little low on protein aside from hard boiled eggs and cream cheese for bagels), but the waffle irons we fast and so they were usually available and when things ran low, they were quickly replenished. The room was very clean. Nothing fabulous, but I couldn't find anything to complain about. The rates were very good given the cost of other hotels in the San Diego area. This hotel is fairly close to Sea World, the zoo, the San Diego airport and very close to Old Town. The pool area was nice. I guess if I had to find something that was a bit of a problem, it would be parking. If you drive a compact, you will be fine, but larger vehicles (we had a minivan) were somewhat hard to maneuver in the parking lot. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tiff_in_McDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2007

Our positive experience started when we called the hotel to book our stay. The person who answered the phone was so pleasant and helpful. Not being from the area we had lots of questions and they answered everyone of them. We read of all the reviews but were still a little hesitant due to the low price but we were not dissappointed. Rooms are comfortable. My sister loved the efficiency and so did we (used her microwave and fridge). Pool area was great, loved the breakfast, waffles are delicious. I can't say enough about the front desk staff. They went out of their way to give us directions, suggestions for restaurants, and even made a phone call for us to find out local church service times. My only complaint would have to be the maids, they don't speak English so our room was not cleaned a few days because of confusions due to the language barrier. People complain about the noise but we just kept the fan on in our room and you couldn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thepeevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We stayed at the Old Town Inn for a week in June. It is an excellent hotel.

Great location :

- Walking distance from Old Town (Good restaurants and shops)
- Close to all main attractions (SeaWorld, Zoo, Beaches, ...) and downtown San Diego.
- Even if the hotel is near the highway, we did not hear a noise.

Great price and service :

- Around 100 $ (AAA price) for a large room with 2 queen beds (wich are very very comfortable) and a kitchnette.
- Good breakfast included (waffles, bagels, cereals, ...)
- The service was excellent and very friendly.

If the Old Town Inn would just upgrade their amenities like the soap bars and shampoo and add some shower caps, it would be comparable to a Hampton Inn wich is more expensive.

We had an excellent stay and would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2007

this place was great. The staff was helpful. The old town is across the street. The pool was nice. Breakfast is okay.(it was free who cares!) Will always stay here when i go to san diego!rooms are simple but for the price you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank candegurrl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights from the 20th May. What a lovely Motel. So close to Old Town and the transit center, 5 minute walk accross road. Pool was beautiful and clean but unfortunately the weather wasnt warm enough for us to swim and I was most disappointed in that. Breakfast is excellent and yes, the waffles are lovely. Rooms are very clean and a good size, foyer is the same standard with free internet and coffee available in dining room 24/7 ( as well as having it in the rooms also). We had a fridge which is always handy but theres also ice machines at end of the walkway on each level. The staff were more than helpful, answering many of our questions about the area. There are shops around the corner ( about 1 mile )down Rosencranz st, but we drove as we like to explore further afield. We stayed in the newer renovated part and didnt hear any road noise at all. This is the best motel we stayed at in our 3 weeks in California. For the price we paid it was excellent value for money and we would recommend this to anyone.

Kate, Shaun and Ruby Lacey
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KateandShaunLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

I stayed at the Old Town Inn on May 20 when I needed to be in San Diego overnight and didn't wanna freeload on friends. I previously lived in San Diego for 8 years and know the city quite well, and had passed by the Old Town Inn many times without taking note of it.

My experience mirrored most of those reviewed on here. The property was very clean and well maintained. I also stayed in the older section, which I thought was perfectly adequate and reasonably priced. Although the Inn is located in a semi industrial area, it actually is very short drive to a large shopping area slightly to the west and north with plenty of sit down and fast food restaurants, drug stores, a supermarket, Target, Starbucks, Jamba Juice, etc.

It's a very good location for access to the downtown area and shelter island waterfront areas, more convenient than Mission Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohansenRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

We stayed here after reading positive reviews and in general were quite pleased. We liked the older section with its minute room and shower, sort of had a 40s-50s vibe about it, and we asked for a room away from the highway so did not have issues with noise as some reviewers claimed. Top marks go to the always cheerful and cooperative staff; in fact, the owner should give them raises. Whatever they are making, it is not enough...their attitudes distinguish this motel from others in the same price range. Most impressive was the incredible cleanliness of everything, and it was obvious the cleaning staff took great pride in their work. Would make a few minor suggestions to the (responsive) owners, to upgrade the plain bar of soap and shampoo to a slightly higher brand, and to have the breakfast makers pay a little closer attention to the supply of food and utensils during the breakfast hours, perhaps checking every 10-15 minutes. But all in all, a good choice for budget accomodations in San Diego!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kampalapals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,422 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,120 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £83 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing