We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean lobby with high prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #109 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean lobby with high prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lobby bar very nice but loud with piano music. Restaurant high priced for basics. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Courtesy bus to/from airport a challenge. Pricing is a moving target without a firm number for any given day or any discounting method. All in all a place to stay when nothing else available.

Room Tip: Not sure even numbers or odd numbers would make a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prof747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    392
    306
    126
    91
See reviews for
246
256
82
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a near-luxury hotel that lived up to our expectations. We were here for only one night, and our somewhat complicated arrival and departure went off without a hitch with the help of the hotel staff. We arrived a few hours before the usual check-in time, but we were given a room and allowed to use the parking garage for the 10 minutes it took us to unload luggage from our rental car before going to turn it in.

The hotel location is great...next to a park where we've noticed there are often public events and just a couple minutes walk from the Little Italy restaurants and shopping. The room was very nicely decorated, had lots of plugs for charging phones, computers, etc., and the beds were very comfortable.

We needed to check out an hour before the hotel shuttle service started in the morning, but the staff called a cab for us. (That cost about $10). Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Close to the 405. Had a couple of drinks at the hotel bar area. Good happy hour prices. Parking is so unbelievably tight. A co-worker told me to rent the smallest rental car possible. I see what she meant.

The hotel is within two blocks of Little Italy. Nice little restaurants within 2-3 blocks. Staff was friendly. The only negative (other than the parking garage) was that the fire alarm system malfunctioned and started blaring the alarm at 11 pm for 20 minutes straight. We had to walk down 18 floors of stairs. The management said it was a false alarm. After walking back up to our room, the alarms started going off again for 10-15 minutes. It was so loud that you couldn't think of sleeping. Plus, what if it really was a fire? We were on the 18th floor. We walked all of the way down again with many very angry hotel guests. False alarm again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripexpert3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel was excellent. Beds were so comfortable. Room was very clean and temperature was great upon arrival. Staff was very friendly and very helpful in setting up airport shuttle. Breakfas is pricey but you are in San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 95carjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was extremely convenient. We drove to San Diego from LA and the hotel was eay to find, just off the interstate. The parking deck was narrow, but we managed fine. The staff was great. The location was perfect...we were able to walk to restaurants and all attractions were a short cab ride away. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Not sure why so many had bad experiences. Ours was excellent. Staff was so accommodating. Everyone was very friendly. I'm a good sleeper but wake up at strange noises. Lots of them at hotels! But I didn't hear the traffic or planes. In a great location. We walked about five blocks down to the water and enjoyed a stroll along the water. Second trip down there was a dinner experience. The staff was always glad to have us back. Opened doors for us, welcomed us back. It was a really nice experience and we would definitely stay there if we get a chance to go back to San Diego.

Room Tip: Possibly because we were on the opposite side of the airport, it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We found our stay at Double Tree to be convenient. We were able to find great rates starting Christmas Day with our AAA membership. The front desk person was very knowledgeable and helpful. (We enjoyed our warm chocolate cookie upon check in.) Our son and family live very close, so we were not bothered by the highway or airport noise, since we are use to it.
The only thing that I found inconvenient was no frig in the room. We have stayed at hotels with much lower rates that have both refrigerators and microwave. I found that their rates fluctuate with activities in the city. I tried to book a room for a stay in Feb but the rate was $150 more than the December rates! Over all the stay was ok with a pleasant staff and we did have a clean room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#128 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing