We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Bad Parking Situation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #110 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Lancaster, PA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice Hotel - Bad Parking Situation”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hotel is very nice and in a great location; however, the parking situation is very bad inside the hotel. The entry and exit ramps are extremely narrow to enter. I would not entertain attempting to park a large size car inside the garage provided. I scaped the side of a rental car against the wall while attempting to leave the garage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    396
    322
    128
    94
See reviews for
251
263
84
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Overall a good experience. Room, including bathroom, was clean and nicely made up each day. The only issue is the wireless internet, it is so bad that I couldn't even connect to their network before timing out. So there really isn't free wireless here, otherwise no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firestone, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is updated an nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only issue on the weekend is there were a lot of younger people having parties in their rooms/going out (were we in Vegas?). The walls are very thin so it was extremely loud trying to sleep. Especially after everyone started coming back (drunk) around 2am. Not a good 2 nights of sleep! Parking garage is expensive $25/night and very tight, make sure you have a small car if expecting to park there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Drad_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great stay - just one night. But upgraded me to a suite. Very sweet! (I am a Hilton Honors Member.) Wonderful location - walk to GasLamp District. Warm cookies when I arrived! Yum. Breakfast the next morning was great - cooked to serve omelet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I typically love to stay at the Double Tree, but the front desk clerk was unfriendly. He told me the pools closed sooner than was true and he wouldn't call my company to authorize the company card authorization so i had to use my own card. Then wouldn't give a detailed receipt for my reimbursement. Definitely not for business stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Katlin,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned.
We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

san francisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel was nice. I had a hard time getting my car parked because there wasn't an attendant on hand and ended up going inside to ask while I checked in. The complimentary cookies were yummy and the front desk staff helpful. The room was clean and well kept. Overall, nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Buddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Awesome Location (Little Italy). There are lots of restaurants (awesome food) and boutiques within walking distance. The Gas Lamp District is a $5.00 cab ride away. Ask for a room overlooking the pool (you can see the bay).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#72 of 279 in San Diego
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing