We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what I needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #174 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Exactly what I needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over 10 years ago. Recently stayed at this hotel again to visit family. The room had all the things I needed. It was clean and simple. In the morning there was a nice continental breakfast. I liked the fountains in the front. The location is very convenient coming off the freeway. What made the visit the best was the night manager and the morning manager. I came in late, and my key was ready and waiting for me. The morning manager was very helpful at checkout. Will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us! We are always extremely pleased to see return guests, regardless of the amount of time that has passed. In between your visits, we have upgraded our property with pillow top mattresses, new bedding, as well as flat panel TVs. We hope that you were pleased with the upgrades.

Thanks very much for pointing out our helpful staff. Each one of our team members does their utmost to make sure every guest enjoys his or her stay.

Please visit again, and don't wait so long to come back this time! And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com or by calling 619-239-2285 to get the best rate, best cancellation policy, and Wyndham Reward points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    131
    106
    49
    27
See reviews for
108
86
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overall, good stay for the price. Didn't expect much for a 2*, was pleasantly surprised by the room quality and size (for a downtown hotel)
Notes:
-AC/Fan unit was much better than the noisy floor mounted units you usually get. Actually didn't need it on at night.
-Downtown location so you'll get more street noise if you aren't used to that. Fortunately it mostly dies down by 1030pm
-Didn't interact much with the staff but the housekeeping was cheerful whenever I saw them
-Breakfast: I ate tons of bananas and apples, steered clear of the other items since I wanted to keep my appetite for brunch.
-Took a fantastic morning jog at Balboa Park nearby; absolutely worth it just for the experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NakatomiPlza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review, and on a side note, this Die Hard fan loves your username! Many times our guests walk away surprised by our property, be it the size of the room, or perhaps the many free amenities (refrigerator and microwave in every room, free wifi, large flat screen TVs, iron/ironing board) we offer compared to other downtown properties. Beyond that, our location to many of San Diego's best attractions (San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter, Horton Plaza, Petco Park, Convention Center) makes us an excellent jumping off point for business and leisure travelers alike.

We are glad that you enjoyed the healthier options at our free breakfast. In addition, our front desk and housekeeping staff do their best to be as cheerful and helpful as possible.

Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon. And remember, always book direct at daysinn.com or by calling 619-239-2285 for the best rate, best cancellation policy, and Wyndham Reward points!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Booked through a travel site, definitely a Forest Gump moment. You never know what your going to get. I was shocked what we paid for this room. The bedding was thin and stained. The bed was hard. Pillows were lumpy. The city was definitely alive and well in the not so well insulated walls. I could keep going, but why? If you decide to stay here, ask to see a room first.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us, and for leaving your thoughts. We do apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations, nor ours. While we strive to provide a quality stay for every guest, it appears that we fell short with you. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our staff in hopes that we can address your concerns.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future in hopes that we might be able to change your initial impression. Feel free to contact our general manager directly at 619-239-2285 should you wish to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#202 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 833 Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/ Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing