We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport shuttle & lovely marina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #110 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My family of four stayed at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina for 5 nights on our way to move to Europe. I choose this hotel as it was near the airport and we would be shipping our car once we arrived in San Diego. Also it provided several amenities that we were going to need, washer and dryer, pet friendly and restaurants. There is also a Starbucks in one tower. Our room was very large with a great view of the water. My 4 year old daughter loved watching the cruise ships come by our window. The staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and the airport shuttle was wonderful (we were moving with 14 pieces of luggage, two kids, and a dog). I highly recommend this hotel as we had a very pleasant stay.
We did eat at the fancier of the restaurants and it was good. But we mostly ate at this little deli/grocery in between the towers. They were great!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwoodlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 3,914 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business conference, and although it is a very large business hotel, the service and staff are very friendly and personal. You have spectacular views from the hotel rooms, and public areas. There is a great pool, hot tub, patio. etc. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

just spent 5 nights for the world youth student conference there and would like to say this hotel is very average. first note it is located near the airport so if you do not have a car, i would definitively not recommend you to stay there. we arrive around 6pm on a tuesday and had to wait 20 minutes for check-in when we saw the airlines crew jumping the queue. we had requested a room with a king size bed as we were a couple and were given a double one in the basement. There was practically no light in that room which was very small for american standard. part of the carpet was wet so we told reception in case there was a leak but nobody ever came to inspect. As I was attending a conference and my husband was working from our room, we had to ask them to move us room as it was just too dark. I would not stay there again. I believe there are better option in san diego.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the one at least on 5th floor facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerrieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Sheraton Marina was a nice hotel. The rooms , although small ,were comfortable and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We had a nice balcony with lounge chairs and a small table that had a beautiful view of the marina and pool area. They have a Starbucks on-site (it closes early around 5pm) a nice little sports bar and grill and a more upscale restaurant. There is an area shuttle that can take you to some of the popular areas for $1.00 a day. The drawbacks are there are no no soda or water or vending machines of any sort at the hotel. A bottle of water at the hotel gift store was $4.50 as was soda etc.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and if you want an ocean view it will cost a bit more. The staff was first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trcrotelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We used Hotels.com to book our 5 night stay at this hotel and had chosen a marina view as opposed to a bay view. However, there are two towers at this hotel and they are quite different. The marina tower is far superior to the bay tower which they had booked us into. We asked to be moved to the marina tower which they did with no complaint and after bring placed in two unacceptable rooms, we were upgraded to a gorgeous room on the 9th floor (of 12). The marina tower has all the facilities which the bay tower does not i.e. two pools, fitness center, bike and segway rentals, bars and restaurants including Starbucks and is far newer than the bay tower. We ate at their restaurants each night and had great servers. You can have valet parking or use public transit from this hotel. Valet $20.00 /day vs. transit $5.00/ day. San Diego has a wonderful history and the downtown core is quite new.We recommend taking a trolley tour to get an overview if you haven't been there before.The beds and pillows were heavenly and we had a balcony with two chairs and a table.

Room Tip: Marina tower not bay tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the Sheraton Marina and where very impressed with the hotel. We had booked at this hotel months ago and after reading some of the comments on here we tried to swtich our reservations to other Starwood properties downtown but were not successful. As soon as we entered the lobby after the quick airport shuttle we were glad we were not able to change. The view is breathtaking, the pools are clean and very attractive, staff was friendly and helpful with directions and arranging transportation etc, food at the resturants is good with friendly service. We were able to stay in the Marina tower, but the bay tower is really only a beautiful two minute walk away along the harbour full of sailboats. For those who complain the breakfast is expensive there is an excellent deli halfway between the bay and marina tower that serves a top notch breakfast. The harbour island has several other resturants as well and is excellent for jogging in the morning.

The room was clean when we arrived and all though the hotel was busy with some travel conference it seemed that the staff was able to accomodate everyone quickly and the hotel had a nice feel to it and did not feel crowded.

I cannot imagine one staff member who was rude, or appears rude as over the four days we received nothing but professional assistance and did not witness any employees not offering excellent customer service.

You will not regret booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Have a city view at night from the Marina tower...awesome and romantic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina is not new but, overall, it retains a modern feel. I'd give the facility a 3 1/2 if that were a TripAdvisor option.

Our room had two full-sized beds, dresser, large desk, and a small side table & chair. The room was clean when we arrived. The carpet showed a faint stain or two. Maid service was unobtrusive and thorough with all consumable items and towels properly stocked. The bathroom was well cleaned each day. Our room was equipped with an LG flat screen TV of about 32" diagonal. To be honest, I never even turned it on. I prefer to watch commercial-free NetFlix entertainment on my laptop to cable channels.

There are few dining options and what there is I found pricey. There is a bar/restaurant with entrees at about $18 for a sandwich or wrap with no beverage. There was a more expensive sit down dining room that I didn't use. Then there was a Starbucks with somewhat inflated prices. A medium latte was $5 as was a yogurt cup. That's about $1 per item more than Starbucks I usually patronize. Food wasn't bad; It was just of limited selection and over priced.

There is a table of computers with Internet access and a printer in the center of a lobby area at the back of the hotel but I didn't find a discrete business center. The lobby area and an adjacent open air seating area provided a pleasant location that overlooked the Marina to catch up on paper work or chat with friends. There is a bay walk in front of the Hotel that is a very scenic way to exercise.

The pools had ample seating. Apparently both pools are heated in the Summer but only the larger pool is heated after September 1st. In San Diego, with temperatures at 80 and above each day, it was a little odd to find a pool closed for the Winter. On the other hand, the large pool and hot tub were lightly used so it wasn't much of a problem.

Upkeep could be just a little better. One of the two phones in our room was non-functional. It was cheerfully corrected when reported. The gate to the pool is accessed by use of one's room key. Unfortunately, the gate closest to the building wasn't functional during our visit but a short walk to the next closest gate was not a big deal. On the other hand, with no out-of-order sign on the gate, I watched five or six patrons try repeatedly inserting their room cards into the broken gate before going to another.

Bell services were prompt. There were several friendly employees out front to greet and summon the every ready cabs for rides into town. And, check-in at the front desk was prompt - perhaps a 3 minute wait - and friendly.

This is a very adequate hotel for small conventions or a pleasure stay in San Diego. We found it quiet and comfortable. The location is attractive and convenient to the San Diego Airport (there is a free hotel shuttle). It is NOT convenient to other dining, shopping or other San Diego destinations. One must either dine in the hotel or pay $6 to $20 each way for taxi access to retail/restaurant areas.

This is our third stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patienttype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear patienttype,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, I truly enjoyed reading it. We are so glad that we could welcome you back for a third time at our hotel and have done so with consistently friendly and efficient service. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that we will have many other opportunities to welcome you back! Next time you are visiting, feel free to stop by our concierge, a fully training local Expedia expert, to learn about some of the restaurants within walking distance on the Island!
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 286 in San Diego
2,788 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £93 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing