We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #116 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a wonderful holiday.We have never been to San Diego before but had heard good reports.We arrived and were greeted by very pleasant staff from both the bell desk and reception.We were quickly checked in an d on our way to our room within minutes.,The reception area was spacious and clean.Our room was a club level room in the 12th floor with views over the marina/city .The room was clean and a decent size.We went up to the club lounge where we were again greeted by a very pleasant gentleman.The views were wonderful and the lounge itself airy and comfortable.The hors d'oevres were extremely tasty and lots of choice.The quality of the drinks was high also.We arranged to take a city tour next day on the Trolley Bus which we found to be good value.All arranged by the concierge desk.The hotel is a bit out of town but easy to get to with taxis.We ate in the bar the first night and the food was of high quality.The second night we went to a restaurant near the Sheraton Bay so got the courtesy bus there and then walked.The other hotel looked rather drab in comparison so we we were well pleased with our choice.I have no issues with the hotel and the staff were helpful and friendly at all times. If you are going to San Diego then this really is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and all have balcony.Probably the higher you go the quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morag h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    1,301
    708
    379
    226
See reviews for
812
887
183
1,320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed just one night. Room was great but the location of the room was awful. Loud children running by, too much foot traffic by the room to rest peaceful. Although the room was fine the common ares could use capital infusion. Stained carpets, glass doors badly soiled and not locking. The biggest issue I had was parking. Using self park I need to travel a great length to get to the entrance. It would have been fine but I needed to leave early morning and it was dark and unsettling to walk to car alone.

At check in there was a long wait to check in. I would guess they are understaffed?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear MorningGirl1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. We are pleased that you found our guestrooms remarkable and comfortable, but disappointed to hear that you found the parking lot location less than desirable.

We understand your concern, but please be aware that we have taken every step to ensure the safety of our guests. Providing ample lighting during dark hours, increased security watch, and 24h hour surveillance are just a few of the measures we take to put our guests at ease.

Your comments are valuable to our ongoing effort to provide an exceptional experience for every guest and we hope you will extend another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Went for a short stay at the Sheraton and was very impressed with all points of service and general amenities there. Starting with the bell service—this guy was funny and personable but not over the top. Nice way to start a visit. The front desk help was pleasant and efficient. The bartender was my next best friend as she was helpful with any questions and generous as well, or from the well. We attended a wedding there, and I have never been to a more fun wedding in my life. There are quite a few mini events inside a wedding and everyone there talked about how great the staff was at every turn and how smooth everything went. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: You have the bay on one side and the bay on the other side. We liked the side the boats are parked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Mark D,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing this extraordinary experience. Our staff is the heart of our operation and we love hearing about a job well done. Many of our associates have been with the hotel for over 15 years and have proven to be one of the reasons why many guests return for another visit.

Weddings at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina are always turned into lasting memories. Thank you for attending this special day and we hope to welcome you back for another great experience!

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I totally loved this hotel!! My room was well decorated in a nautical style. I had a stunning City and Marina view from my balcony. Staff were very professional and helpful. This hotel has a free shuttle service to and from the airport, which is great since it's not downtown and if you don't want to rent a car, the bus stop is at the airport. This hotel has a big resort style pool and a wirlpool and many areas to relax inside and outside. It has also a Starbucks which is only open from 5:30 am to 5:30 pm. I would recommend this hotel to everybody!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegirl077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Yeah...it's close to the airport. But its customer service is far from stellar. Especially on the housekeeping side. Placed a card on the door with my breakfast order. Got a thank you card with a $5 credit for saying I don't need room service. Which continued for my 3-night stay (minus the $5 credits). Mini-bar...no price list, and I now know why. $5.50 sodas? Please. No Don't Disturb placards. Slip-shod housekeeping, at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubberGanoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear BubberGanoosh,

Your review is very important and will be communicated to the appropriate leadership. Thank you for sharing your experience as we are always looking for ways to ensure every guest request is satisfied without hassle. We apologize for the confusion and I will personally stress this issue in future training sessions.

Aside from the lack-luster service you received in regards to your breakfast order, I hope everything else was of satisfactory and beyond.

Your recent stay was appreciated and we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for a positive experience to share.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have come her yearly, and my son loves the property as there is a large pool and an exercise room. The rooms are decent size though slighlty oddly shaped. The Sheraton sweet sleeper beds are excellent, and it is nice to have an outdoor patio. The in-house restaurant isnt cheap but has a great view of the harbor. My biggest complaint for our recent stay was the lack of space, construction and price of self-parking during Christmas 2012. Parking was $22 a day but for that you have to drive around a maze of a parking lot and park really far away from the entrance. On the way into the lobby, you have to go past temporary fencing and it is poorly lit and doesnt feel at all safe. All this for a whopping $22 a day which is pretty stiff. I think making parking much cheaper would make sense during construction. The internet was strong and fast however. It is right by the airport so you cant walk to anything really, but it is relaxing if you like having a pool and gym, etc. Also the Starbucks in the lobby is nice, especially if you dont want to spend all this money on a hotel breakfast daily. So overall nice but that parking lot was a real bummer.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building, not the 2nd tower. That is like 1/4 mile away and with very few ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimparklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear kimparklee,

Firstly, thank you very much for visiting our property on a yearly basis, and we appreciate all the kind comments about our pools and guestrooms. Your review is very helpful to our efforts to constantly create positive experiences.

We understand your frustrations with the improvement zones, but you will be pleased to know that the project has been completed and the hotel is fully operational. In regards to parking, we feel that the cost is very competitive within the surrounding area, but we do apologize that this cost was not communicated to you before arrival.

Thank you for your review and for your recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Was a bit of a mixed bag experience. Our room was clean and nice, the staff was really helpful to bring us extra towels and blankets, it was a bit of a cold weekend. The bed was super comfortable, so no problems with the room what so ever. Unless of course you mind that planes flying above you from 6am.
The one and only breakfast we had at the hotel was very sub-standard and for that, really expensive. We had everything from wrong order to dirty water glass. And bed belly afterwards. The location is convenient, the pool area is really nice, but eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear barbiegood,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. We are pleased to hear that your visit was a positive experience overall.

Your comments in regards to the breakfast are very shocking as we commonly receive high remarks on the quality and value of the offerings. Please accept our apologies and we will be reviewing the breakfast menu to ensure every guest gets a great meal.

If your travel plans permit, we hope to welcome you back for the chance to showcase what our skillful culinary team can offer. Thank you for your review and we wish you safe travels.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 279 in San Diego
2,439 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing