We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,015)
Filter reviews
4,015 results
Traveller rating
1,221
1,391
753
401
249
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,221
1,391
753
401
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportnautical thememain towerthe club loungefree shuttlerental carfitness centerdowntown areacoronado islandvalet parkingseaport villagesea worldquinnsstarbuckscomputersuberpits
Filter
Updating list...
2,219 - 2,224 of 4,015 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Overall, we had a pretty nice stay at this Sheraton property in San Diego. We were a family of 3: my husband and I are in our early forties, our son is 4. We drove to Dan Diego from Orange County for a day at Sea World and a quick overnighter during my spring break. My goal was not to spend too much money, so I booked a room on Hotwire and got this property for a very reasonable rate. I was satisfied with the hotel for the Hotwire price I paid, but had I paid a lot more I would have been slightly disappointed.

When we went to check in we were informed by the valet that we were in the Bay Tower. After reading reviews on tripadvisor and speaking to a friend who coincidentally had stayed at the property the night before, I knew that the Bay Tower had not been fully remodeleled and that the Marina Tower was a better fit for us. One quick call to the front desk and they agreed to move us. Granted we were put on the first floor, but that was fine with us. It was already almost 9:00 pm and we were tired out from the day. I was happy they would accommodate us given that we booked with a discount rate and not directly with Sheraton.

The room was clean and stylish with a nautical theme. Nothing over the top exciting, but nothing to gripe about either. The bed seemed comfy and there was a flat screen tv and a small desk with a coffee maker. There was a mini fridge used as a minibar as well. The room was tiny for the 3 of us, and if my teen was with us as well it would have borders on too small for us.

We had a nice view of the pool area overlooking the marina. Again, it was adequate: not terrible but not great either. We spent the next day hanging out in the pool. The pool was warmish ( too cold for me but fine for dad and son) the jacuzzi was a good size and not too hot like some can be.

We ate breakfast at the Water's Edge Cafe in the hotel. Our son had the buffet which was good, not great. The pastries looked great, but the hot items looked ok. My husband and I ordered off the menu. Food was fine, but nothing wowed me. The room had a nice view and cute nautical decor, but the carpet was very stained and worn. Also the booth seats looked terrible like they were the same ones from the 70s or something.

Overall, I would stay again for a quick sleepover turn around trip, but not for an extended resort-like vacation. The staff were all friendly, but the property needs to be kept up a little better to reach its full potential. Also, we took a walk over to the Bay Hotel. Not as nice. When you say different tower it really gives the impression they are very close. Honestly they should redo the Bay and rebrand it as a different property and give it it's own style etc. it seems like It is in The Marina Towers shadow.

Oh yeah, having Starbucks on site is a plus as well as free airport shuttle service. Good option for travelers! And the noise was not bothersome at all when in the hotel. I only noticed the planes when we took a walk outside.

Room Tip: Higher upIs probably a nice view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear kaiiak17,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and recent stay at our hotel. It’s pleasing to hear that you found quality in our facilities and dedicated staff. From enjoying a warming meal at Harbor’s Edge to a relaxing soak in our Jacuzzi’s, we are glad you and your family used our property to the fullest.

Families of all different interests visit our hotel frequently, and for that reason, we are proud to offer amenities and features that are sure to please everyone. Thank you for mentioning the convenient and complimentary airport shuttle and our dreamy Sweet Sleeper Beds.

We enjoy reading candid feedback such as yours because it truly is one of the most effective was to justify a pat-on-the-back or the need for improvement. Your comments will not be taken lightly and will be communicated to the appropriate leadership, as these some of the inconveniences you listed are not the norm for our property.

Constructive comments such as yours will be useful for future employee training sessions. Thank you for your review and we are hopeful for another chance to host you during future travels to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This large hotel provided an excellent base for a short stay prior to a cruise to Hawaii. The location is superb with our quiet and comfortable large room giving stunning views of the marina. The hotel provides a very frequent & convenient shuttle service to and from the airport. It is a short taxi ride around the Bay to Downtown San Diego. The hotel staff were very impressive by their friendliness and caring attitude. We ate in the bar where the menu offers quite a range of dishes all reasonably priced with large portions.

Room Tip: Would recommend a higher floor room facing the marina for the stunning views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PontelandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear PontelandDavid,

Thank you very much for sharing such kind words about our property. It is pleasing to hear that we provided such a great experience for you during your recent stay. It is stories like this that truly paints a perfect picture of what our hotel has to offer.

Pairing breathless views with remarkable service is a recipe for an unforgettable visit to San Diego. Thank you for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you again when time permits.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a pretty great experience at this hotel. Stayed 4 nights at the marina tower. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub are great. Rooms are clean and beds pretty comfortable. We did a great whale watching private boat tour which we were able to do right from the hotel (left from boat area right behind hotel.) It was incredible! Saw a few whales and tons of dolphins.

Only downside is that the location required taking cabs downtown, which are roughly 20 bucks each way. But being so close to the airport was convenient. Free hotel shuttle to and from airport. Rooms are somewhat basic, but clean and comfortable.

Overall, a great value and the hotel staff are great!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbirdritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Very Small Room. Pillows were AMAZING, comfy bed too. More outlets in room would have been nicer. There are 2 gas fire pits down near the pool/marina are that were really nice to sit around and hang out. Gift shop in hotel is very convenient and open until 11pm but very expensive prices. When checked in there was only one person in front of me, but for some reason it took all 3 girls working the counter to help this 1 guy, so I had to wait for 5-10 minutes before they checked me in.

Room Tip: Many rooms on the 4th floor have a terrible view from the balcony because they are so close to the roof of the backside of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Was there with a group and had several issues during a two night stay:
1) While I was able to check in, the person staying with me was told one hour later the room was not ready.
2) Service in lounge was slow
3) When got back to my room at 11:30 pm, housekeeping was vacuuming in the hallway.
4) Second night, coworkers reported bartender and Bar Manager did not address mixing drinks properly and would not mix drinks in front of customers.
5) Again had housekeeping ready to vacuum hallway outside of my room at 10:30 pm

Shuttle drivers were extremely helpful and friendly though!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. While your stay was pleasant overall, we are disappointed to hear that your colleagues received lack-luster service.

This is absolutely not acceptable and we would like to take this opportunity to extend our apologies to you and your colleagues for the unnecessary vacuuming. Please note that this will be investigated and will be dealt with immediately.

We are shocked by what your coworkers experienced with our bartenders. Mixing drinks in front of guests is a major part of the experience we aim for and should be performed for every drink served. Please understand that this is not the norm for our property and we encourage you to return for a proper Sheraton San Diego experience.

Thank you for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you again when time permits.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews