We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #116 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great conference hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed five days for large conference. Great service at check in. Upgraded to club room. Fantastic view of city and bay. Good breakfast. Decent snacks. Make sure you have car for a longer stay as it is too far to walk to most restaurants. That said food in hotel is good from both restaurants and Starbucks is in house.

We stayed on floor 11. It would be a disappointment to be lower than 5.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gregb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    1,310
    714
    386
    230
See reviews for
823
895
184
1,339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel needs to work on problems it has with not having rooms available for people who made very specific reservations and who do NOT want to stay in the Bay tower (which does actually have better views) because it is not the conference hotel.

After an hours long wait for a room in this facility I still did not get the type of room requested. (King, higher floor) but took what was available. Others experienced the same problems.

Most of the staff (with the exception of front desk) were nice and provided prompt and warm service. Also, be sure to monitor your bill during your stay-- additional charges not made by me were added to my bill and it took about 15 minutes on check-out to get these removed. All in all what should have been an at least marginally pleasant stay was
mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Roxanne33,

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review and for your recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. We are deeply disappointed to hear you had an unpleasant experience with your reservation. While this is absolutely not the norm for our property, I will personally communicate your concerns to the appropriate leadership.

Your kind comment in regards to the excellent service you received is appreciated. The time taken to leave your comments is appreciated and we thank you for sharing.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Torrance, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Bay tower rooms are 30% larger than the other tower and waking up to a gorgeous bay view every morning was the highlight! The room are large with desk space and a small couch/living area. There is no refrigerator unfortunately... but they made up for it by having a coffee maker in the room. I booked this room on oitz for only $99/night. I found a GREAT deal at a great hotel!

Green Features: I hung my towels to reuse again the next morning but they changed out ALL the towels. Seems very wasteful and not very Eco-friendly.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Roxanne D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments about your experience at our hotel. We can’t agree with you more! The views are amazing and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience the Bay Tower.

Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina when your travel plans allow it.
Please note, mini-refrigerators are complimentary upon request.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had a very early flight the next morning and booked a room near the hotel. To my surprise the surroundings and view of the marina was beautiful and peaceful. I slept very well considering the hotel is next to the airport. The sound barrier worked well. I had an opportunity to play tennis and enjoy the jacuzzi. The club lounge was very large and comfortable. The refreshments were good, especially the cookies.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It took forever to check in. I had reserved a marina view room with a king bed and was given a loud lower level room facing a busy road with a double bed. So disappointed-why bother reserving a certain room?! And they made no effort to make it right.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermontkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Vermontkaren,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced while in residence at our hotel. Thank you, again, for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Upon arrival, in a cab, having realized my wallet fell out in the back seat while paying the fare, the Bell Staff flew into action to identify and call cab companies for me, and then took me back to the airport to see if the cabbie was still in line. He was, as was my wallet. Max V., was a kind, efficient, do-whatever-it-takes welcome who went the extra mile in service, literally and figuratively. Yuko, a front desk clerk, also did what she could with her manager problem solve what to do when a guest with a reservation arrives without photo ID (due to said wallet being in cab). The accomodations and meeting rooms were also just great. But the really extraordinary experience was Max-to-the-rescue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sonja S,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We truly love reading about remarkable experiences like the one you received. Adding special touches is where our property excels and we couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Max will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again when travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel just expecting to get a hospitality room after our cruise whilst we waited for our flight home in the evening, but we were given a double room of our own!! Check-in staff were extremely friendly and very efficient and helped us to check in on line for our flight home.
The room was very spacious and had a lovely view over the marina, with tea and coffee making facilities.
We wished we could have stayed longer (if we go back to San Diego we will certainly give this hotel consideration). We didn't have time to go Downtown but on speaking to other guests it was only a short ride away

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#118 of 278 in San Diego
2,490 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing