We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We really enjoyed our most recent trip. The hotel is in a nice location by the airport with a beautiful marina view. We were upgraded through SPG. The staff did a great job of making sure we had a terrific room with a lovely view and all the accommodations. Kids really enjoyed the 2 pools and hot tubs. Also have a nice space to play volleyball or soccer. Good for families. Restaurants are ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    1,300
    705
    379
    226
See reviews for
811
885
183
1,319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Mostly we enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton at the San Diego Marina. The view of the marina from our balcony was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable, etc. BUT....

Monday (June 23) morning we called the concierge to ask about the most direct and least expensive way to Balboa Park. She immediately recommended a private car shuttle (name not disclosed). She told me the cost was $25 and, surprised, I explicitly asked if a taxi wouldn't be less expensive she assured me "no, the taxis are very expensive here".

The car couldn't return us to the hotel at a suitable time, so we took a taxi back. Even in traffic and with a stop for a train to pass, the taxi was $14.50! When I tracked down the concierge the next day she backtracked saying taxi costs were "variable" and now she says "in her experience most people want a flat rate". She denied that there is some sort of kickback arrangement with the car, but I still have my doubts. Other hotels have provided me more information, including a range of taxi fares to popular destinations. The Sheraton needs this and it needs an honest concierge who looks after the welfare of the guests, not the private car company.

So I recommend the Sheraton (excellent) but DON'T TRUST THE CONCIERGE (terrible).

Room Tip: The hotel is isolated on Harbor Island so you have to depend on transport to most tourist sites. I r...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good to see a recycle bin in the room, but at the opening reception all bottles and cans went into the rubbish with food, napkins, etc. Why wasn't there a recycle barrel at the reception? Easy and soooo much more environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dviehland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear dviehland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments about your experience at our hotel. We can’t agree with you more! The views are amazing and we are glad you had the opportunity to have a comfortable nights rest in one of our guestrooms.

Although majority of your time here was exceptional, we are deeply disappointed to hear that the concierge clearly missed the mark. While the concierge team is 3rd party company and we do not employ the staff, we do hold the responsibility to ensure our guests receive superb assistance and service. We apologize for the inconvenience and misleading information you received.

Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina when your travel plans allow it.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Came to check in and when they saw I booked using a discount booking website, they right way shoved us in the less fancy building that is no way near 4 starts which is what we booked.
The room was really not up to par As for the expectations and every little thing was with additional charge.
No fridge in the room and a threatening note on the mini bar that if you dare to remove something to cool a personal water bottle got forbid, they will charge you 25$ fine.
No internet in the room ( another added charge) outrageous parking fee for each night $24 what do they expect me to leave my car at home I am paying for the room and a guest of the hotel????? not happy
Did I mention that it was right by the airport and we had airplanes taking off and landing over our head the whole time???

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Gal L,

Thank you for your review. We are deeply disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your time spent at our hotel. It is never our intention to misrepresent our facilities or services and we apologize for any inconvenience experiences while in residence.

Please understand that room assignments are not bias of any booking method. While we feel the parking fees are very competitive within the surrounding area, we understand if you found them unreasonable. All parking fees are listed on our websites and on your confirmation emails.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The business center printer can not be relied upon have toner, and if the toner is empty the hotel can not replace it on the same day.

Otherwise the hotel seems nice enough. The interior is nicer than the exterior would suggest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear John W,

Your recent stay and thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel, but disappointed to hear you had complications with our printers. Please note that this is not the norm and guests of the hotel frequently find the Link@Sheraton to be a reliable connection hub.

Thank you, again, for your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to host you when your travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Easy to get around the bay on the big bay bus that starts at this hotel and goes to several stops along the bay. Easy to get to train station and trolley. Rooms are nice and clean. Very close to airport and hotel has a shuttle bus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvdahlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear kvdahlberg,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We truly love reading about remarkable experiences like the one you received. Adding special touches is where our property excels and we couldn't be happier to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our staff will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again when travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

While I was visiting in San Diego I stayed at the Sheraton Hotel and Marina. The Hotel was amazing for just rest and relaxing. They have a Spa and exercise facility on site. The Pool and Jacuzzi where wonderful. They have staff on site to take a drink or food order. Also if you need a clean towel or a lounge chair moved they have the staff to do it. I ventured down the Marina Dock were I met Mark . He is the Concierge for the different attractions that the Sheraton has for Water Adventures . There is SUP paddle boards, clear bottom kayaks, Jet Skis, Speed Boat, Whale watching and all sorts of different Sailing Charters available right at the dock of the Sheraton Hotel. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful with what options they have available to you and your family or friends. Charters from 2 to 50 people at your service. I highly recommend the Sheraton Hotel and Marina in San Diego. You will not be dissapointed

Room Tip: The rooms with the Harbor view are well worth the extra dollars for the calm and serenity the view h...
See more room tips
Green Features: I never had a bad experience with any of the staff on my stay. All were very helpful with any request I had asked of them.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Sheraton has two hotels on Harbor Island just across from the airport and we stayed in the towers with a harbor side room on the 9th floor. The views from the room on the marina were very scenic, had balconies, and were clean and comfortable. The shuttle to and from the airport worked well, but getting anywhere on foot from the hotel is difficult. We ended up buying $3.00 day passes on the Big Blue bus, which picks you up at the hotel entrance and drops you anywhere along the bay. That bus only runs from Memorial day through Labor day, so if you stay outside those dates I would imagine you would have to take a taxi into town. There are very few restaurants near the hotel and although the restaurants in the hotel are pretty good, they are pretty expensive. We were able to get a special rate on the room ($153/night), but with all of the taxi and bus fares and some food expenses, we could have stayed closer to downtown for the same amount. If you're counting on being able to walk anywhere in downtown San Diego from your hotel you may want to rethink this site, but if you want scenic views, a place on the harbor, and a nice resort experience, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the harbors side for the best views. Keep in mind that this hotel is near the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 279 in San Diego
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing