We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for a very nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #113 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here in July 2014. We were met by an employee who had our info quickly & confirmed our tower. Each tower has its own lobbies & amenities. We opted for self parking. It is a few dollars less and we didn't need to wait for our car. The views from the hotel are lovely, right on the water. The room (2 double beds) was sufficient & decorated in a nautical theme. The pool area is very nice with seahorse sculptures that are fountains. Towels are at pool level. There is a game room and gym as well. The cost of the hotel was reasonable & the reason we booked here. It is more expensive than hotels we had never heard of, but less than other hotels that have comparable locations/amenities.

Room Tip: Higher rooms afford a better view of the marina/water Lanai room open to an exterior hallway that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vickier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 3,890 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I took my 12 year old daughter here for her birthday celebration. I can't say enough about how helpful the manager Scott Hermes and his assistant Helga Crump were. These two took great care of us. The rooms were lovely, clean and well appointed. The facility is fantastic! A special shout out to Gary for arranging our poolside soiree. It is not easy to make 6 12 year old girls happy, and this fantastic team exceeded all expectations! The pools are fantastic, the food was excellent and the atmosphere felt like I was in Hawaii. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay-cation for any San Diegan or for visitors to our fine city.

Room Tip: Be sure and book the Marina tower not the Bay tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom3chicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay. We truly love reading about remarkable experiences like the one you received. Adding special touches is where our property excels and we could be happier to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our staff will be pleased to hear about the job well done and the great experience you took home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to host you again when travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has great conference facilities that are within reasonable distance to most guest rooms. I had made a prepaid hotel reservation on the Sheraton website several months in advance of my arrival. I got to the hotel to find that they had oversold the hotel rooms in the main tower that I had paid for and was moved to the Lanai Building, which was much louder and closer to the freeway. These rooms are exterior corridors and are a good hike from the lobby and other facilities. I was able to get moved to the Marina Tower as paid for on the second day but did not receive any discount or compensation for differences. The hotel charges for EVERYTHING!... Internet, putting your water in the in-room minibar refrigerators, removing things from the minibar (even if you don't consume them), breakfast, etc. I paid much more than what I felt was fair price for the room considering all of the difficulties I experienced. I would only stay here again if for a conference.

Room Tip: Ask for marina views on a higher floor Avoid the Lanai Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkprincess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Unfortunately, this hotel does not uphold the Starwood brand. Be cautious in which room type you book, they have 2 towers (marina and bay). However, what the website fails to tell you is the bay is actually an old hotel they own down the road. It does not reflect any of the pictures on the website. Check in was delayed because their computers were down. After some time we were able to change rooms and get a Marina tower. However, the rest of our issues demonstrate a poorly run management team with very broken communication processes. We had the misfortunate of traveling with a child that got sick during the vacation. This resulted in us needing some housekeeping assistance. The first night it took 2 calls, 1 hour, and 3 visits from a housekeeper just to change sheets. Second day 3 hours, 4 calls, and 1 manager to finally just get a regular room cleaning/replacing of towels. 3rd day 45 minutes, 2 calls to get more towels. The one manager we did speak with said they were very busy that weekend with a conference. If they anticipate a full hotel with guests, than staff accordingly. Overall the property is missing the mark on many details. The doors of all the rooms on the 8th floor sounded like jail cells slamming. Many of the doors (including ours) did not close all the way without a firm push. The results in many guests leaving their room assuming the door closed behind them. I saw 3 other guest rooms that I could have walked into because the door didn't close. I never saw the pool staff ever clean the deck chairs. There was some sort of green animal excrement that was on the same deck chair the entire vacation. The list could go on, needless to say I would never recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory.

It is never our intention to misrepresent our facilities and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate leadership and addressed immediately.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would have given them an excellent but the bathroom was filthy. Besides the unclean bathroom the room was GREAT!!! The view was AMAZING! and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was nice and ready to assist with anything. There was a balcony for those nights I could see the sunset and just take in the beautiful night breeze. The buffet breakfast mediocre and expensive for what was offered, however, the waffles were very good. WARNING- there is nothing to do or no really good places to eat so make sure you take the Big Bay Shuttle for just $3 all day hop on hop off pass that will take you to the mainland (10am-8pm). There you can visit the GasLamp District where there is an abundance of places to eat and have fun, Also, take public transportation to Coradado Beach for just $2.25 each way, the beach was great and it only took 30 min to get there and 30 min to get back. All in all this was a great hotel with comfortable beds. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Choose a higher room on the odd side as this is the view facing the ocean is amazing during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Located right next to San Diego airport, it's and old style hotel. Very classy and situated in front of the bay with great sea views. A bit old, could do with a remodeling, along with the bedrooms. Still it's good value for money. Nice pool area and a nice fitness center. Easy access to the downtown area, and to the I-5 freeway. Also located near the zoo and some of the most popular beach areas. Parking not included, its 25$ a day, and has no free internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexsanchezdiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As a gold member you expect to get some fair treatment and honer the booking request. When checking in we had to wait in line for quite a while, ofcourse peaks can happen but after a couple of returns to the reception you could see that long queues was pretty standard. The check-in experience was terrible, the receptionist had a very strong Asian accent where parts was impossible to understand. We ordered a room with a King Size bed and instead got two single beds, we were though upgraded to a superior room as a compensation but the room looked just like a ordinary standard room (with 2 single beds).

The service was unacceptable - the fridge could not close properly so a repairman came, moved the content around and fixed the fridge. When the maid come to check on the fridge content she asked me in a very demining tone not to move the content around. I tried to explain that it was the repairman who moved the content around, and funny enough she was absolutely not listening to what i was trying to explain to her and interrupted me several times asking me not to move the content around, i simply gave up.
We also ordered a wineopener - and after 2 hours and 3 phonecalls we simply gave.
One thing we noticed was a used cotton swab on the middel of the hallway floor for more 24 hours - we even saw the maid passing by several times without picking it up - amazing.
As a gold member we have access to the lounge where they also serve breakfast - this was absolutely not up to the Sheraton standard. There was too many people according to the seating's and there was constantly lack of food and drink. We had a headache and needed plain water and this was not even available. In my honest opinion a lounge should be reserved for VIPs and business but it was mainly childrens family we could see as guests. Me and partner just came to the conclusion that this was not a hotel that we would use for our business trips.
Overall the hotel had what was needed but the service was below standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aab163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AustinGubrud, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel was less than satisfactory.

It is never our intention to misrepresent our facilities and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you did not receive the high level of service that we are known for. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate leadership and addressed immediately.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 279 in San Diego
2,743 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £95 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing