We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option for the Price and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Ranked #137 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although I was in town for work, this HI Express is in a great location for visiting all the San Diego attractions (Mission Beach is about 10 minutes drive away). It was an affordable rate for my quick overnight stay which can be difficult to find in the area. The hotel's easy to get to but is located off a busy street. The building is older but rooms have been renovated so the furniture was in good condition and everything was clean. As noted before, the rooms are a bit small which wasn't a problem for me and shouldn't be for most who travel to San Diego and are just looking for a place to stay after a busy day of sightseeing. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn fixings with quite a few offerings to get you going for the day. The breakfast lounge was pretty big which is good for when the hotel's busy and has lots of families coming in to eat. Lastly, the front desk agents at check in and out were very helpful and friendly, so I can say the service was awesome! For the location and price, I'd reconsider staying here again for business or if traveling for pleasure to San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espanasuenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear espanasuenos,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

2 nite getaway with MY Valentine...............Location great, near to all San Diego Activities.
Old Town & Midway Visit, Seafood Dinner after.
Room nicely decorated, Breakfast (included) variety good.

Staff very helpful and Friendly:I forgot to pack a pair of pants when leaving.
Left in room wardrobe closet.
Are holding for our return trip & another nite stay this Sunday.

Carl J.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlJonesLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we are a “great hotel”. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are delighted you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are glad you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again and returning your pants! Again, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld.

Sincerely, Juan Alarid General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I got a great price on Priceline and were very happy.
The hotel is laid out kind of weird, the room was kind of small, room was partially updated, free breakfast was good, checking / checkout person was nice. Our room faced the street, so it was a bit noisy in the morning.
But for the price: we were happy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Coolbreezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We are glad to hear our hotel is “great”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We hope to see you again during your next stay in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn Express in San Diego. I selected this hotel because my experience with HIE throughout the world has been good. This HIE was my least favorite of them all. The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and friendly. The problem was the internet connectivity. I lost the connection a minimum of three times every time I logged on. It was not a problem with my computer because I was able to log on from a number of different places in town for hours at a time. For a person who works online, this spotty connectivity was extremely problematic which made my stay a little irritating. Luckily, I am familiar with San Diego and knew where to go for reliable internet service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you investing your time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We are pleased to hear “the rooms are clean and the staff is nice and friendly”. Please know that your concerns are currently being brought to the attention of our staff in order to be addressed immediately. Thank you again for providing feedback regarding your stay and we hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel was fine, just the rooms were really small. If you need a bit of space in your room for a playpen or something, it wouldn't be for you. Location was fine. Breakfast was good, we were there two nights and there were lots of options each morning (cereal, yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, etc).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioAndJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear our hotel has a “good breakfast”. As you mentioned, we do offer hot breakfast items, such as bacon and eggs. We are thrilled you were able to benefit from it during your stay. Again, thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We hope to see you again during your next stay in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A good location to be close to many restaurants, Sea World, and the beach. The hotel it self was good, staff was very helpful, free continental breakfast, clean rooms, but just a little small. The only complaint I would have would be that there was a lot of noise in the morning I think from the maids. They would end up letting the doors slam against the door stops each time they when into the rooms. It was the same for the couple of days I stayed there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We are pleased to hear that our hotel “was good, staff was very helpful…”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. Once more, thank you again for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mission Bay SeaWorld. We hope to see you again during your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I picked this hotel due to close proximity to Seaworld for my son.

In comparison to the Holiday Inn Express in San Fran that we stayed at a bit disappointed.

Staff were friendly
Gym was only cardio equipment and smelt mouldy / stale - under the equipment wasn't cleaned, only noticed this due to stretching on the floor, filtered water in the gym was empty for 2 days before it got filled back up

It had a number of vending machines for snacks and drinks which was good but you also had a 711 right across the road which was great

Room had a microwave and mini fridge which was very convenient because there isn't really anything else close by and when you don't have a car and count on walking or buses it can be a bit inconvenient

About 2 blocks away is mcdonalds and another 711

The thai restaurant across the road has really good food

the pool was outdoor and slightly heated - even though i didn't get in my son got in and had a swim only a small square pool

hotel faces a busy street - so with the room we got i didn't hear the traffic much being a light sleeper, i read some other reviews about the noise but this wasn't the case with our room.

However the walls were thin - i could hear people talking and was very loud in the hallway, there was a light outside in the hallway and was very bright between the gaps in the door. Bed was comfy but a bit too soft for my liking didn't sleep well the first night

Wifi was terrible - connection was low, very slow and wasn't advised the password changes every monday so come monday was trying to connect for a few hours and when i went to the front desk to get change for the guest laundry i asked then and got the new password

the complimentary breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear GerryT82,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#117 of 278 in San Diego
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4919 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £85 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing