We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, comfy beds, and awesome breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Ranked #204 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in SD for 4 nights and had originally booked at A different hotel and ended up leaving early because it was terrible there. I am so glad we booked the holiday inn for the next 2 nights!! The hotel was clean, the staff was over the top helpful and nice, and the complimentary breakfast was amazing! I believe it was Jose and Annalisa (can't remember exactly) that were great about checking in with us to make sure our stay was going well. We had a Great experience! I will ALWAYS stay here for all our future trips!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ec31911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear we have “great staff, comfy beds, and awesome breakfast”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We anticipate seeing you again and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my hubby. I think there was an event in San Diego so most hotels were fully booked and this was the only Holiday Inn close to my husband's work that was available. That is probably why they could not check us in when we got there around noon. This was fine since we were aware of the situation and the male frontdesk clerk was very friendly. Our room was of average size and was clean. It was just unusual that the first thing you see when you open the door is the sink. We also notice the walls and doors are too thin that you can clearly hear the people talking along the corridors and you can feel the vibration on the walls when the next door close their doors.
The room has a mini ref and coffeemaker. There are good restaurants nearby. The Japanese restaurant and thai resto across the street is a must try. There is free breakfast for Platinum IHG members which offers continental breakfast. However its only open until 9:30 am, i almost miss it good thing i checked the directory. We also requested for late check out but was intially declined even if we were IHG Platinum member since they were fully booked however after some prodding from my husband, the manager gave it to our request. Overall it was an okey experience.

Room Tip: We opted for the twin room coz it was a little bigger than the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gsl_9292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel has a “good location with friendly staff”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast too all of our guests (not just Platinum IHG members) and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Although it is sited in an industrial area, it's an easy 10 min drive to restaurants, grocery outlet shops, seaworld, 10 min to airport. Hot Breakfast included automated pancakes, scrambled eggs although the restaurant was small for peak hr crowds. Beds were comfortable. Gym only had cardio machines and no weights. Swim pool was small. Would still return for the value for money

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ChongCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel has a “convenient location”. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Decent standard for a Holiday Inn Express, although the management were not aware of our Priority Club membership, and failed to realise that we are entitled to points even if we book through a third party. My only gripe was the use of plastic cutlery for breakfast, I later realised that this was also the case in another HI Express hotel in California. I would rather pay a few quid extra and get proper cutlery. Distance to SeaWorld was only 5 minutes by car and Old Town was not too far. I would stay here again for a short stay and for visiting Sea World.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank lovetravelling32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. As you mentioned, we are within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. Unfortunately, we were unable to provide you with membership points, because it is required that you book though an IHG direct channel. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

PROS:

Staff was very kind and helpful. One young man helped take our luggage to our room when the luggage cart got a flat tire. Beds were extremely comfortable. Rooms were decent size for the price. Breakfast was almost like going to a restaurant. It was a breakfast feast. Seaworld was just a few minutes drive away as was the beach. I think the beach was about 3-4 miles away. Price was decent for the area. We paid $240 including tax for 1 night stay for 2 rooms with total of 4 queen beds. Internet worked well.

Cons: Rooms were a bit small but I wish we would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Stay longer than 1 night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear out hotel is a “great valued” and a “great service”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to thoroughly enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I book blocks of rooms every weekend for the company I work for and sometimes this can be a very unpleasant experience. Working with Luis and Juan from Holiday Inn San Diego Sea World was such a refreshing experience. Their customer service is above and beyond what's expected. They are so easy to work with and even when we had to make changes to our reservation, they accommodated us without hesitation. Luis, you are fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear our staff was able to accommodate you so well and that we have the “best service”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We hope to be working with you again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The area was ok. Not much shopping or food nearby. My room was very small but nice. I love that they use Bath n Body works products in the rooms. My room was cleaned nicely everyday. The TV was a bummer. The majority of channels were spanish. The front desk people were very rude. The breakfast was incredible. I may go back in the future, if the nicer ones are full.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank scorpionstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the bathroom amenities. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future travelers will have a more pleasant experience. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#106 of 286 in San Diego
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-4919 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £77 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing