We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horton Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
411
329
116
63
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
329
116
63
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacegaslamp districtconvention centerantique furniturequaint hotelpetco parkchain hotelsvalet parkingsmall balconyceiling fanwithin walking distancehotel baran older hotelrestaurants and barsloved this hotelstreet noisefront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The Horton Grand is a very nice place to stay if you are doing business near downtown or in the Gas Lamp District. Not only is it a good value, but it's a charming hotel with friendly staff. If you stay here you'll be close to tons of restaurants, clubs, and bars near Market Ave ---all within walking distance. It's also not too far from the convention center, maybe a half mile or so. Be warned that there's a nightclub right across the street. When I was there a tour bus dropped off a few dozen people and the place was hopping pretty good. It didn't bother me, but some people might be a little sensitive to the noise. For breakfast, I highly recommend Cafe 21 which is just a few clicks down the street - service and food there was incredible. It's not a big place though so be prepared for a short wait during peak periods.

Overall, I liked the Horton Grand and plan to stay there again on my next trip to SD whether traveling for business or pleasure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank sheerplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent 5 nights there in October. Great hotel. Has an old feel to it but this is what makes its charm. Located close to convention centre and gas lamp district- can walk there. My room was facing third st and island ave, can hear street noise but did not prevent me from sleeping at all. Ask for a room with windows in inner courtyard if you want to be sure not to hear any street noise. Would go back there anytime !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricksa102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a convention in late September. The front desk staff were more than friendly and accomodating. The hotel is within walking distance of most anything you want - shopping, good restaurants, trolley, and convention center. Our room had a balcony that overlooked an outdoor courtyard. The room was furnished with lovely antiques. Quite an elegant experience at an affordable cost.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the courtyard side.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Likes-to-Travel-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are thankful for you and your husband staying with us and you taking time to write a review. We were very pleased to learn of your experiences and have passed along your thoughts to our team. Glad you felt your experience was at an affordable cost. Hope you will be able to come stay with us again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at the Horton Sept. 6 through Sept. 11, 2013 and I loved it. The decor was very old fashioned and charming and my room was very cozy. I absolutely loved the brand of shampoo and soap they provided. I didn't bring and shampoo with the intention of buying some when I got there and just used theirs! I even hid what I had in my bag so they would give me more. Ha ha! The staff was very friendly and it is a perfect location for sightseeing and going to the Gas Lamp Quarter. Also, you're only 1/2 mile walk from the ferry to Coronado Beach. I had friends stay at a much more expensive hotel by Seaport Village and they were disappointed by their accommodations. I will be returning to the Horton in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in mid-August. The location is great and the valet service was friendly and quick. The location was perfect if you're interested in exploring the Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego. The room wasn't too large but still had a wonderful, quaint ambiance to it. The price was good for the area and time. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews