We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway in the heart of San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Horton Grand Hotel
Ranked #65 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great getaway in the heart of San Diego”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay at this hotel. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms pleasant and inviting, and the staff friendly and helpful. It is easy an easy walk to many places, and the staff will get you a cab right away if needed. They also were great at setting up a wake-up call and cab for the early morning trip to the airport. If you're looking for a unique hotel in the Gaslamp Quarter, this is a great hotel.

A note on the Gaslamp District: it does get noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday nights, and it goes late. It's a popular night spot, and that's why people stay there. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to get a hotel elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    286
    97
    56
    47
See reviews for
63
289
54
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Arrived in San Diego around 11 am (from the East Coast). I had requested an early room knowing my flight times when I made the room reservation - sure enough, my room was ready when I checked in!! This hotel is definitely a nice place for couples - it is smaller hotel (only 4 floors) but is located right in the GasLamp area - close to the Convention Center (two blocks and a train track cross away). The hotel has an open yet closed in Courtyard where we had our Business Conferences' Lunches / Dinners (catered by an outside restaurant). There are No Gym Facilities on the property (though the front desk did tell me about a gym close by or the YMCA). ( I think having a fitness room is good idea - hint hint). My room was nice - King size bed and desk in the room. The bathroom was a little small - but functional -realizing this is a "Boutique" Hotel I was ok with that. The fireplace in the room is a major PLUS! It was so relaxing to come back to my room after dinner - turn on the gas fireplace and fall asleep (fireplace has a timer on it). Parking was $25 per day (they list that on their website) and the Valet was very prompt. My room faced 4th Ave, and was loud at times (till 2am), it didn't bother me, but some of my colleagues state their rooms facing the courtyard or on the other side of the hotel were quite, Except for the rooms facing the alley which received truck deliveries very early in the morning - they told me they were awoken every morning by the trucks. All in all, the hotel is well kept, the staff was very pleasant, and the location is Excellent. There was no restaurant on site so, as I mentioned above, the food for our lunches and the occasional business after-meeting gathering was catered from the outside. - Not a problem because there are PLENTY of restaurants very close by. Nice place - could use a fitness center (convert one of the rooms?).

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard if you want quite. If you want to look out your window and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof4travelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is an amazing hotel in the heart of San Diego, right next to the Gaslamp Quarter (so no parking on site, found the best is down the road near the railway). It looks turn of last century, brick built with bay windows, and very opulently furnished. Lots of wood, fine materials etc. The reception area is to the right of the entrance, fairly compact and traditional.

However, the welcome was very much lacking, even possibly bordering on rude. No acknowledgment, made us wait until they had finished a telephone conversation with out even looking up at us, and once finished was fairly short with us, not pleasant.

As soon as we entered our room, all was forgiven. It looked amazing, with a fireplace, big bay window that overlooked the street with the main entrance, brass bathroom fittings, nice bedding, well decorated etc. Lots of storage and fairly spacious for a city centre location. Internet also worked well. One little issue though, with the bay window and being on the 3rd floor, noise. The street outside was extremely noisy at night with drunks, party goers and idiots in cars showing off. Would suggest staying round the back or in a higher floor.

The restaurant was closed when we wanted to go for breakfast the next morning. However, lots of choice nearby so don't worry. Checkout, we had the same issues as checkin, slow and no acknowledgement. They really do need to sort their staff out.

All in all, a nice play to stay and would have got 5 stars, if it wasn't for the staff on reception.

Room Tip: High room or room tucked round the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. I went to the Horton Grand Hotel with some extended family while vacationing in San Diego, and enjoyed it a lot.I liked the vintage theme to the hotel. Although I've heard many people saying the hotel is "haunted" I wouldn't be scared. My room was kept clean, and was cozy and inviting. The only thing I didn't like was that, my room was facing the busy streets on a Friday. There was fire trucks, people shouting, honking, and loud music. Being awoken by the loud noises, I couldn't go back to sleep. Other then that, this place is really great. One thing that was nice was that, Sea world was only about a 15-20 minute drive. Good place for the people who like staying up late.

Room Tip: If your there for a "ghost expedition": Room 309 If your hoping for a quiet, relaxing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The guy who said don't stay here must be one of those that constantly seeks to find the worst in everything!! This hotel is what it is - a beautifully unusual Victorian hotel not an "uptown modern contemporary bland minimalist same as every other hotel" type hotel. It has history, character and the hotel staff always happy to help. Another great feature is that it's right in the heart of downtown San Diego and best of all the historical Gas lamp district and we found it so easy to get everywhere!!

I love plush luxury hotels of which I have stayed in many over the years and all over the world but the Horton Grande was a breath of fresh air, it was original and just lovely & the price was right! We would certainly stay again without a doubt!! We had an inside room that had a balcony & overlooked the charming courtyard and glass roofed entrance.

By the way we didn't meet any ghosts but there were plenty of good spirits in the bar!!

Room Tip: Inside rooms overlooking courtyard have balconies and quiet. They are not huge rooms but you are usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have been here twice and there is nothing not to like .. the sevice is really good and the staff are friendly . The location is right in the heart of the gas lamp district so you are a few minutes walk from so many good places to eat , drink and dance . Both the rooms and suites are clean and well appointed and the hotel is very attractive . I can't. Imagine a couple not enjoying this place but I'm not sure a large would the gas lamp is great area for partying and shopping but I don't find it to be kid friendly . I love the fact I can find Starbucks , great clubs and great shopping all a short walk away . It's like Portland or frisco but with better weather

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay during our trip to San Diego for my boyfriend's birthday. After reading the reviews online, we specifically requested an interior room and the staff was very acommodating and pleasant. We even decided to extend our stay and they were able to make the arrangements very quickly. I loved the decor and found it to be really clean and cozy. Great convenient location just a short walk away from mostly everything, even Balboa Park (a bit of a hike but doable). Will definitely stay here again next time we visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Property: The Horton Grand Hotel
Address: 311 Island Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6923
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV and welcome bottle water. Valet parking available for charge. Palace Bar open daily at 5:00 pm and Ida Bailey's open for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing