We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horton Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
J Street Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Pendry San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
404
326
115
61
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
326
115
61
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacegaslamp districtconvention centerantique furniturequaint hotelpetco parkchain hotelsvalet parkingsmall balconyceiling fanwithin walking distancehotel baran older hotelrestaurants and barsloved this hotelstreet noisefront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

For someone like me, who staid at thousand of hotels, the Horton Grand is positivity different. Starting with a different looking reception, with a range of old fashion mailboxes as backdrop, and a very friendly receptionist, continuing with the elevator which had a large window to one side looking out to what is best described as a quaint, pretty, antique-shop window. The room with all old (or old looking) furniture, also different. And the bathroom with one of these tank-at-the-ceiling toilets. Quaint.

The room also had a little balcony with a couple of chairs. Nice.

The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Very good.

Wifi was fast and free (as it should be).

But, nothing is ever perfect, and this is the reasons I give this place a 4, not a 5:

1. The walls are thin and you clearly hear the guests in adjacent rooms (including the person who did a lot of walking back and forth in the room above me.)
2. The bedside lights are so bright it lights the room to daylight bright. Yes, it is good to have bright light as an option, but not as the only option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psjofors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Horton is an older hotel with much charm and great location near the convention center and Gaslamp area. We were very happy with it, but if you expect a four star hotel this isn't it. The rooms are furnished with antiques including an old water closet toilet, but everything works and the bed was very comfortable. Free wifi worked well, and we found great restaurants a short walk from there - don't miss Escape Fish Bar and the Mission for breakfast. Very charming smaller hotel with an interesting history in San Diego.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank mndeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Not only is the Horton within walking distance to excellent restaurants and many activities but the renovated rooms are delightful. It is a calm, relaxing oasis on the edge of the Gaslight district. And when we arrived in San Diego via Amtrak at 1:15 am a day earlier than I had booked, the night receptionist, Nancy, immediately found a room for us without charging for the additional night. That's what I call great service!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

right in the heart of the gaslamp district. really easy to get to from the airport. 10 minute ride at most. you can walk to Petco park if the padres are playing. you can walk to the bay for more great restaurants. if you have ever been to the Menger in San Antonio this could be its lil brother hotel.

Room Tip: not that you need it, but my room had a gas fireplace.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregHarrod67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

For the price we got on hotels.com and the location we'd definitely stay at the grand horton again. Some of their rooms were undergoing renovation and it was a bit loud at times but the room/bed was comfortable. A fridge in the room might have been nice but overall the location made up for the downfalls.
Parking for 3 days was 75+tax though unless you find another spot to park.

Room Tip: Enquire as to whether any rooms near you are under renovation. There are many parkades within a block or two that are probably a lot cheaper. than 25$ US per day here.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnna K, Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your review of the Horton Grand Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will chose to join us again in the future. We apologize for the small amount of noise coming from the upgrades that we are completing within the hotel. As you join us the next time you are in town, please consider one of the hotel's Grand Rooms, which features a small living room, and includes a small kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. We also offer Park and Stay packages on our website, which includes parking during your stay. Again we thank your for you stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews