We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next to the marina/pleasant staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Ranked #134 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Tucson
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Next to the marina/pleasant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We've stayed at the Vagabond Inn in Point Loma several times. It is close to Point Loma Seafood, the marinas, and the ocean. I went for a walk along the paved path and down to the docks where I watched pelicans and sea lions wait impatiently for scraps from the fishing boats. I was very nervous upon check-in when I realized that I had made our reservation for the following night, but the manager, Joshua, cleared everything up and we had a quiet, clean, and comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suwilliams15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased we could provide you with a quiet, clean. comfortable room. Sounds like it was just what you needed. My staff and I are grateful for your gracious comments and hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    116
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
81
79
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Familiar with area and Point Loma Seafood restaurant next door were enough reasons to stay here. Off season so rates are low. Greeted by Carlos. Nice kid but needs to smile. Seemed bothered by us at first. We used hotel.com so he seemed a little confused. Smiles don't cost anything. Rooms tiny and a little rundown. Building needs a little loving. Food next door was awesome! Could come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review Chiando. My staff and I appreciate your business and are pleased you have the same reverence for our Point Loma community. While we do not have a team member named Carlos, we will use your comments to better the way we approach service with all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This quiet little motel is in a really great location. Our room was clean, beds are great, with a view of the marina. You must eat at Mitch's, right on the pier, a 2 min walk. If you want to go fishing stay here. If you want to have a nice place to stay and not break the bank stay here. Staff was great! Thanks Vagabond!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
My staff and I are grateful for your business and compliments. We hope to serve you again should you need our great place on the marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 3 nights there. It's dated but clean. The room is very small but good enough if you are only looking for a place to sleep. Really good location for the Marina area. Continental breakfast was minimal but okay. We were going for an early walk every morning due to the excellent location! We tried a couple restaurants in the area. They were good. We paid $17 for a cab to go to Seaworld. We also bought a day pass ($7) for the bus to go to the Zoo and used the this ticket to visit the SD downtown. Yes I would go back to this hotel!

A couple in their forties + 13 year old

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your comments. My staff and I are pleased you find our location convenient and of value. Great information concerning you commute around our city area. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I go to San Diego yearly and stay here each time. It is right by the boardwalk and marina and close to everything I love to go to after I am done working. They are updating at the Vagabond and it is really looking great. Kudos to them! There is a continental breakfast they serve and while I am down by the front desk the night clerk Isabel helps start my day. She is wonderful, friendly, knowledgable and just fun. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are delighted to serve you Katrina. Thank you for your comments. Nothing motivates my staff and I more than a satisfied guest. Isabel will be pleased to hear about you review and morning experience in our lobby. We look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

It's in a terrific neighborhood, near the airport and in the heart of Point Loma. Clean, friendly, and a bargain. I'm especially grateful to them because I had booked here a week or so ago, then broke my leg last night. Thanks to Hector and the manager, they waived my charges, even though it was well within their rights to keep my $$$ as there is a 24-hour cancellation rule. But they understood and were compassionate and so I will be back at the Vagabond Inn again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baltimorecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. My staff and I always try to do everything we can in the name of service. We are pleased it results satisfied loyal guests such as your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

If you're not after 5 stars, this is the place to stay. Value for your $$$. Beautiful if you want to stroll around the Marina. We even got a free seal show which was unexpected and exciting for adults and kids alike. Nice food with 5 minute walks. Breakfast ok better than nothing. Pool nice and clean. I would stay here again. Can be a little hard to find.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hills2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondinnpl, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our property. My staff and I could not be more pleased to know that you, our guest had an enjoyable stay at our property and enjoyed all the things that make our community what it is. We hear the sea lions at times, but it cannot be missed when taking the morning stroll around the marina and Shelter Island. We are grateful for your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#140 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#106 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Property: Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Address: 1325 Scott Street, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing