We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury and elegance in San Diego”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #32 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury and elegance in San Diego”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just stayed at the Westgate and was really impressed with the service and elegance of this European-inspired hotel. Every staff is professional and very service-oriented; they went out of their way to be helpful - maps, dinner recommendations and reservations and more. When they realized that the two of us were in separate rooms but relatives they went out of their way to put us on the same floor. The hotel is furnished in antiques collected on a long buying trip through Europe. The lobby is a recreation of a room in the Palace of Versailles in France (note the huge Baccarat crystal chandeliers and impressive oil paintings), and the enormous bedrooms are as comfortable as you could ask for. The bathroom had a separate vanity area, another room for the toilet, and a huge shower - fabulous. The bedroom was the most inviting hotel room ever - I didn't want to leave it. The owners also have several luxury resorts, but this is obviously their pride and joy. Heartily recommended. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandAmerica, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind review. I am honored to share reviews like yours to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Westgate Hotel.

Kind regards,
Sarah Gunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    297
    90
    38
    19
See reviews for
146
314
67
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We reserved for the queen beds and when we arrived they said that we have a king size bed bedroom and there is no other room available. After 20 minutes, they finally gave us a two double beds bedroom, but we reserved for two queens, so we asked to add another bed and they answered me we can only give you others pillows and sleep on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jp021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Loved, loved loved this hotel. The staff are exemplary, the rooms elegant and comfortable. Pool area sublime. Doesn't disappoint in any way, the convenient location in the gaslamp quarter and close to a lovely open air mall. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

When we booked our trip on Expedia, this hotel showed up as an option to book at the same time as the flight so we took a gamble knowing nothing about the hotel. It turned out to be a great choice. The hotel has an old world charm that new hotels just can't match. An ornate lobby, marble elevators and lovely rooms. The bathroom vanity area and separate room for the toilet and shower (loved the huge shower) were unique, practical and beautiful. Free wi-fi. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. Main bus and trolley routes were just steps away and it was a short walk to the Coaster train station. There are lots of restaurants close by and it was easy to get to the zoo. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: We had a quiet room away from the trolleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offthewalldesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is convenient to many things in downtown San Diego. Most good restaurants are within walking distance. The service at the front desk was courteous and helpful. Overnight hotel parking is $32 which is normal, come and go privileges as many times as you want. There is a $15 daily hotel fee for turndown sevice and wireless access. The wireless never worked in our room and after calling the front desk three separate occasions and being transfered to their tech support staff it was still never fixed. They did waive the $15 fee which is ok but we would have rather had wireless.
The bed was not too comfortable but other than that a nice hotel at a competitive price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thexprt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

My friend and I are on our way home to Oklahoma now after our four night stay at the Westgate Hotel. We had never been to San Diego before and from the minute we walked in, we felt at home, despite the very rich feel of this hotel. Shraddha Carlin, Chief Concierge and David, Front Desk, werw absolutely wonderful!! They went above and beyond for us and made us feel like we were their most favorite guests ever! If not for Shraddha, we would have been lost most of the time and would not have seen and done the things that we did in our short stay! Because of all the wonderful suggestions and information, we fell in love with your beautiful city and hope to return with our families next summer! David was just the sweetest and generous man! He even arranged our check out time be extended by an hour to accomodate our later flight home. I can honestly say that I would love to have these two people at my house so I could return the hospitality shown to us! I look forward to seeing San Diego again and will be sure to check in with my new best friends before we get there! !

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I checked in a little bit earlier than check in time and was greeted by this front desk agent, Rachel. She was amazing! So knowledgeable, understanding, and really displayed wonderful customer service. I recommend waiting in line for a few extra minutes to have her help you, well worth it!

The rooms were adorable, old fashioned but very nicely furnished. It reminded me of a "home away from home".
Great location to the conference areas too and the gaslamp!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing