We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

you want luxury, then look no further than The Westgate Hotel. their service is impeccable and the hotel is beautiful. I was lucky enough to stay in one of their suites and it is an experience I won't soon forget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veebeewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardCox, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your Five Star review! Please come and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for The Westgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Superb location and very pretty hotel. Large room for our family of 4 with 2 double beds, massive bathroom and seating area. Not keen on french decor in reception and other rooms but looked very grand. Unfortunately the hot tub on the roof top pool area wasn't working but the children enjoyed a run around the running track around it instead. The valet parking worked very for us and they couldn't have been more accommodating to my needs to go back a couple of times to get things from a suitcase in the boot. Great time had here and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardCox, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always interested in hearing what our guests enjoy the most about our property. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Westgate Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Westgate Hotel is a lovely french provincial style hotel in downtown San Diego. The location is perfect - walking distance to the piers and gaslamp district, close to most everything in San Diego.The rooms were large and comfortable - made it fun to actually stay in the room instead of going out! The bathrooms are large as well, and the shower was wonderful. They provide a turn down service with chocolates - nice. Oddly enough, I loved the air conditioning - it didn't feel like it was blowing directly on us as in other hotels - central air instead. We did have some odd stains on the carpet that made us wonder, but it's not like you can replace that every time there is a spill, and it was very clean. We visited the rooftop pool (a very nice pool) a couple of times, although the first time we went our key didn't work upon asking was told we needed to use the opposite gate - which was in an area featuring a reception. We did not want to walk through someone's reception wearing robes and suits, so we opted not to go. As this was our only vacation for a while, we were very pleased with the Westgate and were able to relax and feel pampered.

Room Tip: I noticed many said pick a room not on the side of the trolley. We were on that side, but on the 8th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hopnrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fantastic pool area with outdoor workout and treadmill facility. Room service brings a bucket of ice and chocolates each evening, which we both thought was a nice touch. Great big room in a grand style hotel in a perfect location. Booked on Hotwire.com for a great price.

Room Tip: High rooms have a view of the Coronado Bridge. Beautiful at night!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at the Westgate for a business trip and the room was huge and well appointed. They have a great outdoor pool and deck which I took advantage of. Had a good breakfast in the restaurant though the service was incredibly slow, even though there was only one other occupied table. My only dis is one of personal taste. The hotel's furnishings felt very heavy to me, in the style of Louis the something. I thought the lobby looked somewhat dated and tired. Other than that, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardCox, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear JMargo,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I have shared your comments with the staff in an effort to improve our services where possible.

I understand that you were here on business, if you would be interested in hearing about our corporate rates and our Executive Club program please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 619.557.3619

Sincerely,

Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

From start to finish, top to bottom, the Westgate hotel exceeds anything you could imagine for syle, comfort, service, dinig, location, and experience in hospitality. We stayed there to celebrate my husband's birthday and dined in La Fontainebleau for brunch. It was such an amazing experience that we decided to make this an annual event!

The rooftop pool and facilities are outstanding. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and all have excellent views.

The staff is knowledgeable and professional.

Valet parking is available as well as paid parking nearby, but we were able to park nearby for free on the street with just a short walk to hotel. (time restrictions do apply)

The troey is just outside the hotel, but not a distraction at all. There is a plethora of shops, restaurants, and attractions just steps away from the hotel including Horton's Westfield Plaza Mall.

We will definitely stay at the Westgate again!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is location of pool and workout/spa facilities, the higher rooms have amazing views and le...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardCox, Director of Operations at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Sonja O.
Thank you for your amazing Five Star review. We were thrilled to read your review and take such pride in your comments.

We hope that we can welcome you back to The Westgate Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Gunter
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location. You can walk to shopping, the Gaslamp District, the harbor, and Seaport Village. It is great for night life. The hotel is right next to the tram, so you do hear the sounds of the train frequently. If you get a room on a higher floor, the noise isn't bad. The hotel decor was beautiful and the room itself was very spacious. The shower had great water pressure and the bed was comfortable. Keep in mind that parking downtown is expensive and the hotel does charge $32 a day for parking. The only real complaint I have is that the elevator broke during stay and it was out for a good hour. Although they have stairs the doors only open on the lower level, so we were basically locked out of our room until the elevator was working again. It was bad timing for us because we needed to change and then head out to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid the street noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JK1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#58 of 278 in San Diego
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#43 of 278 in San Diego
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £138 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing