We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in good location and very clean. Decor was a bit old fashioned. Room was large with big vanity. We could hear the train and sirens outside but it did not really bother us. We could hear the neighbors leaving in the morning also. Cookies were good but hard to come by. We didn't eat in the hotel. The restaurant and bar were not very lively.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HamptonPDX123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    297
    90
    38
    19
See reviews for
146
314
67
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You can't go wrong with the location and price of this hotel! Stayed here in Feb,2014 and was a few minutes walk from Gas Lamp or 10 minute walk to the harbour! A mall is right next to the hotel as well! House keeping was great, large rooms, comfy beds, has a gym, roof top pool. Pretty much anywhere you go with a car you will have to pay approx. 25-30 dollars to park at hotel, but I knew this already. If you really want to find free parking downtown you have to put the effort in and actually go hunting for one along the road. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

You cant fault the furnishings and room size although the style is definitely to taste its by no means offensive. Arrived after a pretty long flight and the staff were patient whilst i checked out a couple of rooms before going for a small and reasonably priced upgrade for a bay view.
After a couple of days it struck me how friendly the hotel staff were from doorman to breakfast and reception. Not in your face friendly or i want a tip friendly just happy friendly people.
The location was good too, on the doorstep of fifth for bars and restaurants, but set back enough for a good nights sleep. Tram stop right around the corner, and five minutes walk to the convention centre.
Have used the Hilton and Marriott in SD before, this hotel is just as good but with soul and in SD i believe that's an important ingredient.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with bay view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear jon n-

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westgate Hotel.
We are delighted that the service quality and facility met your expectations in every way. We are also humbled by your kind remarks about our staff. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights last week. The lobby is opulent and reminded me of The Ritz, London. There is a harpist playing soothing music. The reception staff are not only very friendly and helpful but they are genuine and laid back. My room was huge and felt like a small apartment. I loved the layout and it felt very luxurious. I can't wait to return to this great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at The Westgate. The rooms are huge, everything functions well and the place exudes quality -if from a bygone era! There is a lovely bar area, restaurant and outside pool area -as well as basic gym facilities. The staff and service were excellent. When it was built in the early 80's, it was the best hotel in San Diego. If you like chandeliers, elegant furnishings, a sense of opulence and vast bowls of fresh flowers -you'll love The Westgate!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JandJPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is stunning when you go into the reception, staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable. It's in a great location to get to anywhere you need to. Rooms are spacious and well decorated. The room service I received was brilliant and for the price I was very impressed for the large portion sizes. Overall a top class hotel with top class service I would definitely stay here again, The staff are all happy and cannot do enough for you which I think makes the hotel special.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear thegroove -

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We are especially humbled by your kind words about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westgate Hotel in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Westgate Hotel: it is centrally located and walking distance from the San Diego Convention Center I needed to visit every day. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, breakfast is delicious and offers a really good selection. There is a free wi-fi, both in the lobby and in the rooms!
The staff at the front desk is very helpful and kind, as well as the doormen. My special mention goes to the Chief Concierge Shraddha Carlin, on whose assistance and lovely manners I could count during my stay. Spending a good part of my day at a welcome desk in the splendid lobby, I could see her dedicating herself to all the guests with competence, friendliness and grace, always smiling. An unforgettable stay, indeed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing