We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westgate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
571
313
91
39
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
313
91
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschief conciergerunning trackhorton plazagaslamp districtturn down serviceroom serviceelegant hoteldouble doorsrooftop poolresort feevalet parkingtrolley stopper daylarge bathroomstreet noisebusiness centerthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel is directly across the street from NBC studios, the higher the floor the better the view. You can see the water from higher floors. Near Restaurants, Shopping, tours, etc. Yummy brunch. The hotel is beautiful, rugs, paintings, piano, Doorman and onsite parking (valet). Prices were reasonable. A book of dignitaries, movie stars who have stayed there are in each room.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was and still is the most romantic hotel we have stayed in. The old antique feel and friendly people make this my favorite place to stay! The showers were AMAXING! The concierge was so helpful and pleasant, we felt so welcomed. Within walking distance to pick up trolley or train to go about town, or stay local for the great locals.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Luvbug1367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is an amazing property with an antique finish to the entire hotel. Really centrally located and amazing place to stay. I highly recommend this place . The charges are very appropriate for what it has to offer.

Room Tip: look for the sea facing rooms. Amazing view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joydeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My 17 year old daughter and I decided to take a trip to San Diego and just "wing it" for a week in warmth and sunshine. We booked our stay at the Westgate on a whim and could not have been more pleased with the outcome. The service was OUTSTANDING - and the chief concierge flawlessly directed us to everything we had on our mind. From the perfect breakfast spot in the Gaslamp district, to the perfect bike rental company (they delivered them right to the hotel for us!) to the perfect sushi bar....she was spot on every time! We were able to walk to EVERYTHING - even the Boardwalk - which made it easy to explore the city. As adventurous as I tend to be, I'm certain that I will default back to the Westgate the next time I visit San Diego. They just know how to do it right!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Lisa B-

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at The Westgate. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad to hear that we have earned your loyalty as a lodging choice in San Diego. Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Enter the world of The Westgate Hotel, and you enter into a world of elegance, majesty and graciousness few places in the world offer.

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Westgate, and from the moment our cab door from the airport was opened, eveyone, from the doorman on, treated us to a specialness one might give to heads of state. All that was missing was papparazzi.

Louis the 16th furniture, grand mirrors by makers who's names I cannot pronounce, Baccarat crystal chandeliers and more, greet the guest in a lobby two stories tall. Greeting from the desk staff included smiles and the notion that they had been waiting for us. In fact, if memory serves, I believe those were their words!

Dinner, presented by Mathieu Courtin, was a gastronomic wonder. Simple Dover Sole was transformed into a culinary work of art. His wine recommendation and how it enhanced the food, brought us to his complete mercy and expertise. It was an amazement. How he brought divergent, even competing, tastes to a flaming Baked Alaska and harmonized them, astounds me even now. The next evening with Salmon and Cherries Jubilee...well you get the idea.

Turn down service in our rooms with mints, of course. Ice bucket filled, bath robe set out, of course. Quiet music filling the bedroom to greet the guest, who have entered the room, not from the hallway, but from a pleasant foyer off the hallway, marvelous.

The entire hotel is resplendent in draperies and furniture belonging to an era of craftmanship and a devotion to beauty seldom, if ever, seen in today's world. And, if you are lucky, you may make the acquaintance of the Chief Concierge, Shraddha Carlin. With a sophisticated and delightful exuberance she goes far out her way, (and even out of the building) to help every guest solve the most trivial matter.

When you are in San Diego with a desire for true elegance and graciousness, that hotel on Coronado is not the one. The Westgate is.

Room Tip: We had room 997. It was delightful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear William Z -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westgate. We are humbled by your kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests appreciate our facilities and the service they receive.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westgate in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews