We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great San Diego Location”
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
Ranked #28 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great San Diego Location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Westgate Hotel is as close as you get to a resort outside of the Caribbean. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Every night when we returned to our room, there were chocolates on our bed and a full ice bucket in our room! The hotel is conveniently located in San Diego. We were able to walk to great restaurants and all over the Gaslamp area. It's close to the trolley and buses that can get you anywhere you need to go. The hotel has a historic and glamorous vibe. I had a wonderful time and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    299
    92
    39
    19
See reviews for
152
318
67
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monterey park, ca
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014. Valet parking is underground and $32/day. At check in, they upgraded us to a room on a higher floor (nice touch and nicer view). The hotel is situated on the edge of the gas lamp district and literally across the street from Horton Plaza. We walked around the gas lamp district for drinks and dinner. The rooms are nice size with a big bathroom sink and sitting area. The shower is a combo with a square bath tub. Turn down service happened every night. We also had the sunday brunch at the hotel (45/pp) including drinks( we had mimosas and bloody mary's. A nice selection of hot and cold items including a caviar bar with all the fixings. Probably one of the best hotels i've stayed at in San Diego. Would return.

Room Tip: probably the higher the better. there was some ambulance noise. not sure if we are near a hospital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quickjaunt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Simply one of the best hotel I have stayed in , fabulously decadent old style glamour and excellent customer service , I felt like a movie star !! It was just lovely in every way , cannot wait to come back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzim44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Westgate is one of those special hotels you will remember for the rest of your life. Impeccable decor and world class service. Anything you need is a phone call away. The front desk staff was very professional and got us in our room earlier than we anticipated. Shraddha Carlin was wonderful booking 2 trips for us. In addition her dining recommendations were spot on. She even knew the sports bar for us to view the World Cup games in a friendly comfortable environment. The showers were roomy and luxurious and the king size bed was very inviting. The location near a shopping plaza and the gaslamp district made everything very convenient for us to walk to. When we return to SD, the Westgate will be our hotel of choice. Kudos to their Customer Service focus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakajest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The fasciities are lovely beautiful room well kept, lovely staff very very friendly and helpful. Lovely large pool with nice fresh water machine , although it topped up when it ran out.
But all night this piano and saxophone jaz back ground music from the lobby. I was on the 10 th floor and when I called my mother she could hear it. Then more music by the pool. I would rather provide my own music but just want peace and quiet. Why this music all night. Even when I called down it was still playing. Shame as the hotel is so nice.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't play this jaz music all night it disturbs your rest
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent really recycle and don't force you to have air con like some hotels when it's not necessary
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine747771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not only is Shraddha Carlin an excellent concierge, she would be the reason I would return to The Westgate Hotel in San Diego, California! Do not get me wrong, The Westgate Hotel is beautiful and inviting. The decor, French antiques with warm rich colors on the walls. AND, Shraddha was ever present when calling on the telephone (from the east coast) or walking up to her desk in the lobby at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were in town for business but we felt like we were on vacation. The staff were always welcoming, smiling and at the ready. Without our asking, they upgraded our room and we had a beautiful room with water views and a view of the Coronado bridge, not to mention the bright lights of the city at night. We stepped into a relaxing room at night with turndown service and soft music playing on the radio. At lunch we would bring food up to the room, open the double doors to the balcony and it would be like having a picnic. The infinity pool was very inviting and a very comfortable temperature, hot tub spacious. The lobby was beautiful. Overall a 5-star feel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,003 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,455 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Property: The Westgate Hotel
Address: 1055 2nd Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4811
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing