We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place near Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #186 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Barrie, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Place near Bay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Marina Inn is in Little Italy and close to many restaurants and near the bay. Service is alright, not helpful with tours or transport. Breakfast is alright. The rooms are outdated and moderately clean but the ceilings are thin.

Room Tip: Try getting on the second floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    173
    95
    29
    55
See reviews for
87
153
48
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twentynine Palms, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I had a bit of a disaster in a booking and were left in a lurch. We managed a two night booking at the Motel. The room was appointed with minimum fittings and two queen beds, no tea or coffee but they provided breakfast. Might I add the staff were helpful, and curteous. The bathrooms have had a makeover but they are spray tiles and chips etc were evident. Honestly for the price we were happy, we had a good sleep, it was walking distance to little Italy and also other key tourist items we wanted to see. It allowed us to make arrangements to catch up with our friends where our prior booking fell short. If you are left short this place will accomodate you.

Room Tip: Its a budget motel with a reasonable breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin300762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nothing big about this place, it's small, cozy,and has a very fast check in process. Very close to the airport. Cabs arrive here fairly quickly and the cost is very cheap for the transportation. I would gladly recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoGlobeTrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

They charged a homeless family $19.00 for three hand towels, they said that they cant get clean. We have an 18 month little boy that likes to clean with wash clothes. This is one hotel that we will never stay at again. In fact we went all day without towels because the maid forgot all about us,she said 20 minutes and it turned into 5 hours that aint right.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyRiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I want to thank you for your response, your feelings and comments are super important to us. We try to deliver a great, clean, comfortable and modern room at a reasonable price point. In order for us to continue to maintain our standards and still have great room prices we have to keep costs down. When you damaged your towels we can not give those to other guests nor can we throw them away with out charging you. It's only fair to charge you for your action then to pass on these costs to the next guests. I hope you understand we are trying to be honest and fair.
- Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I feel awkward giving a mixed review. This motel had a lot going for it.

First, the location is great if you are comfortable walking 2-6 blocks, but I was having problems with leg fatigue, and the closest food I found was 2-1/2 blocks away, up a slight hill.

The rooms were clean and nice, and the staff was great. Monica is perhaps the most helpful front desk person I've ever met. I arrived early, and she stored my bags for me while I went to lunch. When I checked into my room, I found that it had only one nightstand, and it was on the wrong side of the bed for me {there is a reason why this is important}. Monica graciously moved me to a newly remodeled room. As I was unpacking, I came to the conclusion that this room was designed by someone who had never stayed in a motel before ! There was no available counter space. One nightstand was taken by the ice bucket, and the other by the coffee maker and there was no shelf in the bathroom. I had to rest my toiletries on the back of the toilet tank. The curtains were full length and completely covered the A/C unit. I needed to rig the curtains with a pillow to get any airflow in the room. You really can't leave the window open because of the jet noise from the nearby airport. I don't know what the other rooms were like, but I wouldn't want to stay in either of the rooms I saw in the future. This would probably be a great place for many people, but it didn't work for me.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiffCanlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The rooms are very nice and tidy. Bed and furniture look brand new. Close to Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village, and airport. The staff were friendly as well! I made a last minute booking on Expedia and was still able to get a non-smoking room on a busy weekend. This place is great and efficient!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is conveniently located to downtown, the airport, and all of San Diego's attractions. The San Diego trolley is only two blocks away. Save your gas. Leave the car at the hotel and take the trolley to the Gaslamp District for great restaurants, to the Padres game or Chargers game, or to Tijuana, Mexico. From this hotel you don't need your car to get to very many places. For this low budget hotel, the conveniences makes this a great stay. We will definitely come back to stay at the Marina Inn in future trips to San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellio2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#134 of 278 in San Diego
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing