We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure I will comeback!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #187 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice hotel near all turistic places and with a good rate, the reception was very friendly and they provide alla necesary to get a good stay so sure when i come to San Diego i will come back to marina inn!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Location is excellent – walking distance to USS Midway, Little Italy, even Gaslamp District. Rooms are nice, free fridge, free parking. The only negative is no hairdryer. Each day I had to go or sent my husband to reception to borrow hairdryer. But beside this no major negatives. Really nice hotel for decent money. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The person who checked us in was alright but asked us to pay deposit even though we payed with our major credit card. (Maybe because we looked young) and looked at me and my fiance and asked her like "one room?"(Shocked)
Yes that's what we had reserved for.

Few problems:

There was no chair in the room. Fridge didn't work. AC vents kept falling down so we had to put toilet paper in the corner to keep them up. Toilet seat was broken, when we told them he was like "oh we did our inspection today and we know" well if you knew then why did you give us this room?

Parking is limited.

Few good things: close to downtown, little Italy and many bars and restaurants.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Akshay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I booked and paid for this on line via expedia. It was a reasonable price. When we arrived we were asked for a $50 room deposit. What I had not realised when booking was that the motel is on a busy corner with the trains running along behind it. The room was dingy and moderately clean. The shower base was stained and the bathroom was tiny, so small in fact that even though they had hung the smallest size door in the bathroom, they had cut a wedge out of the edge of the door so it would clear the toilet seat when it closed. When we awoke the next morning there was a police car in the parking lot with its lights flashing. Although I had booked for 2 nights this was not an establishment I felt safe or comfortable in. When I went to inform the man at the desk that we wished to cancel the 2nd night he said that because I had booked through expedia there was nothing he could do. I found that strange as I'm sure that expedia function as a broker and pay the hotel therefore it is up to the hotel to agree to a refund or not. He would not budge so we left and hence one of the very few negative reviews I have written over the year. Expedia are investigating.

Room Tip: There are no quiet rooms and no elevators so if you get an upstairs room you need to carry your case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailfish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Marina Inn is in Little Italy and close to many restaurants and near the bay. Service is alright, not helpful with tours or transport. Breakfast is alright. The rooms are outdated and moderately clean but the ceilings are thin.

Room Tip: Try getting on the second floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I had a bit of a disaster in a booking and were left in a lurch. We managed a two night booking at the Motel. The room was appointed with minimum fittings and two queen beds, no tea or coffee but they provided breakfast. Might I add the staff were helpful, and curteous. The bathrooms have had a makeover but they are spray tiles and chips etc were evident. Honestly for the price we were happy, we had a good sleep, it was walking distance to little Italy and also other key tourist items we wanted to see. It allowed us to make arrangements to catch up with our friends where our prior booking fell short. If you are left short this place will accomodate you.

Room Tip: Its a budget motel with a reasonable breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin300762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nothing big about this place, it's small, cozy,and has a very fast check in process. Very close to the airport. Cabs arrive here fairly quickly and the cost is very cheap for the transportation. I would gladly recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoGlobeTrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 286 in San Diego
516 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#57 of 286 in San Diego
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £58 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Inn & Suites is an affordable hotel located two blocks away from the San Diego Bay in Little Italy. Guests have ease of access to beaches, shopping, restaurants, nightlife and theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing