We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, dirty & noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #186 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Horrible!!! I'd give it a negative 5 stars but this website made me put at least 1 star to be able to publish my comment. The place smelled awful (like someone died), linens were dirty and management refused to do anything to correct the problem, or to compensate me for not being able to stay in a room that smelled like a combo between death and sewage.

Yeah, I wasn't in the room for 5 minutes, asked to checkout and get a refund, and after 2 weeks of haggling with management (and not having calls returned) they inform me that the owner will not refund my money.

Would NOT recommend this chain to anyone, and OBTW, they're affiliated with Vagabond Inn in Hotel Circle so you may want to steer clear of that one too. The owner is a real tool!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ms. Kathy H,

First of all we wish to thank you, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about our hotel. We welcome any and all feedback because it allows us to grow and evolve as a company and as a customer care provider.
One of our recent endeavors to grow was the remodeling and upgrade of about seven rooms at our Marina Inn and Suites property. At the time of your stay we were right in the midst of the construction which unfortunately resulted in our hotel not meeting our usual standards.
Also, during our effort to upgrade our facility and family style rooms we also: hired a housekeeping supervisor, had to replace our longtime manager, and instigated a bigger offering for our complementary breakfast.
These changes of staff, construction, and the expansion of breakfast were part of a transitional period for our hotel. This does not excuse linens being dirty but hopefully sheds some light on why our hotel was not at its best during this transformation period.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We ask that if you are ever in San Diego again that you reconsider our hotel and what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Never thought I'd a hotel so close and well priced for the location. Only stayed one night but would stay again. The only negative was the small parking but good thing I own a Prius C! Other than that the place was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msallig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. On a busy road but then many Hotels are. Across the road and at the waterfront. 5 mins walk to hop on/off trolley tours of the city and also the floating museum.

In the flight path of the incoming planes landing in San Diego but we found that very entertaining as one lands or departs every 90 seconds due to being a one runway airfield.

Was clean tidy, breakfast provided. Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed here two nights. Just drove in off the road and got the last room. was great middle of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Great location right along the harbor and only a few blocks from the USS Midway, Petco Park and other attractions like the Gaslamp District. Monica at the front desk was very kind and friendly! Rooms were comfy and clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cpmt3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice hotel near all turistic places and with a good rate, the reception was very friendly and they provide alla necesary to get a good stay so sure when i come to San Diego i will come back to marina inn!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Location is excellent – walking distance to USS Midway, Little Italy, even Gaslamp District. Rooms are nice, free fridge, free parking. The only negative is no hairdryer. Each day I had to go or sent my husband to reception to borrow hairdryer. But beside this no major negatives. Really nice hotel for decent money. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. The person who checked us in was alright but asked us to pay deposit even though we payed with our major credit card. (Maybe because we looked young) and looked at me and my fiance and asked her like "one room?"(Shocked)
Yes that's what we had reserved for.

Few problems:

There was no chair in the room. Fridge didn't work. AC vents kept falling down so we had to put toilet paper in the corner to keep them up. Toilet seat was broken, when we told them he was like "oh we did our inspection today and we know" well if you knew then why did you give us this room?

Parking is limited.

Few good things: close to downtown, little Italy and many bars and restaurants.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Akshay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 286 in San Diego
516 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#56 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £58 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Inn & Suites is an affordable hotel located two blocks away from the San Diego Bay in Little Italy. Guests have ease of access to beaches, shopping, restaurants, nightlife and theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing