We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Price for Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #194 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
“Great Price for Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked a night because of the loction and proximity to Hornblower's Harbor cruise. Less than 5 minute walk. Also short walking distance to Little Italy and waterfront sites. Our room (216) was clean and fresh the bed was firm and to be honest the only thing I would say one could complain about was the shower stall was somewhat worn but definitely not unclean. The front desk staff was friendly and offered suggestions on local sites. For the price and location you can't find a better place to stay in San Diego. One drawback is limited parking. I'd suggest checking in as early as possible to get a parking spot

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mr. MarkSolie,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review about our Marina Inn and Suites hotel. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the effort you took in noticing how clean our housekeeping staff keep the rooms at all times and for noticing how friendly and informative our customer service is.
We are very proud of our location and the beautiful sites it has to offer as well as easy proximity to so many wonderful activities that San Diego provides: Hornblower’s Harbor Cruise, SeaWorld, tour the Star of India and much, much more.
We try our best to be fair with all of our guests but most of all we try to provide the best stay that we can. Again, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about our hotel and hope to have you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    161
    90
    29
    53
See reviews for
79
143
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Horrible!!! I'd give it a negative 5 stars but this website made me put at least 1 star to be able to publish my comment. The place smelled awful (like someone died), linens were dirty and management refused to do anything to correct the problem, or to compensate me for not being able to stay in a room that smelled like a combo between death and sewage.

Yeah, I wasn't in the room for 5 minutes, asked to checkout and get a refund, and after 2 weeks of haggling with management (and not having calls returned) they inform me that the owner will not refund my money.

Would NOT recommend this chain to anyone, and OBTW, they're affiliated with Vagabond Inn in Hotel Circle so you may want to steer clear of that one too. The owner is a real tool!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ms. Kathy H,

First of all we wish to thank you, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about our hotel. We welcome any and all feedback because it allows us to grow and evolve as a company and as a customer care provider.
One of our recent endeavors to grow was the remodeling and upgrade of about seven rooms at our Marina Inn and Suites property. At the time of your stay we were right in the midst of the construction which unfortunately resulted in our hotel not meeting our usual standards.
Also, during our effort to upgrade our facility and family style rooms we also: hired a housekeeping supervisor, had to replace our longtime manager, and instigated a bigger offering for our complementary breakfast.
These changes of staff, construction, and the expansion of breakfast were part of a transitional period for our hotel. This does not excuse linens being dirty but hopefully sheds some light on why our hotel was not at its best during this transformation period.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We ask that if you are ever in San Diego again that you reconsider our hotel and what we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Indio, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Never thought I'd a hotel so close and well priced for the location. Only stayed one night but would stay again. The only negative was the small parking but good thing I own a Prius C! Other than that the place was decent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msallig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zeland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. On a busy road but then many Hotels are. Across the road and at the waterfront. 5 mins walk to hop on/off trolley tours of the city and also the floating museum.

In the flight path of the incoming planes landing in San Diego but we found that very entertaining as one lands or departs every 90 seconds due to being a one runway airfield.

Was clean tidy, breakfast provided. Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed here two nights. Just drove in off the road and got the last room. was great middle of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Great location right along the harbor and only a few blocks from the USS Midway, Petco Park and other attractions like the Gaslamp District. Monica at the front desk was very kind and friendly! Rooms were comfy and clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cpmt3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice hotel near all turistic places and with a good rate, the reception was very friendly and they provide alla necesary to get a good stay so sure when i come to San Diego i will come back to marina inn!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Location is excellent – walking distance to USS Midway, Little Italy, even Gaslamp District. Rooms are nice, free fridge, free parking. The only negative is no hairdryer. Each day I had to go or sent my husband to reception to borrow hairdryer. But beside this no major negatives. Really nice hotel for decent money. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#174 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Property: Marina Inn and Suites
Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing