We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, near downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
Ranked #186 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This hotel is a very basic, inexpensive hotel so I was not expecting a lot. It is a good place to stay if you need to crash for a few days without the frills.

Pros: The bed was comfy and the pillows were fluffy, staff was very friendly and helpful, it was within walking distance to the train as well as other places (gaslamp, midway, conference center), room was clean, free wireless

Cons: Breakfast was very basic (oatmeal, coffee, boxes of cereal, hardboiled eggs, juice/milk), it was near a busy and loud (during the day) intersection, it was close enough to the airport to hear the planes coming and going.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ournamehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

On aug. 11 they lost our reservation and they send us on Vagabond inn on circle street
at 300 ft. of the freeway 8 . in a room of the 80's dirty and noisy its a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marcuss35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed here for a Dodgers-Padres Game. Loved the location, within walking distance to many attractions. Continental Breakfast, Very Clean Rooms, Very friendly and helpul staff specially from the front desk (John!). We now have a special place to stay on our next trip to San Diego.Thanks for making us feel like home! Go Dodgers!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADodgersFan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Came down with the wife for the last day of ComicCon. I found the people behind the desk very helpful. Especially John. I'd forgotten my ComicCon tickets so he suggested I email him the link so he could print them out for me. He was also very attentive and caught that one of the tickets I emailed him didn't have a barcode (which I needed), so I resent it to him and he printed it out again. The room was clean. And the location was great, being only a couple of minutes walk from the Harbor Front. This is essentially a small, two story motel, not a hotel, but it's a good one. It has your basic amenities, HBO, wi-fi, and a bare-bones continental breakfast - wrapped muffins, fruit, cereal and porridge, plus coffee and orange juice. The room was expensive, but it was ComicCon and every jacks up their prices for it. And it was actually the cheapest one I could find on Hotwire. So no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

There is nothing under $200 available for the week of Comic Con (7/21-7/25) in San Diego, we were pleasantly surprise to find this hotel with a kids' suite (bunk beds in a separate room) under $200 per night. Having two queen beds and a separate bunk bed was great for our sleeping comfort!
The hotel location was just right close to all the public transportation (trolley, Amtrak) and one block from the Comic Con bus route, which saves us rental car and parking money. You can hear the trains at times, especially when Amtrak honks its horn. However, we see it as a trade off of convenience and we would rather have the convenience. So overall, it was not a problem for us.
I read the reviews by other customers beforehand and remembered John was mentioned as the most friendly staff member. Indeed, he was the one greeted us when we check-in and every morning. He made us feel right at home.
The continental breakfast was sufficient for us to do a "brunch", there were muffins, coffee, OJ, milk, cereal etc., the best was the hard boiled egg. It was served at their very compacted lobby area, but everything was clean and well-presented.
Probably the only thing I would comment is the newly painted kid's suite still has the paint smell, and it could become bothersome if you have the window closed. If you do not open all windows (3) in the room, sometimes the ventillation gets bad.
This is not a Marriott or Hilton (can't even get in this week, or at $400 a night), however, very much a true-to-value stay for our travel. Will recommend for stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This motel is located minutes from downtown and the gaslamp quarter, and seconds from little italy. The rates were reasonable, and the rooms were clean, but it was the service that stood out for us. Emily at the front desk was very helpful in recommending a place for us to dine that evening, and my husband and I ended up having a lovely and romantic first night in San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinez80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My wife and I went to San diego this past weekend and we stayed
at the Marina Inn and Suites. My wife is very particular about where
she stays but she loved this place. The hotel was great, offered many amenities,
close to the airport, and the rates were reasonable in comparison to other
hotels in the nearby area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darshanjp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 279 in San Diego
511 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#62 of 279 in San Diego
698 reviews
La Pensione
#133 of 279 in San Diego
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2217
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £57 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Inn and Suites, conveniently located next to the San Diego Int'l Airport, Lindbergh Field. Only 300 yards from the beautiful bay of San Diego, our phenomenal location and customer service is exceptionally outstanding! Just two blocks from little Italy rich with restaurants and beauty, and a few short miles from the Gaslamp District,which features an abundance of restaurants, night clubs, shopping and museums. If you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from PETCO PARK home of the San Diego Padres. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Microwave and Refrigerator available upon request, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing