We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #183 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I am part of a committee that hosted an event at the Town and Country and cannot say enough about the wonderful experience we had working with the staff. Felipe Ortiz was our "go to guy" for the event and he was ALWAYS available to us, whether by phone, email or in person. Because of his attention to detail, the many meeting rooms we were using were always set exactly as we requested and on time. Last minute requests were honored quickly by the staff.

Our guests LOVED the property and were treated exceptionally well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you so very much for choosing the Town and Country for your event. We're also pleased that, with Felipe's assistance, everything went so smoothly. As you know, he's been a part of our team for many years so his experience is truly an asset. We thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,679)
There are newer reviews for Town and Country San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,674 - 2,680 of 3,679 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference this week. Pleasant staff, clean rooms and beautiful grounds covered with roses everywhere. Reasonable rates and quiet, three restaurants, four pools and close to Sea World, the ship docks and many tours available. Would definitley stay there again.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the towers , ask for one of the two story buildings.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for your conference. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Check-in was slow, taking almost 1 1/2 hours to get to the registration desk in the lobby due to the crowd and only half of the check-in desk positions manned. Rooms were very small in our building with a tiny bathroom and no handicap capability in the shower. Rooms not set up for business people due to the small space in our building and limited, cramped furnishings with no free wifi (available for extra fee). Parking is also extra charge. Food at the four restaurants was only adequate at best and poorly served at one facility due to a long time under heat lamps. Our convention had many elderly with disabilities or handicapped but the facility is not well set up for such people with stairs instead of elevators, limited downstairs rooms, limited handicap rooms, etc. Parking was scattered as were the rooms that required a lot of walking to the meeting facility and overall not well laid out for hosting large conferences. Restroom facilities in the convention center were very limited and hard to find due to a general lack of good signage over the entire motel complex. They hand out maps which are really needed to keep from getting lost in the maze-like, rambling layout of buildings, gardens, pools, parking areas, etc. The place is otherwise fine for small groups, families, etc. down for a weekend tour of a great San Diego vacation area or small business meetings

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

I do regret that your check in process was delayed. I hadn't heard that the wait was as long as you mentioned, unless you're counting the time for the actual rooms to become available as I heard that a lot of guests wanted to check in earlier than the 3pm check in time and we were sold out the day prior. The special handicap rooms do need to be requested at the time your reservation is made and I believe we have 16 available, so I do apologize if not enough were available at check in. Also the majority of our rooms do have elevator access, there are only a small amount that have stairs only. We host large conventions all the time and I regret that you didn't feel we did your event justice. Most of the comments we've received from both your meeting planner and the group have been very positive. If you would like to discuss your review personally, please contact our Executive Assistant Manager. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel seemed much nicer on the website than it actually is. I did not realize that the doors for the rooms were on the outside of the hotel until we arrived. I would not have booked this hotel had I knowne that. The room was okay but nothing special. The carpet had stains and the room didn't seem as clean as most hotels. I liked the fact that there was a balcony with a table and chairs outside our room. The pool was good, my son enjoyed it. The little deli and store onsite are a plus.

Room Tip: Royal Palm Tower has rooms with balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scsherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your review. We have a few different room types here at the Town and Country. We have two high-rise towers (with inside hotel doors) and also one and two-story bungalows (some with inside and some with outside doors). We are in the midst of a 21-month refreshing project to update all our rooms so the attention you mention that the hotel needs, we are addressing. We are pleased that your son enjoyed one of our 3 pools and also that you enjoyed the outside balcony area, deli and gift shops. Again, we appreciate your taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was looking for a hotel in the center of the Gaslamp, Torrey Pines State Park, Coronado and other attractions all while on a budget. I ended up at the Town and Country and loved it. Me and my girlfriend spent the days doing fun, young stuff and would come home to a quiet hotel room. It was perfect. I would recommend it to anyone since it is pretty much in the center of many attractions, economical and quiet. By the way, the bed was sooooo comfortable. We slept like babies!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower room and it was great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for booking our hotel for your visit with your girlfriend. We’re so glad it was centralized to everything you wanted to do in the city, as well as quiet and comfortable. We appreciate your posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I attended the above convention and enjoyed the facility. Very big and hard to find everything, but I managed. I am handicapped and use a scooter, which is needed greatly for anyone aged. Many of my friends were exhausted walking the facility.

I shared the room with another car guy friend and we were pleasantly surprised to see I got what I ordered...two beds.....and a roll in ADA shower. Perfect room, very clean and well supplied. Also had an electric door opener both inside and key operated from the outside. It aided greatly in entry and exit of the room.

The hotel staff were nice, but not well trained. They were polite, but in many cases could not answer questions. I realized from the beginning, that if you took the time and ''READ'' the Convention printouts completely, 99% of the questions were answered before one asked. I had fun, and hope others did also.

Room Tip: My ADA room #1105 in the tower was perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us for your convention. We’re so pleased that everything went well for you and the ADA facilities were to your satisfaction. We do have a few new staff members for the summer months who are very anxious to learn, but are not as well-informed as the many other staff members that have been here for years. Our management team averages about 23 years of service with our facility! We’re so pleased you had fun while staying here for your convention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Granted there were three conventions at the hotel, but we reserved a room in the Royal Palms Tower and none were available, plus we had to wait more than an hour and a half past check-in time, in order to get a room. Our room in the smaller tower was small, but nicelt appointed, however, it had a leaking toilet in the bathroom. The wax seal needed replacing. We called the front desk around 9:30 in the evening and were placed on hold for 20 minutes. Then at 10:30, a maintenance man came to unclog the sink???? (Not the problem we had called about.). We placed a towel on the floor and went to bed. The next morning, I spoke to the maid about the problem. Shortly thereafter a mainenance man came to replace the wax seal on the toilet - problem solved. Perhaps this place is too large to be able to be well-run with attention to service?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

We do apologize for the maintenance issue you had to deal with. This should have been addressed prior to your occupying the room. If you wish to discuss this issue personally, please contact our Executive Assistant Manager. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#145 of 278 in San Diego
1,562 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#133 of 278 in San Diego
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,223 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#165 of 278 in San Diego
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £82 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing