We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter ripoff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #175 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Town and Country for a conference. The room rate was double what it was worth. They charged 8$/day for wifi. The breakfast buffet cost $11 and would have been free anywhere else. The staff was pleasant, but all services were outdated and over priced. They did not provide shuttle services or any other courtesies. An overall outdated hotel and business. And the maintenance worker ignored the do not disturb note every single day of my week long stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

We are so very sorry that you felt our hotel was not cost effective. We do offer bundle packages, which include breakfast and WiFi that may have been beneficial for you. I regret that you were not told of this offer. Our apologies to you for the fact that you were disturbed by maintenance. This will be addressed immediately and we offer our sincere apologies to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,139 - 2,145 of 3,738 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was there for a conference so it was fine for that. As far as resorts go, yes, this is a good one. The grounds are well kept and it seems there is plenty to keep one busy there, but it is stuck in the city with a mall within walking distance. Although the beds were clean and room in very good condition, I'm not a fan of some of the vintage decor (there was a picture of a colonial girl in my room, my coworker's room and the hallway, which just creeped us out). Yes, it worked just fine for my short stay at a conference. The front desk was great, the grounds keepers were polite and of course the CA sun was always wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks for staying with us for your conference and for all your comments - even on the painting in your and your coworker's room. We will let the front desk and our groundskeeping crew know of your comments on how polite and great they were. We'll also keep our California sun shining for your next visit! Hope it will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nothing that blows you away about this place. Name your place on Priceline chose this for me...so it wasnt cause i wanted to stay here...SMH. My room was clean, looked very vintage & outdated. Lots of old people for golfing i think...navigating through the parking lot was a hassle...only thing i liked about it was location & the landscaping. Lots of palms and trees, plants etc...And this was supposedly the updated tower. lol. Nothing updated about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearsnation21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We appreciate your booking your stay with us through Priceline and your nice comments about our location, landscaping and cleanliness. Our room decor does vary throughout the hotel so perhaps another room would be more to your taste. We also appreciate the time you took to post your review, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Town and Country Resort while attending a conference. It's a great spot! No, it wasn't built yesterday, but that didn't make any difference. The rooms are clean and neat; the staff is great; and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. Some reviewers have cited a "lack of updated decor" in the rooms as a concern at this hotel. Personally, I am tired of the "updated" brown, rust, and gold swirly carpets and bedding and 1950's revival furniture, that seem to have taken over many other hotels in the last few years. I very much appreciated the fact that this property does not look like every other conference center I've been to in the last few years. My room (5th floor, king sized bed) was very comfortable, and attractive. The small balcony overlooking the pool was a plus! It was extremely convenient to hop onto the trolley just a short stroll from the hotel. We were able to take in Old Town, a harbor cruise, etc. during the conference. My only complaint would be that the pillows, while plentiful, were not very comfortable. I do agree with other reviewers that refrigerators in the rooms should be added. Some fellow conference attendees needed to chill prescription medications and found the "ice in a bucket" method to be unsatisfactory. The staff at Town and Country were extremely friendly and promptly responded to many needs throughout the conference. The San Diego weather was a wonderful treat. Bravo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We appreciate your mentioning that the Town and Country is a great conference spot. We were the first convention center in San Diego and have over 200,000 square feet of meeting and event space. We're glad the trolley was an add plus for you as it does make getting around the city so convenient. Please note that refrigerators are available upon request so attendees needing one for medical needs can request them. We look forward to having you back to our wonderful city again soon with it's average daily temperature of 71 degrees and 350 sunny days per year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotell is a convention hotell, not a hotell that will give you personal experiences. I stayed at this hotell in October when I attended a conference for 4 nights. My husband and our 15 months old toddler went with me. As being a parent and staying at this hotel, the greatest pros was the garden room we were given. The room was in a one storey building, facing a small garden with a lawn, chairs and sofas. There was only a small step from the room to a one stair step out to the garden areas which was great when you have a toodler! The largest con was the lack of a refridgerator in the hotellroom. IF there would have been a refridgerator, I would probably give the hotell one more star. Now, we stored fruit and some toddler food in the icebucket which was really inconvenient,
But above that, the coffee machine worked good, the soap held good quality and we liked the towels in the bathroom. Sure, the room and the bathroom was a little bit outdated, but it was clean. The laundry service worked just fine and the people at the frontdesk when checking in and out were very nice and helpful. We tried the food in all the restaurants and they were children friendly at all the three places. It actually worked gret to bring a child to the fine dining option, the Trelises. We went to the diner with sports theme one night, but I would not recommend that place if you have children. It is extremely noisy, not very nice at all, but the food was ok.
The beds were of good quality, not too soft. A crib came without extra cost but be sure to bring some extra blankets and a pillow for your child.
Parking is really easy, there are alot of parking spaces, but still organized so that our garden outside the room was not right on the parking spot, which felt nice as a parent.
The hotel can easily be reached from the highway, is close to Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo. The shopping mall Fashion Valley can be reached through a path from the hotell, it's only 5 minutes away, and there you have different department stores, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaUmeaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the three stars, but we could have received four! Refrigerators are available upon request so one could have been provided for you and we would have gotten our extra star! Please note this for future as we'd definitely like to have you back again. Thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice before more than 7 years ago. Nothing has changed. Great service all around. Lush gardens and clean rooms. Multiple venues, unique pools and fountains and restaurants. Great conference areas. Great location with quick access too everything. Rooms are spacious but outdated. 80's luxury decor that seems out of place.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank EIZABETHTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for being a multiple visitor to the Town and Country over the years. We appreciate your kind comments about our great service, rooms, gardens, restaurants and conference areas, and also your feedback about our decor. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is predominately a convention hotel. Good but limited amenities. Central location to highway mall and dining, helpful staff, rooms were outdated but clean. Parking could be a huge problem when there is a convention. Food was fair, nice sports type bar. Far from beach but next to nice golf course. Price was fair but varied by date. Parking fee high and no way to avoid. Would prefer name brand hotel but you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulldog06492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We appreciate your mentioning that we are a great hotel for conventions. We do have the largest convention center, second only to the one downtown, and are very centralized as you also mentioned. There is extra parking around property, including the underground (below the convention center) and a three-tiered parking structure next to the Regency Tower. We also are located right on the trolley line so guests can use the trolley to get to various places, including downtown, Petco Park for baseball games and Qualcomm Stadium for football games, just to name a few. I hope we have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#131 of 286 in San Diego
1,268 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,427 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#112 of 286 in San Diego
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#128 of 286 in San Diego
1,664 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £82 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing