We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, great property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #182 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Great time, great property!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Amazing time...the people, the room, the dining, the spa, everything made for a fantastic stay. Excellent room, and the staff was friendly and professional. The property was beautiful, what a great escape. Cant wait to go back and do it all over again!
Chris

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdmyers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back any time you're ready! Thanks for the comments about our staff, your guestroom, the restaurants and the spa. Sounds like you experienced quite a bit of our 32 acre property during your visit. We appreciate your taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    904
    749
    498
    484
See reviews for
720
427
186
1,757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in one of the towers for my husband's conference. The grounds are a maze of brick paths and tropical gardens. Our room was still in the 50's, smelled a little musty with a cigarette smoking neighbor. The rate posted for the room was $90.00, so for San Diego this is pretty good. We had breakfast at Trelisses. I think the dollar pancakes were frozen, not fresh made. A very nice mall is right behind the grounds. A decent place to stay if on a budget. Very nice staff!

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting a non smoking one if requested. Ours said it was but I smelled my neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for staying on our 32 lushly landscaped acres! We appreciate your mentioning our very nice staff, our beautiful gardens, reasonable price and location to the largest shopping mall in San Diego right next door. I do apologize for the smell of smoke you had from your neighbor. I also wanted to let you know that the pancakes you mention in Trellises are fresh, and, I've been told, absolutely delicious. Trellises is also known for its Eggs Benedict, so I would recommend trying that on your next visit to our hotel. Thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you enjoy stately palm trees, incredibly gorgeous rose gardens, tranquil time enjoying the sun and soft California breezes by a sparkling pool, delicious and beautifully served breakfasts on Trelisses', evenings of great food and drink with musical entertainment, a home away from home in San Diego's prime location, the Town and Country is the place for you. Walk to Fashion Valley shopping center, San Diego's premiere shopping spot, or take the trolley and tour the city, or just "jell out" and enjoy the ambiance of this mid-city oasis. This resort is meant to be experienced, appreciated and savored. It is an established property with the charm of a more gracious era, which I value, and, while not new, it is well-maintained.

My daughter and I stayed in a lovely bungalow room near the front pool and Trelisses restaurant and the bathroom vent fan was inoperable. We called maintenance and it was replaced within an hour. The comment card that I filled out upon departure was acknowledged by Barbara Whitlock, who thanked me personally for my input. That kind of service is indicative of a caring staff and management. The Trelisses' manager, Robin Davis, was always on site, greeting guests and personally seeing that her guests were treated royally by her amazing staff, who served up joy along with the tasty selections. So, if you go and have an issue, know that, if you report it, it will be dealt with immediately. Things will always happen, but it is how it is dealt with that is important. I would not write a negative review without making an attempt to rectify an unpleasant situation, but feel that many reviewers do just that. At this property, someone will listen and take action and that caring is the icing on the sweet experiences I have enjoyed at the Town and Country Resort.

Room Tip: If you stay in the bungalow rooms, the west side of the pool area gets less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenwalker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review about your visit to the Town and Country and Trellises Garden Grille. We have passed along your comments and appreciate your sharing them. We're so glad you had another "another delightful visit" and look forward to having you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have been to the T&C for several events from family vacations to Statewide Conventions and I can tell you there is no better place in San Diego for me. Although it's not in Downtown, access to Downtown & Amtrak is a red trolley away. The rooms are quirky from time to time because not all the space has been renovated but the overall service makes up for any imperfections. The Convention Staff, Housekeeping, Food Services and Custodians alike are there to make you stay enjoyable and easy. Any issue I had was dealt with in a timely and professional manner. I work with Student Groups a lot as well and they treat my kids with the same respect as a VIP. If a family vacation is what you're looking at, the cab ride to any of the locations cost the same as parking so you have quick in and out of Sea World, the Zoo and the Park. Enough said ... I love the T&C.

Room Tip: I think the Bungalows by the Garden are the best. they are single story with no pool so you have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for staying at the Town and Country for your business and pleasure needs. We're pleased to be your hotel of choice in beautiful San Diego! We will pass along your comments to the various departments you mention and appreciate your pointing out that they were especially helpful to you. Can't wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel reminds me of a 1950s movie set: rose gardens, swimming pools, fountains and brick bungalos scattered throughout the complex, creating a very lovely setting that is also reminiscent of a hotel in Mexico. It is perfectly located right in front of a large, upscale mall (but you can't see the mall in most cases) and right next to a tram station with a tram that takes you straight to Old Town and the Gaslight District. The rooms are quite nice and include coffee and tea and a large TV. There were a couple of things that went wrong (for example, one day there was no soap) but the hotel staff was very quick to correct any request or deliver things to the room. All the staff was friendly and courteous and I would happily stay there again. They also have the largest hot tub I've ever been in, that is set in a quiet corner and very relaxing. I thought it was a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: If you choose a room in one of the bungalos, your view will only be of the gardens and you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us here at the Town and Country. We appreciate your very thorough review and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future as you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

DO NOT use this "resort" to host any kind of event. The rooms are dumpy and have not been renovated in ages, the bedspread was so old it no longer had color, the carpets are white from all the traffic, the furniture is beat-up, the buildings have not been maintained in years, the convention center itself has seen a lot of better days. EXPENSIVE for what you get; you should not have to pay more than $60/night to stay at this dump. And customer service is non-existent.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are so very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We do have various room types and, obviously, you were not in one of our more recently renovated rooms. I'm not sure if, due to occupancy levels, you were unable to be moved, but normally we do try to accommodate our guests needs to make them happy. Again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My Family was visiting and we needed some extra rooms.
This Hotel is close to our home in downtown San Diego.
Rate was very affordable - All staff very friendly. We had a room close to one of the 5 big swimming pools. Great room - big, easy access parking, close to beaches, freeway, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park & Downtown
Great shopping easy access to malls and right on the San Diego Trolley Line.
The Rose Gardens were exceptionally large, everywhere and beautiful. We will look forward to staying here again. By the way - this was a giant property - lots of meeting space.
If I was hosting a large group I would definitely consider this property!
Enjoy beautiful San Diego Weather, Swim in the winter when it is snowing everywhere else. :)

Room Tip: Rooms close to pool are beautiful - lots of Rose Gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We're so pleased we were able to accommodate your family with extra rooms. Keep us in mind for the holidays, we have special room rates in December! Thank you for posting your review and also for mentioning hosting an event here - again, we're available for meetings, parties, reunions, whatever your needs and, like you mentioned, the weather in San Diego is beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#143 of 278 in San Diego
1,531 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#129 of 278 in San Diego
1,223 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#165 of 278 in San Diego
184 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing