We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures are Deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #175 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Do not be fooled by the room pictures on the website. My "premier" accommodations consisted of a large room with a king size bed. The only available in room seating are two, aged rickety rattan straight back chairs. There is no table or available work surface. No place to place to rest an open suitcase. Mine is sitting open on the floor because of this. This is nothing like the pictures on the website. I could have received this quality at a Motel 6. Highly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are so sorry you are disappointed in your guestroom. We will be remodeling the hotel and guestrooms soon and I have shared your suggestions with management. We currently have various room types throughout the property. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 3,739 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The staff were very accommodating and great to deal with. The hotel is out dated. In much need of a face lift. It feels like no changes have been made in years. The layout of the strips of rooms makes it hard to get your bearings in such a large property.
I would not stay here again if given a choice. I came for a meeting and that made it make sense.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank SharaAbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for saying our staff was very accommodating and great to deal with. We certainly love having you all with us so it's easy to welcome you. Changes are in the future for the Town and Country. We came under new ownership last month and plans are currently being made to update the entire property. You'll love what we've got coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family hosted our 13th annual Family Reunion at the Town & Country Resort Hotel. The sales, banquet, and customer service staff were all very helpful and accommodating. We spent 3 nights at the resort, and hosted a closing banquet on the last night. The food was reasonably priced for what they offered and the room was very nice. We were also given a hospitality suite which was above average. The only down side was the breakfast buffet selection. Overall wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for hosting your 13th annual family reunion here with us at the Town and Country. That's so great that you all get together year after year and we so happy everyone was pleased with the hotel, the food and everything else. We hope we're a part of your wonderful experience next year as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Town and Country Resort Hotel for a conference and enjoyed our visit. Our 8th floor room had all of the services and amenities one expects from an average hotel. It was clean, quiet, and well maintained. The hotel clearly has grown over the decades from one story motel-like rooms to two high rise towers - one with exterior hallways and one with traditional interior hallways. There are three swimming pools, one of which is heated and a number of restaurants. The food is very mediocre. It irks me that the hotel has in the room a card encouraging towel re-use for environmental sustainability reasons but does not provide sufficient towel bars for a family of four or bathroom ventilation to dry towels for a second use. This is not a green hospitality leader as their food service uses Styrofoam cups and plates. The location is on San Diego's trolley line making it easy to use mass-transit to get into San Diego and a luxury mall is in walking distance. The AT&T wifi in the room was free but erratic across many devices.

Room Tip: Regency Tower is the best and higher up has a better view. Some have balconies which are a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RoderickPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We're so pleased that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us for your conference. We do try to be environmentally friendly and do know that there is room for improvement. We are looking at ideas to implement and yours are certainly good ones. Thanks for sharing your concerns and we appreciate your choosing our hotel for your visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here my family years ago, many times, and it was considered almost posh then. Then a couple years ago for a convention and that was definitely adequate..

This time, not as good as any of those. The room was fine, clean, everything worked. But the restaurants were not quite up to par. First, the main/best restaurant was closed for no apparent reason, so there went the advertised 'special' of steak & lobster.

I tried the in-room dining (not much selection) and was treated to luke warm cole slaw and even cooler French fries.

In their defense, they either didn't charge me for that meal (thank you?) or forgot. Either way, I think I'll just hold on to my childhood memories...and move on to make new family traditions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Please come back again and provide us another opportunity to change your mind. We do regret that you were unable to have your steak and lobster special at Trellises during your stay with us and food and beverage management will follow up on why the in-room dining was not at the correct temperature for you. Don't rule the hotel out yet, new ownership has wonderful plans in store for the future and you're sure to want to be a part of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent front desk service. Very comfortable rooms. Super friendly staff. Beautiful gardens, greenery, and flower gardens. The only downside to the resortbis the super expensive food. The restaurants are not family friendly or affordable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for your very nice review. It's great to hear that you were provided with excellent and friendly service by our staff, you felt comfortable in your guestroom and enjoyed the beauty of our gardens and grounds. We will share your comments with food and beverage management on the restaurants and their food and do appreciate your feedback. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

While the facilities are a bit on the older side all visible aspects of the property, grounds, buildings have been maintained quite well. The landscaping is beautiful! Our room was impeccable! Service was first class and excellent attention paid to details both small and large. I must admit we were very skeptical before our arrival based on other reviews. We would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend this facility to others planning conferences or simply visiting this area. THANK YOU for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaneyPartyOf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Town and Country at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your very pleasant review. We are glad you completely enjoyed everything and recommend our facility to others. We do hope to have your convention back with us again and, again, thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#134 of 286 in San Diego
1,267 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,423 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#112 of 286 in San Diego
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#126 of 286 in San Diego
1,663 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#65 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £84 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing