We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the wet sheets!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #199 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
SF, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beware the wet sheets!!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nicest staff ever, but worst sleeping experience ever. Many of our conference participants all had cold, clammy, i.e., wet sheets. We think they do not have A/C but, swamp coolers. One room was so moldy and musty I had an asthma attack and had to move the next day to a newer carpeted/drier room. When you approach the towers on foot, you can smell the mold. We all froze with the cold and clammy sheets. Misery.

Stay at your own risk. Try the cottages near the pools and gardens and avoid that old tower.

The staff told me the property has not been modernized in ages due to stodgy previous owners. It was sold 2 months ago and all the cute cottages and bungalows will be ripped down for a water park. A bummer since the garden-like atmosphere is lush and relaxing, romantic and mood-lifting. It could be such a cute, kitch mid-century type place if they would only work it. Oh well, times are a changing.

Women in our conference felt unsafe walking alone at night due to all the vegetation. You can call the bellhop and he'll pick you up for free in the golf cart. The rear of the property abuts a creek and shopping center. So, not secure at all. Hope they work on security with the new ownership.

The conference center is useful but so dated looking. Even had the groovy 1970s orange light up lettering at night. Whoa.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows or cottages. And SMELL YOUR ROOM FIRST!!!! People in the towers smoke on balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGermanSwedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
IrishGermanSwedish, thank you for staying with us and for your review of our hotel. It's so nice of you to mention that we have the nicest staff ever, but we definitely need to improve in other areas and we thank you for sharing them with us. We do apologize that the air conditioning in your area made the room damp and cold. The new management will be making changes and adding the water park, but they will be keeping the grounds beautiful and you'll definitely want to return to see it. We do have 24 hour security on property so our guests can feel secure. Again, we appreciate your feedback hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    884
    738
    491
    467
See reviews for
686
412
182
1,731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bell Gardens, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I will like to state my gratitude to the excellent management staff, a special “Thank You” to Mr. Ruven Medina & Mr. Michael Orantes managers, My wife and I were celebrating our 31st Wedding anniversary in the San Diego area and decided to stay on The Town and Country Resort, the room that they gave us was clean, comfortable & a bottle of cold apple sider was waiting for us to celebrate, for the price we played we have no regrets.

Thank You & God Bless

Pastor Reynaldo Leal Jr.
Bell Gardens Christian Church/Iglesia de Jesucristo Inc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReyLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you, Pastor Leal, for your wonderful 4 Star review. I have shared your "thank you" with Reuben and Mike and we're glad they were able to provide you with the excellent service to make you and your wife's 31st wedding anniversary special. We'll see you next year for your 32nd anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Comic Con. We had 2 beds in a very spacious room but the restroom is so tiny. The staff were friendly and helpful. Very close to the trolley which was very convenient going to the convention center, and close to fashion valley mall. All in all, good place to stay for the Comic Con. Will definitely stay there again. Just wish they have bigger restrooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivien Therese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Vivien Therese D., thanks for staying with us for Comic Con. Hope you had a wonderfully terrific time at the downtown event. We love having you all here each year and look forward to having you back next year. With the registration right here at the Town and Country and the trolley to the downtown convention center right next door, it's certainly convenient. Our guestrooms do vary in size, including the restrooms, so perhaps another area of the hotel would better suit your needs. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is in extreme need of updating and repairs. We stayed in one of the garden rooms and room was small and bathroom was tiny. The decor was out of the 70s. Parking was very hard to find.
Location was good and access to mall and trolley was great. Shopping was very close and very close to the airport.
Pool area was decent, but while we were there a group of adults with beer coolers took over. This was not best place for kids to swim.
Breakfast buffet was one of the biggest disappointments. Many free hotel buffets are better and at their price, I had a buffet at doubletree in Irvine a couple months ago that was a hundred times better.
Overall, this was not the worst hotel I havestayed at, but in its price range it has been left behind over the years.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allanonace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Allanonace, thank you very much for staying with us. We're glad you appreciated the mall and trolley next door and our 3 swimming pools. Sorry that the one you were visiting was taken over by the adults drinking; I can see where this would not be ideal. We will let food and beverage management know of your disappointment with the breakfast buffet and do apologize. Parking is not always readily available right in front of your guestroom, but we do have a vast number of spaces around the 32 acres and transportation can be received by our bellmen should you be farther away from your guestroom that you'd like to walk. We are making plans for future renovations and hope you'll check back in with us to see how we've progressed so you can make your return plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Alright, where do I start! We booked this hotel for 1 week from priceline. When we reached the hotel, we were told that taxes are extra and they were quite a bit, which was still alright. They then said that they will also charge us parking - $14 a day! Like we had any other option, obviously guests come in cars and will also need to park them. Now even after paying up all that, we never got a parking space near our room, had to keep searching for parking for 10 mins and then find some slot miles away, which was pathetic.

Lets talk about the rooms now. This hotel looks like from the 18th century. Everything is just so worn out. The room also has a very spooky feel. The bedsheets were torn, the window panels full of dust and everything was so filthy! The worst part, we always has to wait for at least 30 mins even for water. The staff was also pretty rude and made no sense to stay here. Total rip off!

Room Tip: No room! All the rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arorareshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
arorareshma, we appreciate the review on your recent stay and are disappointed you were not satisfied with several aspects of our hotel. We regret hearing that the third party site you booked through was not up front about the hotel service and parking costs. We ensure that customers who book directly though the hotel are made aware of these fees at various points along the reservation and stay timeline, and the hotel service fee is automatically included in the room. We do apologize for this unexpected surprise to you and also for the difficulty finding parking and lack of cleanliness you encountered. Most importantly, our employees are expected to provide 5 star service to our guests and we are very upset that this was not the case with you. We will address all these issues and do want to thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll reconsider staying at our property again, as its central San Diego location is ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land TX USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got a good deal and stayed at this hotel the day before we left. We had stayed at the La Quinta across the freeway for four nights, and I wished that we had stayed here instead. Rooms were large and clean. The beds were fine and the a/c was very quiet. We got a room with two queens. Didn't try the pool or anything else in the hotel, but that's kinda how we roll. Looking for a basic, clean comfortable room. This was it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merkurmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
merkurmaniac, thank you for your 4 star review on Tripadvisor. We're delighted to hear about your time at the Town and Country and also wish you had come to the hotel sooner so that you could have stayed all 5 nights with us. We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Where do i start? Check in took nearly an hour. I was charged 15 dollars for parking however there were absolutely zero spots anywhere in the near vacinity of my room. The resort staff advised me that i could "try my luck with the handicapped spot" i opted not to take his advice and parked in the closest spot available. Which was not remotely close to my room. What did i pay for? When i entered mo room the first thing i noticed was that it looked nothing like the room i was lead to believe i reserved based on their VERY misleading website. The room i recieved was tiny, dirty, smelly, and very uncomfortable. The television in the room was a step down from ones you may find on the side of the road. Dealing with the staff was an absolute NIGHTMARE! At one point during my stay i needed some towels. I after multiple hours and many phone calls where staff promised me the towels were on their way, I walked down to the pool and got the towels myself. Through out the remainder of my stay i wondered if my towels might show up but they never did. The people in the room next door ordered room service and left their dirty dishes out on the balcony. They are most likely still sitting there collecting bugs. One activity this resort does provide is that you will spend your time here writing a negative review, because it has officially become your civic duity to warn others about the nightmare that is the town and country. Someone once said a smart person learns from their mistakes, a truely wise person learns from the mistakes of others. Be truely wise my friend, book anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraw387, Guest Relations at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Mitchell H., we do appreciate your time in posting your review and owe you an apology. We are so very sorry for the numerous items that went wrong during your stay with us. There are simply no excuses. We will be following up with staff to take the numerous corrective steps necessary. Our apologies to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#96 of 279 in San Diego
1,171 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#148 of 279 in San Diego
1,439 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing